? 6/4 TiTi +6 411 AMPS 449 +7 618 , PMPS 682 , +8 672

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and TiTi

Very Active Member
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-462-pmps-396-6-411-dog-test-unlikely.158906/

I think the alphatrak2 resets the code for dogs and cats at the beginning of the new month. There's been no further flipping to the dog measurements. But I will continue to check. I hope the bouncing is over. We seem to be settling into 300-400s.

How long do wonks and bouncings last?

TiTI is getting more and more upset about all the pricking of her ears. I started in on her right ear, to give her left ear some time to heal. I do use the Tresaderm with some numbing . I hope this new struggling has to do with her feeling better. I coo at her and pet her, until she's purring contentedly, but then I go for her ear, and she starts to struggle..

Sigh +7 618
 
Bounces can take up to 3 days (6 cycles) to clear so I would have hoped that you'd see some downwards movement today. However, it looks like you did an 18 hr cycle (which would have acted like a reduction) followed by a 6 hour cycle (which would have acted like an increase) so her depot will be a bit messed up. That combined with the 79 you got the other day would have me keeping the patience pants on, to give the depot a chance to sort itself out - at least 6 cycles from the 18 hour cycle, before considering an increase.

Are you giving low carb treats after each test? This is an important part of making the whole testing thing acceptable.

You can try and get her more used to having her ears handled and not immediately stressing about you touching them by fondling them throughout the day without testing. Give her lots or praise while you are doing it and really make a fuss of her when she lets you do that without complaint.

ETA: I just went back to yesterday and saw what happened with the 18/6 hour cycles - it is not recommended to give lantus more than every twelve hours. If you forget to shoot then either you just skip that shot then get back on track at the normal time for your next shot, if you're not too late and your schedule permits you can shoot late and then slowly get back to your regular time moving each shot back by 15 mins or one shot for the day back by 30 mins, I.e. No more than 1/2 hour per day, or if you were very late (like you were that time) you could do two 18 hour cycles which would have you back on schedule by the second shot.
 
Last edited:
Bounces can take up to 3 days (6 cycles) to clear so I would have hoped that you'd see some downwards movement today. However, it looks like you did an 18 hr cycle (which would have acted like a reduction) followed by a 6 hour cycle (which would have acted like an increase) so her depot will be a bit messed up. That combined with the 79 you got the other day would have me keeping the patience pants on, to give the depot a chance to sort itself out - at least 6 cycles from the 18 hour cycle, before considering an increase.

Are you giving low carb treats after each test? This is an important part of making the whole testing thing acceptable.

You can try and get her more used to having her ears handled and not immediately stressing about you touching them by fondling them throughout the day without testing. Give her lots or praise while you are doing it and really make a fuss of her when she lets you do that without complaint.

ETA: I just went back to yesterday and saw what happened with the 18/6 hour cycles - it is not recommended to give lantus more than every twelve hours. If you forget to shoot then either you just skip that shot then get back on track at the normal time for your next shot, if you're not too late and your schedule permits you can shoot late and then slowly get back to your regular time moving each shot back by 15 mins or one shot for the day back by 30 mins, I.e. No more than 1/2 hour per day, or if you were very late (like you were that time) you could do two 18 hour cycles which would have you back on schedule by the second shot.

Ahhh. did not know that. It'a a good solution; sigh next time. and yes the numbers look confused
 
Ahhh. did not know that. It'a a good solution; sigh next time. and yes the numbers look confused
I give her pounce
she is crazy for pouce.
I spend a long time cuddling her before I use the lance, but you are right; she needs it more at other times, so it is not completly associated with the lance.
 
It might help if you spend a bit less time cuddling before the lance too. The lance is business time and she needs to know that it's not a big deal just a quick nothing that must be done. Spending lots of time cuddling before hand may be contributing to her feeling that it is a big deal. She may feel like you are lulling her into a false sense of security then boom you only did it to 'be mean' to her, it could also make her feel like there is something nasty about the lance if you spend a lot of time 'apologising' before you do it.
 
It might help if you spend a bit less time cuddling before the lance too. The lance is business time and she needs to know that it's not a big deal just a quick nothing that must be done. Spending lots of time cuddling before hand may be contributing to her feeling that it is a big deal. She may feel like you are lulling her into a false sense of security then boom you only did it to 'be mean' to her, it could also make her feel like there is something nasty about the lance if you spend a lot of time 'apologising' before you do it.

