7/4 *Boots* AMPS 153 | +3 132 | +6 123 | PMPS 110 | +2 133 | +4 119

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan and Boots (GA)

Member Since 2015
Happy 4th, all!

Boots has had a pretty good week overall. Had a bit of a spike mid-week, as he had a dreaded vet visit <cue ominous music> on 6/30 - but we upped his dose a smidge since then and he's hanging out in a pretty nice range the past few days. Our PMPS a little while ago was our lowest reading yet - 110 (AT2 meter/strips). I'm wondering if we'll see our first double digit BG tonight? Maybe not, but we can't be far away now. I just hope he stays nice and flat and even like he has been lately, overall - it just feels safer and more predictable.

Would love a couple sets of eyes on his SS and some feedback on our dosing and advice on what to shoot as he approaches sub-100 numbers. Do I maybe hold this dose for a few more cycles now? Or do you think another increase is warranted? And am I correct in understanding that I shouldn't even consider decreasing until I catch a reading (at any point in the cycle) of 68 or less? - when that happens, then decrease the next dose by .25?

We've just been kinda coasting along (thankfully!), so now that we're getting more green readings, I'm trying to switch gears into really thinking about each dose, not just blindly giving him what we gave him 12 hours prior without thinking it through first.

We'll be testing again in a couple minutes, so I'll amend this post with his +2 soon to add more data to the day.

Thanks!
 
Those are some very nice numbers! As long as you're where you are, I'd stick with this dose for now. I might have suggested holding some of the lower doses a bit longer though.

From the protocol: (coloring is mine to highlight)
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

Yes, if he drops below 68 on the AT, that's a reduction of .25U
 
Yes, you wouldn't decrease until he goes below 68.

I agree with Chris - I'd hold this dose for the full 10 cycles, then re-evaluate and decide if you need to increase again.

Looking good, though! His spreadsheet is a nice blue/green!

By the way, go ahead and either use the ? icon with your subject line or put "dose input?" in the subject line when you have a question. Otherwise there are just too many daily threads to even possibly read all of them and your question might get missed by people who are willing to help with dosing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top