+6 32 Orion

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Airway, Dec 24, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Good news is we're eating high carb canned at the moment. After 10 min he dropped to 30. Will recheck in a few min.
     
  2. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
  3. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    If he's at 30, I would rub a generous amount of karo on his gums. Let us know what the next test is.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  4. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    He's acting very normal for being so low! Next test is 43.
     
  5. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    That's better. Give him some food, and test again in 20 minutes. The insulin peak should be wearing off soon.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  6. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    He's eaten almost a whole 3oz can of canned food with gravy which is about 14% carb I believe.
     
  7. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Congrats on a reduction. But Orion you didn't have to be so dramatic about it.
     
  8. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    If it's with gravy, it's probably more than 14%. Luckily, he should be nearing the end of the peak of the insulin, and the insulin's strength should be starting to wane. If it were earlier in the cycle, I would say that you want him to be hungry in case you have to feed him again to keep his numbers up and to just feed a little bit of HC (like 2 teaspoons). Be sure to test again in about 20, and realize that the HC will wear off, so test again a couple more times through this cycle. I don't know your insulin, but I am guessing a dose reduction is in order. Don't be surprised if his BGs are high tonight or tomorrow morning.
     
    Ozzy Pawzbourne likes this.
  9. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    65 now
     
  10. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    This is what I keep around for times like this.
    http://soulisticpet.com/orginal-flavors/orginal-flavor-cans/good-karma/

     
  11. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    This morning his sugar was bit lower than normal so I did cut his dose by 0.5u. Please see speadsheet. What should be his dose tonight?
     
  12. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'm sorry, I don't know your insulin. I'm sure others that do, will be able to help answer that question for you.
     
  13. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    So Orion's dad was at the Jacksonville Jaguars game today. I had just tested his sugar before he walked in the door. When he walked in I showed him the meter.
    Dad: OMG IS HE GOING TO BE OK?!?
    Me: (very calmly)We will know in about 10 minutes.
    I put some food in a dish and place it in front of Orion. Orion starts to eat. About 1 minute later...
    Dad: (still in a panic)Come on....EAT EAT!!
    He continues to stare at Orion for several more minutes. Orion is looking at him like "Oh, get over it" 10 minutes later...
    Me: (still calm)He's dropped to 30.
    Dad runs to get the carrier thinking we are going to the ER vet now.

    Guess which one of us is going to school to become a vet tech! :cat:
     
    Ozzy Pawzbourne and Sharon14 like this.
  14. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Wow! What a dive! Haha I love that you were so calm while dad was panicking...it's nice that he's jumping right in though ready to help out and go to the ER vet or whatever else is needed to keep Orion safe!

    You'll definitely want a reduction tonight. Can't say for sure how much...2 or maybe even 1.5. Can you monitor overnight? Or at least get like a +3 or +4 to make sure he isn't diving again?
     
  15. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    I take medication at night which makes me very unreliable with overnight testing. I can't trust that I will be conscious enough to do it.

     
  16. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
  17. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Could you eyeball 1.75 u for tonight? I think even 2 u would be too much after this hypo low. He'll be insulin sensitive for a few cycles. If you can't eyeball 1.75 u I'd give only 1.5 u, especially because you're limited in how late you can test tonight.
     
  18. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Right! I remember that now. Sorry, I know you've mentioned it before...I have a hard time keeping it all straight. My memory isn't always so good. :blackeye:

    I'd probably go 1.5 in that case. It might be too little, but that's certainly preferable to too much!
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  19. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Oh! Hey Kris! We cross-posted lol.

    Yeah, I think Kris's suggestion for dose is good. 1.75 or 1.5 if you can't eyeball it.

    Good job catching that low number today! :)
     
  20. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
  21. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    He was showing NO signs of being that low. I only tested at +6 because he started lower this morning. I will try to eyeball 1.75u but might end up with 1.5u. I have the syringes with the 1/2u markings. He will get less than 2u for sure!

     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  22. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    No biggie if you can't eyeball the 1.75. It's tough with those syringes I know!
     
  23. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Sue is away visiting family for the holidays and has said her internet might be spotty. She's back on the 28th.
     
  24. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Oh ok! Thanks for letting me know. I wasn't sure how many would be around today anyhow. Orion just had to pick a holiday to create excitement.

     
    Ozzy Pawzbourne likes this.
  25. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    There are a few of us who will be keeping an eye on things over the weekend.
     
    Airway and Rachel like this.
  26. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    They just love to pick holidays for these low numbers!

    Too much of a Christmas present Orion...we didn't need numbers THAT low!
     
    Airway likes this.
  27. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Orion thanks all of you for looking out for him.

    IMG_4603.JPG
     
  28. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Such a handsome boy!
     
    Airway likes this.
  29. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Orion is at 84 and his shot isn't due for 90 min. I'm tired and want to go to bed. Am I best to just skip it tonight?
    @Kris & Teasel
     
  30. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yes, skipping is the safest thing to do. He'll be high tomorrow AM but could still be insulin sensitive so you should post here after testing for advice. AM dose should probably not be higher than 2 u.
     
    Airway likes this.
  31. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Pre shot was 434 this morning. I gave Orion 2u.

     
  32. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Merry Christmas to you and Orion! Safe dose. Will you be able to check him mid-cycle?
     
    Airway likes this.
  33. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    I'm not sure if I'll be home right at +6 but I will check him when I can today. Merry Christmas.

     
  34. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Any data you can get through the day will be helpful after his dip yesterday.
     
  35. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Sounds like a good dose to me! Let us know how it goes.
     
  36. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    At +6 Orion is at 301 which has me thinking 2u was not enough this morning.
     
  37. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Hmmm, probably not. But remember that you're dealing with a MUCH higher number due to that low yesterday and skipped shot last night (which was absolutely the right decision). He may need a little time to adjust back down.
     
  38. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Tonight he is 382. What dose should I give?
     
  39. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
  40. Marlena

    Marlena Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    He is so beautiful! Gorgeous kitty.
     
  41. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Hi Angela,
    I was out with family for Christmas dinner etc. yesterday so wasn't able to help. What dose did you decide on for this AM?
     
  42. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Dang! Sorry Angela I was fast asleep. The man had to go back to work today so we were in bed early. Looks like you went 2.5 last night. I like it!

    I'm very curious about what his AMPS was.
     
  43. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    AMPS was 420. I gave 2.5u.
     
  44. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Seems good. A few mid cycle tests would be helpful if you can manage them.
     
  45. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    I won't be home from work until about +9. I can get one then if it would be useful.

     
  46. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    That would be fine. As many as you can manage in the aftermath of the low.
     
  47. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I'm going to say this is probably a bounce. Not that surprising at all.

    A +9 would be nice!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page