I tried that approach, and I swear she looked relieved. Thanks for suggesting it.
 
Ahhh. did not know that. It'a a good solution; sigh next time. and yes the numbers look confused
Ahhh. did not know that. It'a a good solution; sigh next time. and yes the numbers look confused

I hope my errors don't cost TiTi her life. I almost never forget. This is the 4th time in 2 years. Each time, I've given the shot, when I realize I've missed it, because I am so frightened that she will get ill from going too low on insulin. I didn't know until I came to this group that this is a depot shot. Can you tell me how long it remains in the system?
 
It's roughly every twelve hours. Some cats it wears off as quickly as eight hours, some last more than twelve hours. In general, you don't want to give a shot more often than about 12 hours apart unless someone experienced looks at her spreadsheet and thinks it would be ok.

Sometimes an overdose can actually cause high numbers. For now, I'd continue to test like you have been testing.

I was wondering with your math disability, does it help to have numbers written out in words instead of numbers? Or are numbers better? I mean is "three" better than "3" for understanding, or does that matter?

There are 3 incidents on the "Where Can I Find?" thread where the cats were overdosed. You might want to read some of the comments in those threads. The second link below, where Ole got 9uR instead of 9u Lantus - R is a fast acting insulin that we use under certain circumstances. That's a little different situation, but I think the info about overdoses is still helpful.
There is a lot to remember with taking care of a diabetic cat. You're doing the best you can, which is all anyone can do! :bighug:

I keep thinking you were going to switch to a human meter. Didn't you get one? I'd encourage you to make the switch - they are easier to use.


do use the Tresaderm with some numbing
Can you explain more about this? I didn't know you were using Tresaderm on her - are you, or is that a typo?
 
It's roughly every twelve hours. Some cats it wears off as quickly as eight hours, some last more than twelve hours. In general, you don't want to give a shot more often than about 12 hours apart unless someone experienced looks at her spreadsheet and thinks it would be ok.

Sometimes an overdose can actually cause high numbers. For now, I'd continue to test like you have been testing.

I was wondering with your math disability, does it help to have numbers written out in words instead of numbers? Or are numbers better? I mean is "three" better than "3" for understanding, or does that matter?

There are 3 incidents on the "Where Can I Find?" thread where the cats were overdosed. You might want to read some of the comments in those threads. The second link below, where Ole got 9uR instead of 9u Lantus - R is a fast acting insulin that we use under certain circumstances. That's a little different situation, but I think the info about overdoses is still helpful.
There is a lot to remember with taking care of a diabetic cat. You're doing the best you can, which is all anyone can do! :bighug:

I keep thinking you were going to switch to a human meter. Didn't you get one? I'd encourage you to make the switch - they are
easier to use.


It's roughly every twelve hours. Some cats it wears off as quickly as eight hours, some last more than twelve hours. In general, you don't want to give a shot more often than about 12 hours apart unless someone experienced looks at her spreadsheet and thinks it would be ok.

Sometimes an overdose can actually cause high numbers. For now, I'd continue to test like you have been testing.

I was wondering with your math disability, does it help to have numbers written out in words instead of numbers? Or are numbers better? I mean is "three" better than "3" for understanding, or does that matter?

There are 3 incidents on the "Where Can I Find?" thread where the cats were overdosed. You might want to read some of the comments in those threads. The second link below, where Ole got 9uR instead of 9u Lantus - R is a fast acting insulin that we use under certain circumstances. That's a little different situation, but I think the info about overdoses is still helpful.
There is a lot to remember with taking care of a diabetic cat. You're doing the best you can, which is all anyone can do! :bighug:

I keep thinking you were going to switch to a human meter. Didn't you get one? I'd encourage you to make the switch - they are easier to use.

Can you explain more about this? I didn't know you were using Tresaderm on her - are you, or is that a typo?

I am waiting til I run out of the alphatrak strips, which will be soon, then switching to Bayer. I am also concerned about the amt. of blood needed and the size of the lance. At present, very little blood is required, and the lance is very tiny. Also I have acquired a sense of what the BG numbers mean, and how to use the alphtrak meter. From all this, I have a sense of familiarity with the process, which is comforting. That goes out the window when I switch to bayer: different meter, different numbers, and so on.

