? 7/25 2x Post DKA Millie AMPS 89, shot due in 5 minutes. What to do????

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sylvia & Millie, Jul 25, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sylvia & Millie

    Sylvia & Millie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Post DKA 2x Millie had an AMPS of 89, shoot or not? Lower amount?
     
  2. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Nerves of steel, Sylvia! Give the full dose and get tests at +1 and +2. Have HC food ready just in case. You might need to steer a bit with LC but the tests will tell you. Oh, and breathe! :):bighug:
     
  3. TempestsMum

    TempestsMum Guest

    Good luck! :bighug:
     
    Sylvia & Millie likes this.
  4. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Millie is making great progress since her DKA hospitalization. This scary stuff is part of that journey. There's a special award that you get when you shoot on your first green. ;)
     
    Sylvia & Millie likes this.
  5. Sylvia & Millie

    Sylvia & Millie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    I got nervous since I didn't hear from anyone. Retested and she was 77. I gave one unit and fed her. I have a doctor's appointment but I'm going to cancel. Sorry, didn't know what to do.
     
  6. Sylvia & Millie

    Sylvia & Millie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Yes, she is. It's really scary with the low numbers so I did what we did last week when I was away (really didn't know what to do). So she only got 1 u. Should I give her the rest now?
     
  7. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    That's just fine, Sylvia. The lowered dose will be OK. There's still the depot from the 1.75 u to consider so grab a +1 and +2.
    No. Leave the dose as is.
     
    Sylvia & Millie likes this.
  8. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Stalling and retesting without feeding is a good thing to do when you're unsure. You'll get more used to these numbers over time. What a testing pro you've become!
     
    Sylvia & Millie likes this.
  9. Sylvia & Millie

    Sylvia & Millie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    OK. I'll stay home and watch her.

    Thank you!
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  10. Sylvia & Millie

    Sylvia & Millie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Glad I saw your advice to leave the dose. I was getting ready to give her .5U.

    She always does something at the craziest times. I was supposed to leave in two hours. Millie loves drama!

    Thanks again.
     
  11. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Seems they all love to do this when we have to leave :smuggrin:. Millie, little less drama cutie! :cat:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page