? 7/6/2015 Norman past shot time PM BG 101 ?? not sure of dosing NEED HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindywith4cutecats

Member Since 2014
Norman has been having a fantastic day. I had to run out this morning and with him not eating as well the past few days and getting a amps of 126 we thought it best to decrease his dose from 2 units to 1 3/4 units. Well isn't my cat just a darling lol he is not following the rules at all !!! His Nadirs are hitting late in the cycle not at all what I am use to ! He ate great today, I can't complain at all, he ate his breaksfast his usual 1/4 can of 5.5 ounce can of Wellness , then had had snack after 5 hour check and that was about 1/8 of the can and now at the 9.5 hour check he ate about 1/4 of that can. I am at a total loss, I have no idea what to do when for his shot time this evening ! For his weight and his allotment of calories for the day as per his vet a year ago was around 250 calories a day. Wellness is around 218 for the whole can so he is on schedule with his food ....Will test him in 2 hours and see what the heck to do, but I don't think it will be 1 3/4 units of lantus... NOW NORMAN had to eat, he was not taking NO for an answer. His shot is do in ONE HOUR and I won't get a TRUE BG reading in 60 minutes as it will have a food spike in there. Unsure of what I am going to do, maybe skip a dose if he is under 100

NORMAN ate at the +11 hour mark, he was not taking no for an answer. Hubby gave in. His PMPS bg is 90 and I am sure that is food spike in there. Holding off one hour and will retest and see what to do from there. I know that I can skip a shot but hate to do that and lose my depot but if you have to you have to. I also know from reading that I can reduce him .25 to .50 of his lantus, hopeful we are looking at a .50 reduction and moving down...so conflicted until we recheck in one hour. I know it takes him off his schedule of every 12 hours but he is not shootable right now


yesterday condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...95-10-215-pmps-212-4-115.140537/#post-1450065
 
Last edited:
Unsure what to do !?! Will retest in 25 minutes and decide if he is shootable or not ! he will be one hour late on his lantus and totally lost on what dose reduction if any he would require
 
he is past his shot time by 1 hour 25 minutes getting ready to retest him in five minutes. Have not fed him to see what his BG does on his own.
 
at 5pm his BG was 90 ( however he had gotten food off my husband at 4pm so this is food spike )+12
6pm his BG was 101 ( we thought he had cleared his food spike as it was two hours since food and one hour late on shot time )+13
6:30pm his BG is 91 ( he is hungry and demanding food ) I am thinking he is totally un shootable at this point +13 1/2

just fed little less than 1/4 cac (size of can 5.5 ounce ones) of wellness turkey. I hate to lose my depot and I know his body will use some of that depot but I have to keep him safe, Will retest in one hour and then two hours to clear food spike and decide if he gets shot or not..
 
Last edited:
If that were me, and this is just me, I would skip as well. You obviously have more experience than I do, but after food, his bg went up, but now coming down again. The other option would a reduced dose if you will be able to test. But if it were me, I would skip.
 
we are in total agreement of skipping. Going to retest after this food clears his system in two hours and see whats going on. Cats can never play by the rules of Lantus .
 
I'm trying to decide what to do with mine. I know it's not protocol, but after seeing the numbers Shiloh has been getting, vet wants to try OTJ....which I want too, but so nervous about it!
 
If you have all the supplies you need, I think I'd try shooting ...either the scheduled dose or a reduced dose

As long as you're testing, you're in control of Norman's blood glucose....if he drops below 50, you pull out the High carb until it comes back up

By "earning" his reductions, you'll know he's really ready for them, but if you're still concerned, you can always give a BCS (Big Chicken Shot) of a lower dose just to keep him from draining as much of the depot

Lantus does best when given at lower numbers!
 
We fed him so we have to wait to clear that food spike first . retesting at +1 of food in 20 minutes , seeing whats going on then will test again one after that and see if I can shoot a reduced dose. Just wanted to keep him safe. It was strange to see his BG drop on its own after food so who the heck knows. I do know I don't want to lose my depot or all the progress we have made so far. I hate the bounce affect if you lose your depot
 
Shiloh and Rhonda, i just peeked at your SS....go look at mine when Norman was at .25 dose. We took him down by going to .10 for awhile first , you can see that it really helps the pancreas. Norman was in remission at one point...My vet did not agree with the .10 dose but I am so glad we did it...We know why Norman came out of remission and its all my fault over some medication .....
 
I wouldn't worry about the food....also, remember that you can't shoot again until 12 hours from the time you DO shoot so you have to take that into consideration...How flexible is your schedule?

Remember, you're not shooting the number you see NOW...you're shooting the number he'll be at in 2-3 hours.

You're going to have to learn to shoot these lower numbers so he can start (hopefully) earning reductions when he's ready for them. As long as you're home, able and ready to test, you're almost always going to be better if you go ahead and shoot.
 
So here's the deal. I don't care if Norman is threatening to chew off your ankle at +11. DON'T FEED. It it's absolutely necessary to appease him with food, give him some freeze dried chicken or a few small pieces of chicken breast. A small amount -- like a teaspoon -- of LC food is an alternative. This is exactly the position you don't want to be in. Not only did you feed at +11, you fed again with numbers at 90 at +13. Personally, I would have shot if I was convinced that the food spike had cleared.

Cindy -- you can't have it both ways. Either you are going to be aggressive about getting Norman back into remission or you're going to take it slow. You can't be upset with numbers being high and then not shoot if numbers are in a reasonable and low range. Getting a cat back into remission is harder than getting the kitty there the first time. It means you are going to have to shoot low. Numbers in the 90s are perfectly safe to shoot. I shoot numbers in the 50s. Shooting low does not mean that numbers will tank. Remember, "Shoot low to stay low."



 
Cindy....just a little housekeeping

The number you put in the PMPS tonight should be the ACTUAL number when you shot....You can stack the other tests in the +11 or put them in the "Remarks" and then put something like "126 @ +14.5" in the PMPS cell (but you'll have to manually color it)

That way you're still putting the new test results you're getting into the correct cell...+1 being 1 hour after shot, +2 is 2 hours after shot, etc
 
yes he did....went a little high this morning pre shot and I was concerned but he is coming down nicely now, I was afraid from shooting 2 1/2 hours late I would lose depot and lose my forward momentum but he is none the worse for the wear. I am exhausted of course cause I stayed up half the night watching him lol. He is eating better now also....Turns out the link I was given on one of my condos was for start slow go slow method and I had printed it out, that was where i got the idea about the bg of 90 ..oh well live and learn. I just freaked out over the 70 being low and being concerned over shooting him 1 3/4 units, seems like a high dose to me...Norman does not do well under the 60 mark at all, had him close to that number and he staggered through the kitchen demanding food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top