7/30 Mandarin AMPS 81 / Walter AMPS 49/57, +1 67, +2 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Last condo

I guess Walter decided that he's back with the program and ready to work the juice. :oops::woot: In hindsight, I should have set another alarm after he dropped 100 points between +3 and +7 last night, but I was just too tired. Instead, he was happily paddling with the sharks this morning. I stalled for 20 minutes and gave him his regular shot since he was coming up. So far, so good.

Mandarin is once again doing great. I suspect that I gave him a furshot yesterday morning and he made it into the high blues.

Meanwhile, I am trying to figure out what to do about my car. I took my pups on a hike yesterday morning, came home, parked my car and when I tried to start it back up an hour later, it was dead. My neighbor helped me jump it and everything seemed fine until it died right in the middle of an intersection. :arghh::mad: Luckily, it was close to home and some nice people helped me push it off to the side of the road.

A friend's husband, who is a car mechanic, came to my rescue and installed a new battery. It started fine at first, but now the check engine light is on and it only runs for a minute or two before it dies suddenly and without warning, usually in the most inconvenient spot. My car is old and has other issues, so it doesn't really make any sort of sense to put a lot of money into it... but I really wish this would not have happened in July, the month where I don't have an income. :arghh::arghh:
 
I'm glad Walter came up for you so you could shoot. It's nice to see both boys in green. Sorry about your car. Car issues can be so frustrating. Is there a mechanic that can look at it to see what is wrong that won't charge a lot? That might help you make a decision. It my end up being something that's not very expensive.
 
Last condo

I guess Walter decided that he's back with the program and ready to work the juice. :oops::woot: In hindsight, I should have set another alarm after he dropped 100 points between +3 and +7 last night, but I was just too tired. Instead, he was happily paddling with the sharks this morning. I stalled for 20 minutes and gave him his regular shot since he was coming up. So far, so good.

Mandarin is once again doing great. I suspect that I gave him a furshot yesterday morning and he made it into the high blues.

Meanwhile, I am trying to figure out what to do about my car. I took my pups on a hike yesterday morning, came home, parked my car and when I tried to start it back up an hour later, it was dead. My neighbor helped me jump it and everything seemed fine until it died right in the middle of an intersection. :arghh::mad: Luckily, it was close to home and some nice people helped me push it off to the side of the road.

A friend's husband, who is a car mechanic, came to my rescue and installed a new battery. It started fine at first, but now the check engine light is on and it only runs for a minute or two before it dies suddenly and without warning, usually in the most inconvenient spot. My car is old and has other issues, so it doesn't really make any sort of sense to put a lot of money into it... but I really wish this would not have happened in July, the month where I don't have an income. :arghh::arghh:
Have the alternator checked. If it's not working it can cause what you've described ... ask me how I know!
 
Is there a mechanic that can look at it to see what is wrong that won't charge a lot?
Luckily, my friend's husband works at a garage here in town. I will probably have the car towed there tomorrow and he will check it out for me.

Have the alternator checked. If it's not working it can cause what you've described ... ask me how I know!
If I understood them correctly, it's not the alternator. Advanced Autoparts checked the battery after it was installed and it seemed to be charging fine. However, I don't know the first thing about cars and, even after 14 years of living in the US, I hardly understand half the words that they're using. :bookworm:
 
Ditto what Kris said. I had to replace both the battery and alternator in my 2003 car. At first the alternator checked out fine too.
 
Ditto. Got a charge for the battery in my 1991 Volvo and was told to drive immediately and don't stop until I got to my garage. Mechanic looked at it the next day and said it started fine. It died on the way home. Replaced alternator. No more problems. Well, just lots of other problems because the model hasn't been made for decades and I can't get parts easily anymore. But it's such a cool car!

Hope the lads surf for you today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top