Yes, tresaderm is for the post earmite invasion of Rory's ears, which it turns had become infected - from the mites, the meds or who knows. 6 of my cats are presently on around 13 meds at this time.
I'm using neosporin for TiTi. It's hard to remember all the meds' names, but every cat gets the right meds. I have a system that is based on a list that reflects the needs of cats who live in various locations. My cats are distributed in different areas of my home. It wouldn't work otherwise. Stuffing 16 cats into one big area is a recipe for disaster.

No,I find the numbers easier to work with. I thought the spread sheet required real math. It doesn't. It was just difficult to work with at first, primarily because I did not realize the +6, etc referred to the number of hours after a particular shot was given. I thought it was the time, as in clock time, that was to be recorded, with appropriate round offs of the numbers. lol. That really wasn't working, and I kept trying to make it work.

My math problems showed up when I transferred to a school that had done a year of pre-algebra. I hadn't had that year, so everyone was ahead of me. On paper I had a nice IQ, so no one understood why I could not catch up. Missing that year of pre-algebra cost me dearly. I can do accurate math in my head and so on. But when it comes to more theoretical forms of math, I need extra time to work it out. No one understood that when I was a kid, so they thought I was just goofing off. ah well.

I am thinking that TiTi , at this time, must have very high insulin needs. The mistakes I made should have done a good deal more than cause her numbers to jump around. Over the last 2 years, I have dosed her within an 18 hour period about 5 times. I had no idea that it was dangerous.

Until I came here, no one had explained to me that Lantus was a depot medicine. That altered my thinking considerably. Yet I thought the 6 hour difference would not be harmful. Thing is, this is difficult to jugggle when well, and now I am not. I start a new job monday. It's all a bit much. As a writer , I am constantly taking short term contract jobs, while I continue to write, keep a clean home, and juggle 16 cats. I should have married a Pasha.
 
be advised that pounce are high carbs....
Is there any other treat that would work.

I had freeze dried shrimp for mine, and freeze dried turkey.....

and I had to use raw shrimp to give a shot.....it's the only thing mine would stand still for.....
 
be advised that pounce are high carbs....
Is there any other treat that would work.

I had freeze dried shrimp for mine, and freeze dried turkey.....

and I had to use raw shrimp to give a shot.....it's the only thing mine would stand still for.....

I can try a TB of Friskies, but this risks a multicat attack from her roommates. I'm shopping tomorow and can get some freeze dries protein of some sort. Fortunately TiTi's an eclectic eater. Tonight and for AMPS, I'll put a TB Friskies into a plastic container. The treat will be gone before her roommates whiff it.
 
i just wanted you to be aware that those pounce treats are worse than dry food..... they can raise bg numbers.....

a spoonful of wet food works.....

I see you still have dry food on your info.....
 
It's roughly every twelve hours. Some cats it wears off as quickly as eight hours, some last more than twelve hours. In general, you don't want to give a shot more often than about 12 hours apart unless someone experienced looks at her spreadsheet and thinks it would be ok.

Sometimes an overdose can actually cause high numbers. For now, I'd continue to test like you have been testing.

I was wondering with your math disability, does it help to have numbers written out in words instead of numbers? Or are numbers better? I mean is "three" better than "3" for understanding, or does that matter?

There are 3 incidents on the "Where Can I Find?" thread where the cats were overdosed. You might want to read some of the comments in those threads. The second link below, where Ole got 9uR instead of 9u Lantus - R is a fast acting insulin that we use under certain circumstances. That's a little different situation, but I think the info about overdoses is still helpful.
There is a lot to remember with taking care of a diabetic cat. You're doing the best you can, which is all anyone can do! :bighug:

I keep thinking you were going to switch to a human meter. Didn't you get one? I'd encourage you to make the switch - they are easier to use.



Can you explain more about this? I didn't know you were using Tresaderm on her - are you, or is that a typo?


ok, I read the 3 case histories, and Chewie's as well. It does clarify what can happen, and how suddenly it can happen. Chewie's story, I really wish I had not read. and tonight there was also an awful 911, which I thoroughly read. I hope that one turns out ok. God, our vets are so little help. and the confusion with syringes, and concentrations of insulin in different vials, plus the occasional sleepy error make my hair stand on end.
 
i just wanted you to be aware that those pounce treats are worse than dry food..... they can raise bg numbers.....

a spoonful of wet food works.....

I see you still have dry food on your info.....

I know. This is about money. 16 cats, and an annual income of about 17000. I think, though I am not certain, that if I can get a home made diet together with the necessary supplements, I can do the wet diet for all 16. at a cheaper price. I've done it before, but then I only had 7 cats, and rice was lart of the dioet. Rice, and boneless chicken breasts, with calcium, b-vitamins and so on added in.

