7/23 Luci AMPS 42, .5+55,1+69,2+32,2.5+37,3+393.5+51,4+63,5+101,7+162,PMPS 315,4+228 *Pics

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Luci

Very Active Member
She did this to me once before! I've tested on two meters - both read 42. Relion Confirm and Relion Micro (human meters).
Waiting 20 minutes to see if it goes down - but this girl is hungry and wants her breakfast! No food for 20 minutes, right? If there was ever a time to get the HC out - I would think this is it???? Not let her go below 40 as that's a reduction for her...she's struggles with those reductions every time!

I'm here and can test often this morning...
 
Dont shoot that low, my opinion
I can test her again in 30 minutes - after her shot to see if she's doing anything - I'm trying to shoot her nadir and not this low number - we've had such a hard time with reductions...I sure don't want her to lose ground now. If I don't shoot at all, it'll drain her depot and then we really will be back at square one. :(
 
I can test her again in 30 minutes - after her shot to see if she's doing anything - I'm trying to shoot her nadir and not this low number - we've had such a hard time with reductions...I sure don't want her to lose ground now. If I don't shoot at all, it'll drain her depot and then we really will be back at square one. :(
I'm panicking over leaving at bella at 137 +2 only cause of abby
 
Agree, I'm probably not the 1 to give any advise right now, not thinking clearly
I hear ya...this thing is befuddling and upsetting...I'm trying not to panic! I did that already! :eek:
She catches me off guard and I over-react...to today I'm trying to take a breath, study her numbers - not this pre-shot number - but her general numbers - this girl needs her insulin...not a chicken mama...so I'm feeding her LC for her first meal...I'm ready with my arsenal...DH and I are here and can monitor her very closely...personally I'd bet her next number - I've decided to test again in 30 minutes - will be higher still...I think she may have hit a nadir...
As I wrote recently -she is reminding me who's in charge around here... The Queen, Ms. Luci - rules this household...:cat::cat:
 
I don't quite understand....have you given the insulin or not yet and have you fed her?
51/55 is much lower than you have shot before.
Shooting under 50 is not advised.
 
I don't quite understand....have you given the insulin or not yet and have you fed her?
51/55 is much lower than you have shot before.
Shooting under 50 is not advised.
She's at 55. I fed her and shot. I'm here and will monitor closely. I'm trying to shoot her nadir...not this one pre-shot number...re-read the stickie...We'll watch/post...see what happens...
 
Make sure you have plenty of HC food and some honey in case you need it and plenty of test strips.
I would get a +1and +2 so you can see what she is doing. Then test as needed after that to keep her safe.
I can't stick around as it is night time here in Oz but people should be waking up in the US soon.
 
Good job shooting. As Mandy said the +1 could be a food bump so keep testing. It is possible that she is going to continue upwards in a bounce due to the 42 number you got. But, don't assume and keep testing to make sure.

And breath....
 
Wow!! Good job on stalling with no food. Was that 69 +1? I would keep testing because that could have been a food bump. Surf it, Luci!! I remember you shot a green and she stayed in greens for hours. :D
It was a food bump...cause she went down at 2+ and 2.5+ ... feeding her small amount of HC FF w/gravy and cheddar cheese 21% - she thinks she's getting the Royal treatment today...cause she's getting those gravy foods and lapping it up!

She looks good, acts like the Queen..lounging about - waiting for me to give her some more HC food...I swear I think it's a plot to have me break out that stuff (the stuff she doesn't get often but loves the most!)o_O
 
Good job shooting. As Mandy said the +1 could be a food bump so keep testing. It is possible that she is going to continue upwards in a bounce due to the 42 number you got. But, don't assume and keep testing to make sure.

And breath....

I'm on her like a fly on stink:facepalm::facepalm:...to be a bit crude...watching her closely for any symptoms of hypo - she's over there under the DR table - waiting for that timer to go off so she can have some more HC food...:D I think it's a plot!
 
