7/12 charlie pmps 58 +2 126 +3 110 +4 146 +5 147 +6 248

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Darin & Charlie, Jul 12, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Darin & Charlie

    Darin & Charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
  2. Darin & Charlie

    Darin & Charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +3 101

    almost there....
    +3 101
     
  3. Darin & Charlie

    Darin & Charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +4 87

    +4 87
     
  4. Laura&Chichi (GA)

    Laura&Chichi (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +3 101

    Hi Darin! You might want to update your original post in the subject line with the current #s in case kitty goes low and you need advice. So far, lookin good, but I would at least test every hour while hes below 100! Oh and Charlie gets a mr. greenie smile on your post too :mrgreen: Paws crossed this is the right dose for you :smile:

    Edit: nevermind! I cant see!! you did update!
     
  5. Darin & Charlie

    Darin & Charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +4 87

    i am testing every hour, hypo kit is on the testing table, i am armed and ready if need be. Yeah I hope this is the dose, so far so good.
     
  6. Laura&Chichi (GA)

    Laura&Chichi (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +4 87

    Sounds good! I only asked because I saw the +4, but the +1 was gone. We usually just add all the +test #s to the original post, so others can see the progression from amps/pmps thru the day/night. Ive noticed that the board is very quite on weekends, and just thought these tips might help the ones who are looking at the post today. Keep up the good work :D
     
  7. Darin & Charlie

    Darin & Charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87

    fixed
     
  8. Laura&Chichi (GA)

    Laura&Chichi (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72

    Looks good! congrats on your first blue# amps today, I was looking at his ss. I remember shooting my first blue..and green..I was so nervous nailbite_smile . Looks like Charlie likes this dose so far!!
     
  9. Laura&Chichi (GA)

    Laura&Chichi (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72 +6 56

    That 56 is new territory for him on Lantus. He is right around the usual nadir,and you might check at +6.5 just to see if he is gonna go below 50. Sometimes I give a teaspoon or 2 of regular low carb food to stay above 50, and test again in 30 min. Im not advising you follow my suggestions, just my 2 cents worth..
     
  10. Darin & Charlie

    Darin & Charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72 +6 56

    @+6 he had his last AM 1.5 oz of food. +7 76
     
  11. Tiger(GA) and Ruth

    Tiger(GA) and Ruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72 +6 56 +7

    Hooray Charlie!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
     
  12. Laura&Chichi (GA)

    Laura&Chichi (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72 +6 56 +7

    Very Nice day there Charlie! nice gentle slide down..and hopefully gently up to pmps! Hopefully he settles into this dose for you Darin and you see more days like this one.
     
  13. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72 +6 56 +7

    [​IMG] Charlie got to green! Perfect!

    laura had a great suggestion - when a cat gets into green numbers sometimes it helps them stay green if you give 2 teaspoons of low carb regular food. just 2 tsps.

    wonderful cycle for Charlie today. Don't be shocked if he bounces from it, but enjoy it for the moment. it's great to see him visiting mr greenie. :mrgreen:
     
  14. Darin & Charlie

    Darin & Charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72 +6 56 +7

    +9 75
    At this rate I may have to skip his pm shot. Seems to want to stay in the greens.
     
  15. Darin & Charlie

    Darin & Charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72 +6 56 +7

    So now that he has been in those good greens do I hold the dose for 8-10 cycles?
     
  16. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72 +6 56 +7

    yes, you'd hold this dose for 10 cycles from now and see if he continues hitting greens. as i said, he may bounce, but when he comes down from the bounce you want to see greens again. giving it 10 cycles will help you know if he's going to be ok with this dose or need more.

    if he goes below 50, you reduce by 0.25u.

    as far as tonight goes, as long as he's above 56 (his nadir for this cycle), i'd shoot it his same dose as this morning. assuming you're able to monitor tonight and have supplies.

    i just now posted on Mom-Mom's condo about shooting low. It applies to charlie too:

    shooting low is a fantastic opportunity to flatten out the cycle and make a huge leap in progress in getting Charlie tightly regulated. I think of it as a little gift, darin - but if you're too unnerved by it tonight, think on it and get prepared for a next time.

