6/5 Mandarin AMPS 318, PMPS 286 / Walter AMPS 102, PMPS 101

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Last condo

I had a house full of people most of the weekend and both of my boys decided that that would be a fantastic time to drop low. Walter chose the more dramatic version with a drop into the low 30s and earned himself a reducie. Not sure what happened - he is a very social cat and likes having people over.

Meanwhile, my shy little Mandarin spent most of the weekend under my bed. He is terrified of strangers and would only come out when it was quiet. He probably ate less then he usually does and spent quite some time snuggling with me after everyone left last night.

This week should be nice and quiet, but I am supposed to go to Ottawa and Montreal for work next week. I really don't know what to do. Walter is doing so well at the moment, I would hate to reduce his dose for the pet sitter. What's even worse though is that Mandarin wouldn't get any Insulin for 6 days. Other people could maybe test him if he was in a cage, but I seriously doubt that he would eat. ...and I am not even sure if he would eat normally if he was out and about... and that, in combination with high numbers and no Insulin also scares the crap out of me. Even though he has never had Ketones, he could obviously develop them... and then there's pancreatitis (which he has had). I am debating if I should just cancel my trip.
 
Ah Christina, the issue with Mandarin is not a good one and you are between a rock and a hard place. If he were to be boarded at the vets he could at least get his test and shots but then there would be the no eating issue and they would have to resort to IV feeding. Sending hugs. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I wish I had some ideas for you but I've been battling the same problem and there really doesn't seem to be an ideal solution, as least for Boomer. I hope you figure something out!
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Well, I guess I now know what happens when I shoot a low blue number and have to stay on campus until +4. :eek:Walter once again managed to drop into the low 40s and scare the crap out of me. Strangely enough, he doesn't seem to bounce (yet) and started the PM cycle with another nice number. I will definitely get a +2 test to see where he is headed.

...and now I am even more worried about leaving town. :(
 
Yikes! This FD disease shows us no mercy. DH and I were going to spend a few months in Belize and I had the most wonderful thoughts of my DIL who last summer managed to test Fritz and did a fabulous job! To fast forward to now and Fritz bit her numerous times and scratched her up pretty good needless to say we will not be going to Belize unless a miracle happens????? I'm not holding my breath.

Hope you are able to figure something out and be able to go.:bighug::bighug::):)
 
Yikes! This FD disease shows us no mercy. DH and I were going to spend a few months in Belize and I had the most wonderful thoughts of my DIL who last summer managed to test Fritz and did a fabulous job! To fast forward to now and Fritz bit her numerous times and scratched her up pretty good needless to say we will not be going to Belize unless a miracle happens????? I'm not holding my breath.

Missing out on a few months in Belize is definitely a lot worse than cancelling my one week work trip to Canada. ;) But, yes, I hear you about FD not showing us any mercy. Last summer, I lucked out that Mandarin was in remission and I was able to see my parents in Germany - but it sure doesn't look like he is planning on heading back to the falls anytime soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top