When I was breeding Abys, and they all 7 of them got the corona virus, I did this, and it turned out to be cheaper than a wet cat food diet, or even a dry cat food diet. Despite dire warnings from my vet, about the mutation of the corona virus into FIP, it never happened over the next 16 year period, which covered all seven cats' lifetimes. I wonder if their diet was a contributor to their overall health.
But with a diabetic cat, I don't think the level of protein would be high enough. And rice has been found to contain arsenic.
 
Quite a few people here feed a raw diet with great success. @Marje and Gracie and @Wendy&Neko are two of them. I'm sure they would share the info about how they make it with you. If you don't see them respond in the next day or so, please send one or both a PM and ask. We've been having issues with tags not sending notifications to people lately.

HERE is the sticky explaining the depot. That might help you get a clearer picture of it. Now you know why I asked you, in your previous condo, to clarify that you had shot six hours apart. It scared the you-know-what out of me! I'm so glad that TiTi came through that okay.

I did not know you bred Abys. They are wonderful, aren't they? I love mine very much.
 
Quite a few people here feed a raw diet with great success. @Marje and Gracie and @Wendy&Neko are two of them. I'm sure they would share the info about how they make it with you. If you don't see them respond in the next day or so, please send one or both a PM and ask. We've been having issues with tags not sending notifications to people lately.

HERE is the sticky explaining the depot. That might help you get a clearer picture of it. Now you know why I asked you, in your previous condo, to clarify that you had shot six hours apart. It scared the you-know-what out of me! I'm so glad that TiTi came through that okay.

I did not know you bred Abys. They are wonderful, aren't they? I love mine very much.

I kinda guessed by the careful way you asked me, that I had done a really dangerous thing. And after the reading of just what can happen, I got sort of sick to my stomach. Glad I read them. Heartbreaking about Chewie.

I'll read it; I know a little about depots. It just did not register. There's a really steep learning curve here. I became an expert on Chronic kidney disease, well as much as I could without completing a masters in bio-chem, anyway. I'll keep studying here until I know what I'm doing. Meanwhile I very much appreciate the knowledge bank here. And you are quite good people. Thank you.

I miss my abys so. Really I will never have such a grand group again. They're smart, loving, beautiful, Olympic level gymnasts and endless trouble. And how I loved them all.
 
Yes, Chewie's situation was very devastating, not just to his family, but to all of us here that were praying so hard for it to turn out differently. :(

Yes, it is a steep learning curve, but you have a lot of tools to help you. You just can't read too much of the info here - even if you've already read something, read it again. I get something new every time I read the stickies at the top of the Lantus & Levemir page. There is a LOT to take in, and it's so overwhelming, when you are already in an overwhelming situation. That's why it helps to have so many veterans here that generously share their time and knowledge. I can tell you honestly my Cinco would not have survived almost 5 years post diagnosis if not for the people here. In the end, it wasn't even the diabetes that took him, but cancer. They helped me deal with that disease in all four cats at the same time, too. We are all here because we love cats, not just our own, but all cats. And we stay and help because someone helped us once (or twice, or three times....). Don't ever be afraid to ask questions. We've all been there.

Abys are indeed very special cats. I miss my little Sasha terribly. They are so people-oriented. You haven't been loved until you've been loved by an Aby. :)
 
I think the alphatrak2 resets the code for dogs and cats at the beginning of the new month. There's been no further flipping to the dog measurements. But I will continue to check. I hope the bouncing is over. We seem to be settling into 300-400s.
No, it doesn't. It isn't that smart. Once you set the code, it won't change until you reset it.

Also, I saw your comment from yesterday and it is not correct that "8" is always for cats. I also have an AT2 that I used extensively and the code for cats can change from bottle to bottle. That is no different than most strips, human or pet. Whenever you open a new bottle of strips, you should always check the code on the bottle and then when you insert the strip, be sure the code matches the number on the bottle. If it doesn't, you have to recode the meter. I wonder if you might be using the old strips for the original AT?

I like to vary what Tobey gets in raw, just as I used to do with canned foods when I used them, so his rotation includes raw Primal venison, raw ground organic chicken breast with alnutrin supplement, and also raw ground organic lamb and ground organic venison (I buy grass fed) and I prepare each of those meats with EZ Complete. I sometimes use other proteins in place of the lamb and the venison. I also give him 0.5 mls of Nordic Naturals Omega Pet 3 fish oil every day separately on his plate and he licks it up. The EZ Complete does have omega 3s in it as does the Primal but since the alnutrin doesn't and omega 3 really helps to guard against inflammation, I supplement a little extra.

