? 6/3 AMPS 126 +7.5 76 PMPS 152 +2.5 83 +5 40 +5.5 80 +6 76— more poop problems, new IBD food ideas?

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...peed-on-floor-this-am-possible-uti-or.230091/

So currently....
Alice has been on an antibiotic since last posting. I added some fortiflora (given at separate time from when the AB is given), and have continued pumpkin along with her ziwipeak lamb.
She was exhibiting hind weakness for a few days (probably muscle loss from loss of appetite for a few days due to infection, and I believe her lower back and hind area appear and feel more filled out again)... that seems to be on the mend. Probably time to end the Veraflox after today.

In the meantime she has still really been struggling to poop. Sometimes she doesn’t produce anything when she tries. Later I will find hard, dry, discolored and mucus-coated poops out in her other spots in the bedroom. (She almost exclusively lives in my bedroom; she hates the other cats.) She has never in her nearly 14 years been one to not use the litter box, which always means to me that she is communicating in whatever way she can.... and she has limited space to communicate that with. She can make it to the box if she wants to, and she is choosing not.

I was thinking I need to find another brand of novel protein, low carb, limited ingredient, and see if she can tolerate it. Alongside the ziwi lamb I mean, if it helps her move her bowels with more ease, then maybe I will completely switch. Anything that gets her guts working right would make us both feel so relieved. My poor girl. Watching her whole body ripple and struggle just trying to get rid of her own waste is sad. It’s so sad. I mean at least now I know she is absorbing the protein she is fed, and I’m not so sure she did that very well with all the poultry she was previously fed (it came out pretty weird sometimes!) but this is just hard on a different part of her body now. :(

Also note NT/NS mornings are just due to CG illness flares. Some mornings are hard these days.
 
I second the idea of psyllium husk. It helped a cat of mine, I would sprinkle it on her wet food.

If you call your vet's office they will probably have more suggestions. I think there are other "people" laxatives that are safe for cats.

I hope Alice feels better soon.
 
So she has been on lactulose for this before, as an acute episode. Miralax is an option for acute or maintenance treatment but I prefer a dietary change if it is possible. The pumpkin in the afternoon seems to have helped her with a bowel movement this evening, half of it in the box, but all of it is large in diameter, hard-looking, like it was very difficult to pass. I don’t know if she needs more bulk? Many people have said of ziwipeak that it contains too much bone and can lead to this problem because of that, and I’m not sure what else is truly limited in ingredients but still diabetic-friendly that doesn’t cost any more than $50/week. It was already a stretch in affordability way before I started trying it at the beginning of the year. :(

Sorry, I just feel lost on this. One issue then another, and another.

On the bright side, this month will be a year since her mammary cancer was removed. :)
 
+5 is 40.

Oh my I think she earned a reduction down from her infection dose, we made it up to 2.5u this time. Inching back down again.....

gave syrup, will retest. She didn’t want her ziwi. I may try a fresh can though and see if that helps.
 
One year since her cancer was removed, woot! I'm coming up on 5 years since my mastectomy, Alice and I can be survivor buddies. We'll just go down to the bar for a little nip... catnip, that is.

Because of the cost, maybe you should consider using the Miralax for a while. Or psyllium, like Paula said it adds bulk. If you did that for a little while you would have a chance to take a breath. Then you could decide what to do going forward.

I don't know anything about this at all, but have you looked into making food? What is the meat that she can tolerate, is it something you can buy locally?
 
Last edited:
One year since her cancer was removed, woot! I'm coming up on 5 years since my mastectomy, Alice and I can be survivor buddies. We'll just go down to the bar for a little nip... catnip, that is.

Because of the cost, maybe you should consider using the Miralax for a while. Or psyllium, like Paula said it adds bulk. If you did that for a little while you would have a chance to take a breath. Then you could decide what to do going forward.

Whoo! Congrats! In cat years I guess she is almost caught up to your five years!

That’s actually a good idea just to take a break and take a simpler way out for a little while. I dislike the idea of giving her more and more meds when avoidable. But viewing it as temporary until I can figure out something more ideal is rational. :)

I don't know anything about this at all, but have you looked into making food? What is the meat that she can tolerate, is it something you can buy locally?

I have looked into the raw foods. I don’t have a way to grind my own bones and I’ve been vegetarian for nearly two decades so I don’t want to... lol.
So I priced EZ complete premix and ground lamb and it didn’t seem any cheaper and that’s also more work and I have sick days. So lately I’ve been thinking maybe if that could be supplemented in along with what she already eats maybe that would work but... it’s just so much to manage. Thanks for your responses. :)
 
You could try a different flavor of ZiwiPeak. My guys got tired of the lamb and love the venison and the lamb + rabbit. If you're dealing with IBS, you want to use more than one protein.

Do you add water to Alice's food? If there's any way to increase her hydration, that should help with the dry poop. Adding a bit of oil or butter may also help with constipation.
 
@Wendy&Neko i don’t know if she can eat pork yet. I guess I was hoping to find some limited inf tree didn’t stuff so I could also test out what proteins besides lamb she can handle. Years ago she was on a dry lamb food and she started having more health issues that year after switching to a chicken-based dry food. So I knew that one was an option.

I would like to try venison but it is more expensive. I would NOT like to try rabbit. Rabbit is part of our furry family. I already thank the dead sheep each time I feed Alice and then wonder what part of their bodies I have on my hands when I accidentally touch it.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) , she drinks a lot of water already. She is fairly motivated for that. If I water down her ziwi lamb, she refuses it though. I watered down the friskies back when we used that. I’m trying to sprinkle a little extra water on more often now but not so much she will reject it.

Perhaps when I can afford it I will spring for a case of ziwi venison and try it out with her.

I was kind of thinking I needed to find which brands are very limited like the ziwi and available at petco so I could just buy 1 single can each of a 2-3 different things and add small amounts and test a new one each week.

I don’t know. It’s harder to work this out than the FD I feel like! More guesswork.
 
I know rabbit is a last choice option for you. I just remembered another brand with limited ingredients. Identity has a lamb product - caveat, I do not know the carb %. Your email reminded me that they also have a pork product. I have seen individual cans at my local independent pet food store. You are likely to find more variety with that kind of store than a Petco. Koha has LID duck and kangaroo.
 
Two thoughts --

Is there a high end pet food store in your area? They may carry ZiwiPeak or other brands that are novel proteins and low carb. I found places in Chicago and even here in Columbus that carry the more exclusive brands of food. Even if they don't carry the variety you are looking for, they may be able to get a few cans of what you're looking for and then order for you. (Although, you won't be paying Chewy's prices!)

You can always contact the manufacturer. They are usually pretty accommodating since if your cat likes the food, you'll become a customer. I've had them send a few cans of a variety I'm checking out (and they usually don't charge you).
 
Thank you both!

@Wendy&Neko I have a friend in Oz that feeds roo and swears by it. I’d love to check for some!

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) it’s Oklahoma and I just don’t know that we have any independent places. We used to when I was young. I’ll search some groups perhaps. And maybe email some companies.

I feel so disorganized lately, trying to move, take care of all the furbabies, etc. Alice just had another hypo so I’m making a new post. Thanks for your replies! :)
 
Back
Top