6/28 Gordy AMPS 352 {at ER again} {updated at 820pm}

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by CassAndGordy(GA), Jun 28, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-27-gordy-pmbg-286.197539/#post-2210580

    I sleep thru the alarm last night... I was too tired.

    I dont know if he ate over night or not. He showed interest in food this morning, but didn't touch. I gave him cerenia (such a battle :blackeye:) and some more mirtz.

    I am going back to bed for about an hour... rex and i are locked in my room. Hopefully he eats so I can feel comfortable giving him his insulin this morning.
     
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I hope Gordy eats for you. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  3. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Hope he eats for you:bighug::bighug:
     
  4. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    OPINIONS:
    He has NOT started eating.
    I cant really wait much longer to give shot, of I'll be too off schedule.

    What would you guys do?
     
  5. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    I do not have advice but sorry to hear he has not eaten :( I hope the appetite stimulant starts to kick in. Vines to you and Gordy.
     
  6. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    I made a decision - I gave him 2units.

    He is definitely showing interest in food... just not going for it yet.

    I think I'll will put him in my room when i leave with a buffet. I wish I could stay home all day =(
     
    Amanda & Shmee likes this.
  7. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Have you tested for ketones yet?
     
  8. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Haven't had him go pee since I have been up. =(
     
  9. Chubba (GA)

    Chubba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Truckloads of eat your food vines to Gordy this morning.
     
  10. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    My room is all set up... he has regular FF, some Friskies gravy and some Orijin dry. He shows interest in the food but then walks away after he smells it. Classic nausea.

    As I type this, he is drinking water. Hopefully his water consumption will continue.

    I am about to get a +1.5 in. I hope its higher than the preshot because I am a little ball of paranoia .... he hadn't had insulin in 36 hours, so there should be NO depot in play and with only 2 units, I hope he doesnt shoot down... since I won't be at home. :nailbiting: i can't even come check him on my break... (i only get 30 minutes today.)

    Maybe I can bribe my coworker to check on him on hers.... o_O
     
  11. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
  12. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    So sorry you both are going through this and hope it passes soon. It's a good idea to check for ketones but if he hasn't had them in the past it would be less of a worry for me personally. Did they send you home with some DM dry? Yes, it's 15% carbs but when Doodles was near death in the beginning it did help him. Sending truck loads of vines and prayers for your sweet boy :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  13. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    +1.5=313

    Poop on a stick.

    One good thing though... he is eating his treats! They are essentially dry food, so I don't know why those are acceptable ....
     
  14. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    They didn't send me home with any food =( i may swing by a vet on my way home from work to see if I can get some AD Recovery.

    I am trying to do a ketones test, but I am waiting for him to pee
     
  15. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    I syringed Karo into him.

    I had to leave for work. He was down to 260 in 2 hours.

    I wish his Meds would work!!!

    I once again regret giving insulin
     
  16. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Gordy will be okay. :bighug::bighug:
     
  17. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    My coworker is heading to the house right now to check on him... fingers crossed he ate!! She is going to call me if he has drastically dropped.

    If he has... back to the ER =/
     
  18. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    He is at 55!!!!!
    So she is bringing him to me.
     
  19. Tanya and Ducia

    Tanya and Ducia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    what a day for you!
    was your friend able to get some food or Karo into him?
     
  20. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    :eek::eek:
    Thank goodness your friend was able to go check on him!
    Gordy, it's time to stop giving your mama heart attacks! :stop:
     
  21. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    She hasn't been shown how to do any of the Karo. =(

    I syringed some into his mouth before I left for work.
     
  22. Tanya and Ducia

    Tanya and Ducia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Good!
    55 is uncomfortable but not too bad. I hope he goes up nicely very soon.
    Post an update when you hear something please.
     
  23. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    I will. I just dropped him off.

    He is alert, so no symptoms of hypo, but I am pretty sure he is lower now. And of course the vet is at lunch right now. The tech said she'll monitor him.
     
    Tanya and Ducia likes this.
  24. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    I just called and got an update

    They have him back on the glucose drip. :( He is going to stay there until he is eating.

    The vet that I just spoke with was the same one who was there the night I first brought him. I think he thinks I am a moron. :banghead:

    He feels that when we start him back on insulin that we should go to 1unit.

