Cindywith4cutecats
Member Since 2014
Norman has been having a fantastic day. I had to run out this morning and with him not eating as well the past few days and getting a amps of 126 we thought it best to decrease his dose from 2 units to 1 3/4 units. Well isn't my cat just a darling lol he is not following the rules at all !!! His Nadirs are hitting late in the cycle not at all what I am use to ! He ate great today, I can't complain at all, he ate his breaksfast his usual 1/4 can of 5.5 ounce can of Wellness , then had had snack after 5 hour check and that was about 1/8 of the can and now at the 9.5 hour check he ate about 1/4 of that can. I am at a total loss, I have no idea what to do when for his shot time this evening ! For his weight and his allotment of calories for the day as per his vet a year ago was around 250 calories a day. Wellness is around 218 for the whole can so he is on schedule with his food ....Will test him in 2 hours and see what the heck to do, but I don't think it will be 1 3/4 units of lantus... NOW NORMAN had to eat, he was not taking NO for an answer. His shot is do in ONE HOUR and I won't get a TRUE BG reading in 60 minutes as it will have a food spike in there. Unsure of what I am going to do, maybe skip a dose if he is under 100
NORMAN ate at the +11 hour mark, he was not taking no for an answer. Hubby gave in. His PMPS bg is 90 and I am sure that is food spike in there. Holding off one hour and will retest and see what to do from there. I know that I can skip a shot but hate to do that and lose my depot but if you have to you have to. I also know from reading that I can reduce him .25 to .50 of his lantus, hopeful we are looking at a .50 reduction and moving down...so conflicted until we recheck in one hour. I know it takes him off his schedule of every 12 hours but he is not shootable right now
yesterday condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...95-10-215-pmps-212-4-115.140537/#post-1450065
NORMAN ate at the +11 hour mark, he was not taking no for an answer. Hubby gave in. His PMPS bg is 90 and I am sure that is food spike in there. Holding off one hour and will retest and see what to do from there. I know that I can skip a shot but hate to do that and lose my depot but if you have to you have to. I also know from reading that I can reduce him .25 to .50 of his lantus, hopeful we are looking at a .50 reduction and moving down...so conflicted until we recheck in one hour. I know it takes him off his schedule of every 12 hours but he is not shootable right now
yesterday condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...95-10-215-pmps-212-4-115.140537/#post-1450065
Last edited: