Figaro's Liz
Member Since 2019
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-7-figaro-amps-338-2-455-4-418-6-430-8-451.216527/
7/6 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-6-figaro-amps-460-2-427-pmps-414-3-402.216492/
7/5 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-5-figaro-am-10-410-somogyi.216446/
(forgot to link previous posts)
Yesterday's curve: AMPS=338, +2=455, +4=418, +6=430, +8=451.
Is it right to keep holding at 0.5? If I were following SLGS, the protocol would be to hold Figaro's dose, I think, since it has not been a week. I see it right there in text but I'm worried about these constant highs. He was on 0.5U but with almost no home tests for over a week before the vet told me to go to once a day (still kicking myself for doing that).
For those of you who don't work with a vet (or don't follow their advice), while following SLGS or TR, how do you handle prescriptions and check-ups? If I commit to SLGS (against the instruction of my vet), my concern is that I won't have access to syringes and insulin if she won't write the scripts. I'm trying to switch to a different vet, but I'm not sure the change will make it any easier. I want to have a good relationship with Fig's vet so that if we need them for an emergency, they are accessible.
I want to follow SLGS, but my vet is not working with me here. Just talked to her and she wants to put him up to 1 unit 2x/day. I said I'd like to do 1/4 unit and she just said that's not possible. I don't trust her at all, but I'm very apprehensive about not being able to call a vet with issues, especially if he needs to be seen.
Edit just to add, I know many of you are confident in the method and that gives me confidence too. Just want to have a plan going into this as much as I can, so appreciate any stories from your experience "working around" uncooperative vets.
7/6 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-6-figaro-amps-460-2-427-pmps-414-3-402.216492/
7/5 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-5-figaro-am-10-410-somogyi.216446/
(forgot to link previous posts)
Yesterday's curve: AMPS=338, +2=455, +4=418, +6=430, +8=451.
Is it right to keep holding at 0.5? If I were following SLGS, the protocol would be to hold Figaro's dose, I think, since it has not been a week. I see it right there in text but I'm worried about these constant highs. He was on 0.5U but with almost no home tests for over a week before the vet told me to go to once a day (still kicking myself for doing that).
For those of you who don't work with a vet (or don't follow their advice), while following SLGS or TR, how do you handle prescriptions and check-ups? If I commit to SLGS (against the instruction of my vet), my concern is that I won't have access to syringes and insulin if she won't write the scripts. I'm trying to switch to a different vet, but I'm not sure the change will make it any easier. I want to have a good relationship with Fig's vet so that if we need them for an emergency, they are accessible.
I want to follow SLGS, but my vet is not working with me here. Just talked to her and she wants to put him up to 1 unit 2x/day. I said I'd like to do 1/4 unit and she just said that's not possible. I don't trust her at all, but I'm very apprehensive about not being able to call a vet with issues, especially if he needs to be seen.
Edit just to add, I know many of you are confident in the method and that gives me confidence too. Just want to have a plan going into this as much as I can, so appreciate any stories from your experience "working around" uncooperative vets.
Last edited:
I really appreciate the tags and your advice re: vets. 