The Primal venison is about $32 and lasts me six weeks. The price to prepare the raw between the meat and the supplements is about the same as the Primal but I like being in control of what he gets. I do not think all commercial raw diets are created equally and sime commercial raw companies add things to the foods that are unnecessary and p, I think, not good for our cats. Just as for us, you have to read the labels.
 
No, it doesn't. It isn't that smart. Once you set the code, it won't change until you reset it.

Also, I saw your comment from yesterday and it is not correct that "8" is always for cats. I also have an AT2 that I used extensively and the code for cats can change from bottle to bottle. That is no different than most strips, human or pet. Whenever you open a new bottle of strips, you should always check the code on the bottle and then when you insert the strip, be sure the code matches the number on the bottle. If it doesn't, you have to recode the meter. I wonder if you might be using the old strips for the original AT?

I like to vary what Tobey gets in raw, just as I used to do with canned foods when I used them, so his rotation includes raw Primal venison, raw ground organic chicken breast with alnutrin supplement, and also raw ground organic lamb and ground organic venison (I buy grass fed) and I prepare each of those meats with EZ Complete. I sometimes use other proteins in place of the lamb and the venison. I also give him 0.5 mls of Nordic Naturals Omega Pet 3 fish oil every day separately on his plate and he licks it up. The EZ Complete does have omega 3s in it as does the Primal but since the alnutrin doesn't and omega 3 really helps to guard against inflammation, I supplement a little extra.

The Primal venison is about $32 and lasts me six weeks. The price to prepare the raw between the meat and the supplements is about the same as the Primal but I like being in control of what he gets. I do not think all commercial raw diets are created equally and sime commercial raw companies add things to the foods that are unnecessary and p, I think, not good for our cats. Just as for us, you have to read the labels.

I was quoting one of my vet's techs, the one that trained me on the at2. She told me that the meter should always be coded to 8, and that code 8 is always for cats, 9 for dogs. On the container for the strips I am using, it says, 38 for cats. On the at2 it says code 8. So I am using the wrong code? I should recode my at2 for 38. I assumed the 3 stood for something else, since for dogs the container reads 36.
 
I was quoting one of my vet's techs, the one that trained me on the at2. She told me that the meter should always be coded to 8, and that code 8 is always for cats, 9 for dogs. On the container for the strips I am using, it says, 38 for cats. On the at2 it says code 8. So I am using the wrong code? I should recode my at2 for 38. I assumed the 3 stood for something else, since for dogs the container reads 36.
Yes...you should recode for 38 (I was actually thinking that was the code for cats on my last bottle of my strips). Please remember that vet techs are not always right but it could also be that they were using an AT and not an AT2. If I recall correctly, I "think" the AT was always either an 8 for cats or 9 for dogs but the AT2 strip codes change.
 
Yes...you should recode for 38 (I was actually thinking that was the code for cats on my last bottle of my strips). Please remember that vet techs are not always right but it could also be that they were using an AT and not an AT2. If I recall correctly, I "think" the AT was always either an 8 for cats or 9 for dogs but the AT2 strip codes change.

Well what the f@#%^$@%4 am I supposed to do now.

That means that every one of those number in my whole SS are incorrect. I can't correct this. And that vet Tech is the one who programmed my AT2, so no excuses for her.

Moreover a code for 9 did pass thru the meter, I was surprised to see it, so the codes do not remain constant. In fact, apparently nothing is constant, nothing can be rewlied upon, and I am in a dark netherland where I can count on nothing.

Now what? Everyone of those numbers in SS are from an incorrect code. Everyone of them. Damn! I am way beyond angry.
 
Dr. Lisa Pierson has a web page on making raw food. I do more like Marje, and feed some meals commercial raw and some home made raw that is made with a purchased premix to add the supplements needed.

You mentioned above a concern about needing a larger blood drop with the Bayer than you do for the AT. That's one of the reason many of us use the Relion Confirm, Relion Micro, or Arkray Glucocard 01 (from ADW online). It's the same small blood drop. And no fussing with setting codes. You just have to make sure the code it displays matches what is on the container of strips.
 
Well what the f@#%^$@%4 am I supposed to do now.