Well that certainly is a way to wake up quickly in the morning. o_O Please stay away from the sharks today Luci!
She's swimming with them now...I've got the lifelines here and I'm trying to pull her back up on her surfboard...Miss Deep Diver Pants...always has to go running off to those darn sharks! I think it's a plot to get us to open those cans of HC FF with gravy and cheddar cheese - she loves that stuff!!!:rolleyes::rolleyes:
 
Oh no, Luci!!

You do know this means an immediate reduction tonight? She just doesn't want to be on this dose.. ever! :facepalm:
Yes ma'am...we've already re-set our calipers for the reducie...this girl is determined to get her reductions - one way or another. Personally I don't care for her style..but I have to do whatever the Queen dictates.

She is so funny right now:D...she's waiting on her testing towel! I was doing the dishes and looked up and there she was starring at me from the other side of the counter!:eek:
Luciwaiting2.jpg
Luciwaiting1.jpg
 
Did Luci hop up as soon as you laid down the towel and the kit? She's finally cooperating so you don't have to pick her up! :p

Naw...she was just sitting there waiting around - I think she wanted another treat (that kitty crack is highly addictive)...she only had one..she was hoping for another one..:cat: She has yet to 'hop up' when I ask her nicely...beg, plead, have treats...she says 'you want me, you come and get me'...and I - slave to the Queen - do just what she wants...:p

She's at least away from the sharks now - but just by a hair - at 51 - got her on her board:D...hope she'll surf along for a while...too much of that kitty crack would have her in the trees in an hour:eek:...let's see if she can work the juice.:nailbiting: Just fed her some MC/HC mixed...just to keep her up top...but not too far...:)
 
Yes ma'am...we've already re-set our calipers for the reducie...this girl is determined to get her reductions - one way or another. Personally I don't care for her style..but I have to do whatever the Queen dictates.

She is so funny right now:D...she's waiting on her testing towel! I was doing the dishes and looked up and there she was starring at me from the other side of the counter!:eek:
View attachment 37683 View attachment 37684
Soooo pretty and that’s so cute
Bella,is almost same way, I just open up strip bottle shake treat bag and here he comes
 
You are all lucky! Lou "runs" away from me. :rolleyes: Sometimes he'll even be rubbing against my leg wanting to be tested (wanting more to eat afterwards I reckon), but he'll still walk away if he hears the strip bottle. The rascal. Goodness Sue! Way too much excitement so early in the morning! Put on the water wings and stay safe out there Luci!
 
And Luci has officially 'left the building...I mean...the lagoon'...back to the beach...she's been steadily coming up:joyful: ...has only been on LC for the last few tests...let's see if she can keep it on the beach this afternoon?:cool: I'll test again in an hour - and if she's still climbing she'll get a pokey break for a few hours...she's past her nadir now...That girl really likes to get things shook up now and then doesn't she?:woot:
 
And Luci has officially 'left the building...I mean...the lagoon'...back to the beach...she's been steadily coming up:joyful: ...has only been on LC for the last few tests...let's see if she can keep it on the beach this afternoon?:cool: I'll test again in an hour - and if she's still climbing she'll get a pokey break for a few hours...she's past her nadir now...That girl really likes to get things shook up now and then doesn't she?:woot:
Never a dull moment, that's for sure!!
 
Congrats of the reduce! That photo of her with her standing on her hinds trying to see what's on the table is priceless!

Just realized she's on a chair. But still....too cute!
 
315 tonight - that girl...whoo hoooo:facepalm:...she's flying high in that ugly pink rag she dons after going low...so I'm hoping she'll slide down gently - mama has her MRI tonight at 10 p.m. - we're going to leave food in her auto-feeder - just in case Miss Silly decides to take another dive in the lagoon:eek:...we will test just before we leave - hope not to be gone too long - famous last words as we go off to the University of Michigan medical center - hoping we don't have to wait long - hoping the test goes smoothly and quickly - someone told me they thought the test takes about 45 minutes - at least that's better than my 3 hour cardio MRI - sheesh - thought I was gonna pee my pants with that one!:facepalm::facepalm:
 