    All those cats that have just gone OTJ have gone through this - this is the path for most. Here are a few spreadsheets for you to look at. What you are looking for is the preshot that is green, then look at the rest of the cycle that follows it. When the cat first is getting shot in green numbers, there may still be some high numbers in the day. But as the person continues to shoot green, notice how the nadirs begin to have long stretches of green, then most of the time the pmps goes to green next, and last is the amps. that's a generalization - some cats don't read the manual, but here are a few spreadsheets of recent OTJ kitties for you to look at.

    scan down the amps column and look for the green ones. Then look across that cycle to see how the blood sugar responded when the cat was shot with that green amps.
    Davison Peyton Zack - OTJ today

    8/26/13 edited to add a little more explaining about shooting the regular dose into normal blood sugar numbers (50-120). And to be clear, this is only for people following Tight Regulation, who test adequately, who've gotten data to understand their cat's response to insulin, and who have worked up to the appropriate dose by following the TR protocol guidelines.

     
  17. Darin & Charlie

    Darin & Charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72 +6 56 +7

    Charlie must have read your post while I was taking a nap.
    Pmps 58/3.75 u
    Testing every hour
     
  18. Laura&Chichi (GA)

    Laura&Chichi (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie pmps 58 went for it

    Well. I give you credit for shooting that 58! I know I have chickened out on shooting below 75 recently, and then wished I had've later! I stalled too long and the #s jumped within 15-30 min. Julie knows what shes doing by giving that advice to you..I have stalled mainly because I wouldnt be home to monitor, even tho my mom was, I didnt want her to manage a dive alone. Youre a good daddy bean and he is in great hands! :D I will be watching for awhile to see how you're doing.
     
  19. Darin & Charlie

    Darin & Charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie pmps 58 +1 121

    Yeah I figure I better take the opportunity since I will be able to test. Honestly, I hesitated for about 5-10 min after I read her post. The thought of doing it had me shaking, I reread her post, and it made sense why you should shoot low to stay low.
     
  20. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 7/12 charlie pmps 58 +1 121

    way to go darin! that +1 makes me wonder if he's going to head off into a bounce.

    good job getting the +1, get a +2 so we can see what he's doing. I'm around tonight and will keep checking in with you.

    some cats on Lantus do what's called a "double dip" at the end of the 12 hr cycle. They drop down, but as long as it doesn't go below the nadir that he had earlier, it's ok to go ahead.

    how many minutes after the hour are you testing? Looks like you might be shooting/testing today at :15 after the hour? So I'm thinking you might be at +2 now. I'll look back in a minute.
     
  21. Laura&Chichi (GA)

    Laura&Chichi (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie pmps 58 +1 121

    It makes perfect sense! yes, and I just shot an 82 and now at +2.5 shes 86! You will hopefully start to see his #s staying lower and steadier, but theres no guarantee there wont be a bounce, but your chances are better that you wont when you do shoot low. I just have to remember that myself next time and go for it without stalling or reducing when I do shoot. Kudos to you again!
     
  22. Darin & Charlie

    Darin & Charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie pmps 58 +1 121

    On the hour. 7 pacific time will be +2
     
  23. Darin & Charlie

    Darin & Charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Re: 7/12 charlie pmps 58 +1 121

    Tomorrow I will be making my first 25# batch of raw cat food. I ran a few tests this week. First I tested with only small diced raw thigh. Charlie and my youngest took right to the pieces, my other 2 needed it mixed with can. By day 3, my 2 that really did not care for the raw pieces, were now picking the raw pieces out and eating them. The 25# will last about 3 wks.
     
  24. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 7/12 charlie pmps 58 +1 121 +2 126

    +2 looks good. :D

    see you in a bit. i have to run out but will be back before you have any excitement. :lol:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page