6/7 Disco AMPS 121/+1.75 338/+5.25 303/+7 268/+11 343/PMPS 270/+1 324/+2 257/+4.5 216/+7 213/+11 139

Great catch and awesome job getting those numbers up some, Disco, those sharks have
5F34A954-9F0C-43CF-A964-EDA0A53B3FDC.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 5F34A954-9F0C-43CF-A964-EDA0A53B3FDC.jpeg
    5F34A954-9F0C-43CF-A964-EDA0A53B3FDC.jpeg
    3.7 KB · Views: 75
I hope Disco comes up for you and stays up. He definitely earned a reduction to 3.25 units. If he hasn't come up above 50 by AMPS, you'll want to stall and not feed to see if he comes up to a safe number to shoot. One option to consider if he's low at AMPS is to skip the shot since you're having trouble getting him to stay in safe numbers. That will drain the depot and then you can shoot the 3.25 units tonight.
 
I hope Disco comes up for you and stays up. He definitely earned a reduction to 3.25 units. If he hasn't come up above 50 by AMPS, you'll want to stall and not feed to see if he comes up to a safe number to shoot. One option to consider if he's low at AMPS is to skip the shot since you're having trouble getting him to stay in safe numbers. That will drain the depot and then you can shoot the 3.25 units tonight.
Thx for checking in on Drama Disco! He got up to 94@+9.5, dipped a bit to 78@+10, 77@+10.5, 101@+11
 
Last edited:
Teri -

Was there a reason you didn't reduce Disco's dose given the 46 during the AM cycle on 6/4? I think Disco was telling you last night that you should have reduced the dose. It doesn't look like you reduced this morning, either.

If you are using the "3 drops into the 40 - 50" range as your dose reduction criteria, you still need to reduce the dose with a drop below 40.
 
Teri -

Was there a reason you didn't reduce Disco's dose given the 46 during the AM cycle on 6/4? I think Disco was telling you last night that you should have reduced the dose. It doesn't look like you reduced this morning, either.

If you are using the "3 drops into the 40 - 50" range as your dose reduction criteria, you still need to reduce the dose with a drop below 40.
I thought I remembered reading to reduce after 1 drop below 40 and 3 drops below 50. I’ll see if I can find that sticky info, but I probably got it wrong. I did reduce his morning to 3.25.

Update: This is what I had copied and pasted into my reference notes, so I’ll correct that
Phase 4: Reducing the dose
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!
 
Last edited:
One drop below 40 warrants a dose reduction regardless of what dosing method or variation on a method you may be using. It's confusing if you think in terms of "3 drops below 50" -- it should be as you quoted, 3 drops in the 40 - 50 range.
 
Back
Top