315 tonight - that girl...whoo hoooo:facepalm:...she's flying high in that ugly pink rag she dons after going low...so I'm hoping she'll slide down gently - mama has her MRI tonight at 10 p.m. - we're going to leave food in her auto-feeder - just in case Miss Silly decides to take another dive in the lagoon:eek:...we will test just before we leave - hope not to be gone too long - famous last words as we go off to the University of Michigan medical center - hoping we don't have to wait long - hoping the test goes smoothly and quickly - someone told me they thought the test takes about 45 minutes - at least that's better than my 3 hour cardio MRI - sheesh - thought I was gonna pee my pants with that one!:facepalm::facepalm:
Oh Sue! I hope the test is fast and painless. Who knew they scheduled these things that late. Maybe the turn over will be faster. I think Miss Bouncy Girl will be fine while you are gone. Glad the MRI wasn't this morning! :eek:
 
Good on you for having the confidence to shoot low.....I do it with Davidson and as long as you’re around to monitor closely and have the confidence then it good! As you say, you’re shooting for the nadir not the ps before the shot. Glad Luck is back surfing and away from the sharks.....good luck with your MRI
 
Hope everything went well with your tests.

On thing I came to realize when Gizmo throws me a curve is 5 min isn't going to change the number (now 30 is a different story and is immediate HC gravy). Take a breath, then another long deep breath. Where is he in his cycle? Has be been here on this dose at or around the same time in the cycle? Do I need HC or will MC work? It took me a long time to not panic. Now I only get anxiety when it is late at night and I have to get to bed for work. My mind is always worse when I am really exhausted. But take a few min to think it through, it helps build that reflex and you will learn what works and what doesn't. :bighug:
 
Hope Luci clears her bounce quickly--but not too deeply. Felix hasn't started his yet, but I expect it's coming. Sorry you have an adventure of your own tonight.
 
Hope everything went well with your tests.

On thing I came to realize when Gizmo throws me a curve is 5 min isn't going to change the number (now 30 is a different story and is immediate HC gravy). Take a breath, then another long deep breath. Where is he in his cycle? Has be been here on this dose at or around the same time in the cycle? Do I need HC or will MC work? It took me a long time to not panic. Now I only get anxiety when it is late at night and I have to get to bed for work. My mind is always worse when I am really exhausted. But take a few min to think it through, it helps build that reflex and you will learn what works and what doesn't. :bighug:

Yes, I agree!:D I'm learning not to over-react to those low numbers - well not at the very end of a cycle like that - when I get those low AMPS numbers - my reflex is to get some HC food out immediately - I'm not comfortable waiting to see if she'll come up on her own - I mean I look at it like this - it's been at least 8 hours since she's eaten - her blood sugar is likely low from that and there's the depot influence as well - if it were me, the first thing I'd want (as a human diabetic) is some food to get my BG off the floor! :eek: So I'm still a bit in the dark about the 'wait 15 or 20 minutes with no food' - I understand she may come up on her own...and IF the number is then influenced by food, the numbers will go down again - so in order for me to fully analyze her BG reactions - I felt that I needed to shoot the insulin and test frequently.

Lucky for me it was a good day to do all the testing - I work from home and was having a quiet day in that regard - no major crises at work to deal with...some days aren't so calm...but yesterday and the one time she did that to me previously - with a 42 to start things off -:eek: makes me think either I need to allow her to eat a small meal - say around 1 a.m. (setting up the auto feeder with a little LC in it) might help regulate her a bit during the long spell of no food...

Like I said, still learning here...I'm sorting it out as I go...guess we all are...I'm hoping she will bounce her way to remission...looks like it has been done...so maybe that's Luci's path...she's in no hurry about it...so I'm fully stocked up on supplies to help her - strips, HC/MC foods, kitty krack (treats that are really just like candy)...and of course a pantry full of various super sweet hooman foods (syrups, honey, etc.) I use that stuff for baking...but we won't tell Luci...she thinks everything in this house is for her.:smuggrin:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top