    We'll see...

    I am so worried :(
     
  25. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Thanks for the update. Who cares what the vet thinks? We all know no insulin + infection (I wonder if p'titis can be applied here) + no food = possible ketones. Have they tested him for ketones yet?
     
  26. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    I don't know if they are testing for the ketones.... I hope they are in some manner.

    My regular vet just called to check up on him since they got word he had gone to emergency. She was sad to hear he had to go back in. We chatted about the scenario and how its pretty much the nausea that needs to get under control. She agreed with my choice of insulin this morning and my worry. Its very nice they called and she wants me to keep them posted on what transpires.

    I am going to go see him later ... I want time to decompress. I am going to bring his testing supplies, his insulin (in case he gets well enough for it) and a towel that he lays on a lot. He'll be there until tomorrow night (unless he magically gets better and can come home tonight) so I want him to be as comfortable as I can make him.

    This has been a terrible week. I am ready for the weekend :(:blackeye:
     
  27. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Oh Cass, way too much excitement and stress. I really hope they can get that nausea under control so Gordy can start eating. I'll be thinking about both of you tonight. Sending some healing vines your way! :bighug:
     
    CassAndGordy(GA) likes this.
  28. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    :bighug::bighug::bighug: Vines for Gordy.
     
    CassAndGordy(GA) likes this.
  29. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Sending more prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    CassAndGordy(GA) likes this.
  30. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
  31. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: sending vines and love!!
     
  32. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Sorry to hear this :( Many vines your way :bighug:
     
  33. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Sending good energy your way ... :bighug:
     
    CassAndGordy(GA) likes this.
  34. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Poor Gordy, I hope he feels better soon and he can come home with you. You both deserve a break. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    CassAndGordy(GA) likes this.
  35. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Ok! So I went to see Gordy. He is much calmer today. So he is either use to this OR he must be feeling super crummy.

    I gave them my extra meter and some of the meds. They were able to get his AB in him!

    He is just chillin'. They have taken him off the sugar drip and just giving him fluids now. Not eating still.

    They gave him a little Novalin (is that right? Its an N) - but like a token dose. Im honestly okay with that; it'll keep from skyrocketing and it wears off faster than the Lev. So I took my pen home.

    There is a possibility he can come home tonight... but he'll most likely come home tomorrow night. The vet will call me later and give me an update.

    He is being well taken care of. Hopefully he eats soon.

    I am going to try and relax... go home, take a bath, maybe drink a cider lol

    *sigh*
     
  36. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    I read "drink a cigar" :joyful:

    Hopefully the fluids will help and he will start to eat. :bighug:

    Try and get s one rest, he is where he needs to be and is being taken care of. Take advantage and get plenty of rest.
     
  37. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Sending lots of eating vines to your boy. Eat yer fuds, Gordy!

    Yo Gordy, I'm going to make you some of our delicious chicken broth. KTSS is will bring it to you tonight.
    ~ Chef Rusty
     
  38. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Still not eating....

    When should they consider other options???

    I am so confused by that.

    But he is hanging in. The vet said they are starting him on insulin.... yet they didn't take mine, so I dont know what kind. (Probably more of the short acting... who knows, maybe that will work better for him lol.) He went high from the glucose drip.

    I am going to sleep... I have to continue to think he is in good hands.

    If there is no improvement with his eating tomorrow, I am calling my regular vet to get him squeezed in Saturday. There's bound to be other options.
     
  39. Tanya and Ducia

    Tanya and Ducia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    You might recall that having Ducia fit with Esophageal feeding tube saved her life.
    I remain the strongest advocate of the procedure and if you opt out for the tube I'll tell you all we learnt from the experience.
    The care is easier than it sounds, really.

    Tons of appy vines for Gordy!
     
    CassAndGordy(GA) likes this.
  40. Susan&Felix(GA)

    Susan&Felix(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    More vines for Gordy. Hope you're both having sweet dreams tonight and will be at home together by tomorrow night.
     
  41. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    sending healing vines to Gordy:bighug:
     
  42. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Have you thought of feeding tube until he will eat consistently. You will be able to feed him and get the meds in.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page