7/3 Neko AMPS 296 +7 207 +10 257 PMPS 297

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Very Active Member
Moderator
Yesterday
7/2 Recap:
AMPS 222 +6 238 +9 176
PMPS 174 +5 227

I took a drop of Neko's dose after her bungee plunge to the lagoon the other day. It coincided with me reducing the budesonide dose. She had gotten to 31 on that dose so I was being cautious, give that we are still in the time period of SRT possibly impacting her acromegaly. She could still be bouncing, but I do want to see better numbers soon or action will be taken!

I'm finding it hard to be consistent on the budesonide dose - it's 3/4 of a tiny pill now. Going from 1/2 to 1/4, that tiny thing tends to crumble in the pill splitter. I now have a container of what I'm calling budesonide bits. I'd rather go to compounded liquid, which is an option for me and what I'll eventually do, but I'd just bought 4 weeks supply of expensive pills. :rolleyes:

Neko lives almost full time in the solarium in the summer. She did come in when she heard me get up for TFS and did a good job on her NV chicken this morning. Not quite CPC, but without the autofeeder I tend to give larger meals but I think her tummy is still used to the smaller meals. WIth Neko being slower to eat and the civie with prednisilone appy, I'm not sure Neko would get to Otto(feeder) first.

Hoping for a restful Sunday for the beans and a green one for the kitties. Vines going out to Amy's DF ans any others in need.

ETA: For those who need a morning chuckle - How to Pill a Cat.
 
Last edited:
I'm glad she enjoys the solarium, sounds like the place to be. Hopefully the liquid will be easier and understand the $$ for current pills:eek: I'm giving Doodles 1 & 1/2 Lasik morning and evening but luckily they are soft chews so easy to split. However I now have to open his mouth 3 times in a row and he's miserable. When this packet runs out we'll get the new dose if his BW is OK next week.

Neko, mama has ITF so work that juice a little better sweet girl.
 
Uh oh, Neko! Dosecrease threat has been issued. You know what to do!

Splitting pills into quarters has been the bane of my existence the past few years. I'm always concerned that they aren't getting the proper dose - either too much or too little. That's why I had them compounded into capsules. I know your preference is for liquid, but I had the same concern with that, as I was never sure I got it all into the cat - there was always some on me, the cat and whatever was nearby when he shook his head! :eek::rolleyes: Are we lucky, though, to have compounding pharmacies to help us with this issue?

Neko, eat all your fuds up, please. You don't really want Theo to get them, do you? How is Theo, btw, Wendy?
 
I also don't like splitting pills so when the pills are small to begin with, I go with the compounded liquid. Yes expensive but easier to adjust the dose. I think you mentioned that the other day. I'm glad she's doing mostly CPC and spending time in the solarium.

Enjoy your day...hope you got some rowing in.
 
If the capsules were something I would sprinkle onto food, I'd be OK with that. Or if I could open the capsule and add it to the other capsule (like I do with Vetmedin), that would also be OK. We are both so not fond of pilling that I'm trying to reduce the number of times we pill per day. I'm still putting the Plavix, some B vitamins and the AM Vetmedin in a capsule with the budesonide so I'll always have at least one capsule to give. I dread the days, like today, where I have to pill Leukeran too. If I don't have budesonide to add to the gel cap, I might be able to go down to a size 5 gel cap.ETA: Smaller is better with an acrocat - you do have to be wary of pilling and the possibility of soft tissue growth in the throat.

Theo, who is on my lap, is doing OK from the GI point of view. He's even gained a tiny bit of weight. He's still limping on his hind leg where he tore the crutiate ligament. It doesn't stop him from doing anything. Vetty said 6 weeks to heal and it's been more than that, so probably time for a visit, but I need to capture his walking on video first.

No rowing today for me - DH was coaching today but we rowed Friday and Saturday and row tomorrow. Body needs a break and we have a regatta in a couple of weekends so I know this week's practices will be intense.:eek:
 
Spending time in a solarium sounds like a restful thing to do!
Splitting pills in a pain in the butt! Especially when one of the halves/quarters flies across the counter and disappears. :rolleyes:
 
I am always amazed that both very fuzzy kitties like the solarium on sunny summer days. :p :p We sure like the compounded pred for fine tuning Tillie's dose.
Liz
 
WIth Neko being slower to eat and the civie with prednisilone appy, I'm not sure Neko would get to Otto(feeder) first.

I can only imagine what my zoo would do if I set up an autofeeder. My money would be on Iris. Or maybe Capone. But I seriously doubt that my two polite sugar cats would stand a chance in the feeding frenzy. :eek:
 
Hi Wendy! :coffee::coffee::coffee:

I so hear ya on those tiny pills... and trying to split them? I struggled with that all the time....

I had to smile on Otto. I had one for Mannie, but Mannie being Mannie, and such a laid back dude, that by the time he got to it, the others had already raided it. Otto had to be retired... :rolleyes:

Sounds like the furkids are doing well. It is alot to manage but I am glad things are going along OK. Keep on truckin' kitties!

I hope your day today has been a good one. :)
 
Yucky yellows, she got the drop added back on her dose. But Neko led the troops into the kitchen for second dinner. We has CPC! :) Neko used to be the dominant one when it came to fuds, but no longer. Pred has emboldened the civie and Neko's various other ailments have slowed her down.:(
 
Hugs for Neko. Snick isn't dominant with food, I constantly have to yell at the civil to stay outta her fuds!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top