7.23 Bubba AM= 74 VACA dose questions?,+4=81,+3=118,+4=81,+8=56,+9=74,PM=78,+3.5=68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Member Since 2015
7.22.16 Bubba

We started off the day with Bubba sneaking up on the counter and had his face in the dog food bowl while I was preparing his insulin :banghead: He was licking his lips when I chased him down and by the looks of the +3 = 118 my guess is that he did sneak a bite of dry dog food.

Vacation Dose:

We are leaving on Thursday afternoon July 28th and will be back in the wee hours of Monday morning the 1st of August. Bubba's dose now is .25 so I don't have a lot of room for reduction. If I had Matt, the pet sitter, shoot .1 and instruct for MC food in the auto-feeder for his snacks at 10AM, 3PM, 10PM and 3 AM, would that be a good plan?

Should I reduce to .1 Tuesday morning that would be 5 cycles to drain the depot . Would that be enough?
 
Here's a crazy thought Bobbie - bypass the reducie down to 0.10 and start an OTJ trial the day before you leave. That way Matt won't have to try to measure micro doses and you know for sure that the Bubbs will be safe as he won't be getting any exogenous insulin. Matt could just do the normal OTJ trial testing and feeding, etc. You are only going to be gone for a few days so it might work. You could leave a syringe filled with colored water with your chosen dose in it should it be needed for Bubba in case he failed the trial.
 
Here's a crazy thought Bobbie - bypass the reducie down to 0.10 and start an OTJ trial the day before you leave. That way Matt won't have to try to measure micro doses and you know for sure that the Bubbs will be safe as he won't be getting any exogenous insulin. Matt could just do the normal OTJ trial testing and feeding, etc. You are only going to be gone for a few days so it might work. You could leave a syringe filled with colored water with your chosen dose in it should it be needed for Bubba in case he failed the trial.
I thought of the same thing but I feel Bubba needs some time on .1 unit because of the food hikes he still gets. Maybe I'm wrong and I will be anxious to hear what the experienced OTJers say.
 
I thought of the same thing but I feel Bubba needs some time on .1 unit because of the food hikes he still gets. Maybe I'm wrong and I will be anxious to hear what the experienced OTJers say.
Ideally yes, but I would try the OTJ trial since the dose is so tiny. It's only a few days. If it doesn't work you go back to the micro dose after you get back. JMHO.
 
Ideally yes, but I would try the OTJ trial since the dose is so tiny. It's only a few days. If it doesn't work you go back to the micro dose after you get back. JMHO.
I am terrified of him going out of control again like he did when we were gone in April and it took 1 month to get him regulated again. :blackeye:
 
We were having a back channel discussion and concluded pretty much the same thing. How about reducing Bubba's dose to 0.1u tonight. You can evaluate how he's doing right up until you leave. My rationale for suggesting the dose reduction is that it looks like Bubba has largely been in normal numbers for over a week which qualifies for a reduction.

Part of my concern is that unless you have a great deal of faith in your petsitter, it's hard for anyone to measure 0.1u of insulin. You're not going to be gone for very long. It may make sense to just have the petsitter check in on Bubba and get tests as usual so you know how his BG levels are doing but not have the petsitter shoot.

If reducing the dose tonight makes sense to you, we can take it day by day.

 
We were having a back channel discussion and concluded pretty much the same thing. How about reducing Bubba's dose to 0.1u tonight. You can evaluate how he's doing right up until you leave. My rationale for suggesting the dose reduction is that it looks like Bubba has largely been in normal numbers for over a week which qualifies for a reduction.

Part of my concern is that unless you have a great deal of faith in your petsitter, it's hard for anyone to measure 0.1u of insulin. You're not going to be gone for very long. It may make sense to just have the petsitter check in on Bubba and get tests as usual so you know how his BG levels are doing but not have the petsitter shoot.

If reducing the dose tonight makes sense to you, we can take it day by day.


Okay, that sounds good. If he were to drift up high again, I have a few days before I leave. Thanks for all input by everyone behind the scenes. Sounds like a good plan. Tonight, .1 unit. :cat:
 
Good luck Bubba! Try not to focus on the +2 mama bean. Even during an OTJ if they have a blue start checking at +3 or +4 the measure about his pancreas working ;)
 
Where is the "Oh Please" icon???

I didn't find an icon but am hoping this will work:

Cat begging.jpg

All fingers, toes, and paws are crossed here.
 
Am I really reading what I'm reading????:woot:. Bubba you can do this. I think you were promised some mousing when your OTJ. We know you love that. But you do need to stay out of doggies dry food.

WTG Bobbie!!!! How exciting.
 
It truly is amazing the difference that tiny bit of juice can make. Harvey went from 138 to 50 on it today! :eek:. I think this is a smart plan. It's not a trial yet, but I think Bubba needs some cheering, so ...

c23_rah.gif

Go Bubba!
 
Hoping Bubba rewards you with some good numbers on the .1u. Go Bubba Go, work that .1u for your bean!

If he does need a bit of a vacation dose I recall someone talking about just pushing the plunger and letting a drop or two get into the syringe by releasing the pressure on the syringe. That might be easier then trying to teach the sitter to use calipers. Hoping Bubba doesn't even need that!
 
Wow Bobbie, this is so exciting! The tinsiest drop of juice possible... you know what's next!!! Where are you off to for your holiday?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top