6/7 Samba - question about ketones? AMPS 293 PMPS 487 +1 437 +2 378 +3 328

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah Mc

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...284-pmps-234-2-280-7-265.178907/#post-1977750

When I saw the 487 PS number tonight, I almost did a dose increase to 3u (since it has been 6 cycles on 2.75u and the number was so bad), but I didn't because I thought it might be a bounce from low numbers I missed today while I was at work? So hard to figure this stuff out... :bookworm:

Question re: the NovaMax Plus that I just got... would it be smart to test for ketones when he is super high like he is now at 487 or is testing ketones anytime he is over the 220 renal threshold fine? I ask because I just tested for ketones on Saturday and had only planned to test once a week, but when I tested for ketones on Saturday, his BG was lower than it is now (287). Thanks so much!!!
 
Yes, ketones can present themselves in lower numbers like they did with Bubba in the 200 range. It is more typical that they will throw them in higher numbers but until Samba is regulated, I agree with Rhiannon to test at least once a week. And especially when he goes upon 300. Just my opinion.
 
as I understand it, numbers don't have to be really high for ketones to be present.
I would test more than once a week.
Thanks for this info... how often and when would you test? $2 a strip for NovaMax, but urine testing right now is incredibly difficult for us...it took him 8+ hours to pee when I tried using the Pet Confirm reusable litter for urine collection, and when I try sticking a spoon under him it seems to stress him and makes a mess...I'm not yet ruling out urine testing as an option, but at this point, I might be willing to suck up the cost of the $2 test strip for the blood meter if I can be methodical about it (when you say more than once a week, how much more?) Thank you...
 
Yes, ketones can present themselves in lower numbers like they did with Bubba in the 200 range. It is more typical that they will throw them in higher numbers but until Samba is regulated, I agree with Rhiannon to test at least once a week. And especially when he goes upon 300. Just my opinion.
Should I try to make it a rule of thumb to test for ketones every time his number is higher than 300 or how many times per week when his number is higher than 300 should I test (without breaking the bank)? What's affordable for me right now is probably 3x weekly max, so if I have to test for ketones that often, I'd like to make the times that I choose to do so count, if that makes sense. Thanks so much for your help!! :)
 
Those test strips are pricy, I know.......I used the Abbot Precision Xtra and they were equally as pricey but I did find a cheaper place a Canadian online Pharmacy, Universal Pharmacy. I think they came down to about 1.25 a strip.

I just looked at your SS. And he is hitting some yellows. With out some mid day test he could be going lower possibly hitting some blues and maybe even some greens and then bouncing thus some of those reds. It appears you work outside the home and can get more test in during the weekend?

If he has not had any history of ketones, I think a good rule of thumb would be when he hits a high pink or red I would grab a ketone test.
 
Those test strips are pricy, I know.......I used the Abbot Precision Xtra and they were equally as pricey but I did find a cheaper place a Canadian online Pharmacy, Universal Pharmacy. I think they came down to about 1.25 a strip.

I just looked at your SS. And he is hitting some yellows. With out some mid day test he could be going lower possibly hitting some blues and maybe even some greens and then bouncing thus some of those reds. It appears you work outside the home and can get more test in during the weekend?

If he has not had any history of ketones, I think a good rule of thumb would be when he hits a high pink or red I would grab a ketone test.
Can I just say how much I enjoyed "Bubba's 3rd Release" video?! :joyful:That made me smile & laugh, thank you... I will look into Universal Pharmacy for the next order of ketone test strips, thank you..I do work outside the home, unfortunately, but when I have felt concerned about leaving Samba, I have brought him to work - I will not be able to make a habit out of that but can do it in "emergencies". Okay, I think that I will test ketones @350 or above and see how that goes w/ a minimum of one test per week. I hope he won't see too many of those numbers. Thanks again

ETA: I am not aware of any history of ketones.
 
There's another thing you can try for the urine testing that might not freak him out as much as a spoon under his butt. Put some plastic wrap in his favorite spot in the litter box to try to catch a bit of urine-- all you need is a drop or two. If you crumple the plastic a little there will be lots of little valleys for it to collect.

Good luck!
 
I was successful by just putting a trash bag over the entire litter box.....
smooshed it down over the litter so that the feel of the litter was underfoot.....
She just peed on the bag and I could collect urine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top