7-22 Gizmo AMPS=319; +2=272; +3.5=161; +4.75=114; +6=86; +6.5=101; +8=89; +9=116; PMPS=182; +2=318

Status
Not open for further replies.
Very nice cycle yesterday! Congrats, that 113 is green on AT! :woot::woot:
Thanks. Very pleased with yesterday's cycle! Why doesn't the 113 show green on the spreadsheet? What is the highest green number for alphatrak? I'm assuming 120 ... I've read somewhere about 20 point difference ... I think.
 
Why doesn't the 113 show green on the spreadsheet
Not sure why other than there is no confirmed range for AT and the protocols were written with human meters. The only thing we know for sure is that 68 is the cut off for AT instead of 50 on a human meter. So green for AT on the SS is 99-68 and for the human meter is 99-50. I started on AT but switched to a human meter as it was easier for me to follow the protocol and kept the AT for a back-up.
 
Not sure why other than there is no confirmed range for AT and the protocols were written with human meters. The only thing we know for sure is that 68 is the cut off for AT instead of 50 on a human meter. So green for AT on the SS is 99-68 and for the human meter is 99-50. I started on AT but switched to a human meter as it was easier for me to follow the protocol and kept the AT for a back-up.
That's what I figured. It does get a bit confusing when in these lower numbers, but my vet won't accept the readings from a human meter. :(
 
my vet won't accept the readings from a human meter. :(

Pffsst. What is he going to do? Take him a copy of the official protocol and show him where it is written for human meters. :p Then tell him he is more than welcome to buy the AT strips for you.

ReliOn strips are $36/100 and you have a lot of testing in your future. My vet insisted on AT too when I started, yeah, that didn't last long. Especially when she saw the testing I was doing.
 
That's what I figured. It does get a bit confusing when in these lower numbers, but my vet won't accept the readings from a human meter. :(
A lot of us would just do a curve here and there with AT for the vet to keep them happy. After a while, I just stopped as they really didn't need to be involved with the day to day of Doodles FD.
 
+3.25 - Gizmo started asking for food. I was planning on checking at +4 ... gave up and checked
+3.5 = 161 Beginning to learn to just listen to Gizmo. Lol. Gave a little LC
 
Last edited:
113/114 may or may not be green on a human meter. Without testing on a human meter to compare, you can't tell. However, on an AT, it's a very nice number. :cool: Looks like Gizmo is really working the juice. Love all that low blue showing up on his Spreadsheet.

Gizmo isn't used to these numbers, yet, which is why he is asking for food. Over time, the number where he asks for food may drop. In the mean time, it is great to have that heads up.

Other than hungry, how is Gizmo feeling these days in blue?
 
Looks like Gizmo is really working the juice. Love all that low blue showing up on his Spreadsheet.
Me too, but I can't help but wonder if the insulin is finally working for him or if it is the antibiotic helping him get into lower numbers. Hoping that whatever the reason, he continues to do so well! :D If the antibiotic is fighting an infection, I hope it truly clears up this time.

Other than hungry, how is Gizmo feeling these days in blue?
He seems very good. 5 Ps are all present. Pooping still iffy, but was getting better on pumpkin. I quit the other day when he was sick and went to the vet. Vet didn't say much when I questioned about him being constipated. That's when he wanted to check the bloodwork. I'm going to restart the pumpkin again today.
 
If there is an infection, it can raise the numbers a bit, so addressing that can help. Plus, it does look like he is getting closer to a better dose.
 
I meant to ask, did vetty say where the infection is?
He mentioned that his white blood cell numbers were elevated and asked to do farther testing. The test he did was T4 and it was high normal, but with Gizmo having a fever, he cautioned us that those numbers might actually be higher. I will upload all lab results as soon as I get them. They couldn't email them and had to put them in the regular mail. Hoping to have them on Monday.
 
I didn't give him any more LC food, but he started throwing up cream colored liquid. He isn't asking for food, so I'm not going to give him any right now. Going to retest in 20 minutes to make sure he is coming up.
 
Sounds like stomach acid. Do you have any freeze dry treats?
Yep, lots. Should I give him those? He still has over 2 hours until PM testing. I just wanted to get another test in now that wasn't food influenced. I also thought the throw up could be a side effect of antibiotics.
 
Yep, lots. Should I give him those? He still has over 2 hours until PM testing. I just wanted to get another test in now that wasn't food influenced
FD usually wont/don't influence BG. Think of them as soda crackers;). I use the instinct rabbit (bland). Gizmo hasn't had foam throw up since I started giving them to him (last turn of the autofeeder).


+9 = 116
Ending up feeding him a little LC again, as he was licking the bathroom floor in search of food. Gross!:cat:
Mine chews plastic. Both can indicate nausea but can also just be a habit/behavior to the cat.
 
Mine chews plastic. Both can indicate nausea but can also just be a habit/behavior to the cat.
This just started recently so not a habit for Gizmo yet. That's interesting though. Once I fed him, he chilled out and is relaxing now. I think these lower numbers kinda have him panicing at times also. Lol.
 
PMPS = 182

I think the bounce may have started ... Gizmo usually only has a 20-30 point jump from +9 to PMPS and today's was almost 70 points. Another excellent day though, so I can't complain. Hope he clears this one just as fast and is back into blues and greens tomorrow. I can't believe I'm saying greens!:eek::D

Thank you again to everyone who has helped get Gizmo to this point!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top