That means that every one of those number in my whole SS are incorrect. I can't correct this. And that vet Tech is the one who programmed my AT2, so no excuses for her.

Moreover a code for 9 did pass thru the meter, I was surprised to see it, so the codes do not remain constant. In fact, apparently nothing is constant, nothing can be rewlied upon, and I am in a dark netherland where I can count on nothing.

Now what? Everyone of those numbers in SS are from an incorrect code. Everyone of them. Damn! I am way beyond angry.

ok. Sorry. I had a melt down. I recoded the alpha meter. And I have a much lower number now. BG352.

But what do I do with it?

How do I record it? How do I interpret the SS numbers that were based on the wrong code. Were they higher than they would have been with the right code?

Were they lower than they would have been with the right code? And if so, by what percentile?

Or are the BG numbers I got with the wrong code utterly useless?
Dr. Lisa Pierson has a web page on making raw food. I do more like Marje, and feed some meals commercial raw and some home made raw that is made with a purchased premix to add the supplements needed.

You mentioned above a concern about needing a larger blood drop with the Bayer than you do for the AT. That's one of the reason many of us use the Relion Confirm, Relion Micro, or Arkray Glucocard 01 (from ADW online). It's the same small blood drop. And no fussing with setting codes. You just have to make sure the code it displays matches what is on the container of strips.
 
Kathy

It's ok.....deep deep breath. There isn't one of us here that hasn't had some kind of error or issue. Don't let this stress you. We will just keep the data and move forward. It's really ok.

It's pretty likely that the numbers won't be all that different. I know one time when I was comparing my AT2 to my vet's, the tech used my strips but didn't decide the meter and they weren't horribly far off.

If you like, I can revise her SS to indicate a potential issue with numbers before today. I would also read your meter directions to be sure you are coding it correctly. My AT2 never ever changed codes automatically. I had to manually change it. If it is changing without you manually changing it, there is either something wrong with the meter or you haven't properly coded it.

This is all fixable. I finally learned with FD that most of the stuff that stresses us just needs to be let go. Learn from it and move forward. It really boils down to the most important thing is keeping her safe from low numbers or getting her up to safe numbers if she's low. As long as she has 5 Ps going, everything else can be dealt with.
 
Last edited:
I had a panic attack. I haven't had much sleep, and the shingles has been debilitating.. I think I'm about over it, cuz the blisters are drying up, but it never helps to be sick

I think I accidentally hit an up button on the meter, and that's how I got a nine.

I put in a blank line on my SS to indicate the error.

Interestingly, my number after fixing the code dropped from AMPS 672 to +6 352 .
This is probably just part of the bounce, but it might also be partially indicative of having changed the code.

Here's why I think so. When I was last at the vet, the vet tech set up my meter. This is when my vet got the BG494 reading and decided to re-diagnose TiTi as a high dose kitty. However, the BG494 came from my meter, The same one that the vet tech had just set up for me. During that same hour, my vet drew a large sample of blood for the many tests she ran that day. The result from that blood draw, which was probably from TITi's thigh, gave her a different result. It was in the mid 300s. Could the difference in values be due to the incorrect code on my meter?


What is a 5P?
 
I had a panic attack. I haven't had much sleep, and the shingles has been debilitating.. I think I'm about over it, cuz the blisters are drying up, but it never helps to be sick

I think I accidentally hit an up button on the meter, and that's how I got a nine.

I put in a blank line on my SS to indicate the error.

Interestingly, my number after fixing the code dropped from AMPS 672 to +6 352 .
This is probably just part of the bounce, but it might also be partially indicative of having changed the code.

Here's why I think so. When I was last at the vet, the vet tech set up my meter. This is when my vet got the BG494 reading and decided to re-diagnose TiTi as a high dose kitty. However, the BG494 came from my meter, The same one that the vet tech had just set up for me. During that same hour, my vet drew a large sample of blood for the many tests she ran that day. The result from that blood draw, which was probably from TITi's thigh, gave her a different result. It was in the mid 300s. Could the difference in values be due to the incorrect code on my meter?
What is a 5P?
It's possible but we don't know so let's just see see how she does going forward. It's easy to hold the meter so you accidentally press an arrow. You know now, so you can watch for that. Just put the strip in while holding the meter by its edges and let the code come up.

5Ps are purring, playing, preening, peeing, and pooing. Typically a cat that is doing all that..and eating...is doing well.

I'm glad the shingles are resolving. We need to keep your stress level down or they will just keep breaking out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top