8/02 garfie amps 324 +1 347, +2 349, +4 300, +6 288, +7 293, +9 275 pmps 270,

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebecca.garfie

Member Since 2018
Condo:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-01-garfie-pmps-144.200456/

Hopefully I posted this right this time.
Doing curve today.
Does any one put anything on their cats ears? Noticed his ears are a bit sore probably from testing so much. I read last night Neosporin but got mixed feelings about it.
I used Melissa's aloe pet cream last night it's an all natural product made from aloe. Is there anything else better any suggestions would be appreciated
 
I use the generic of triple AB with pain relief (neosporin) ointment (not cream) and the Halo product. I use the Neosporin when I have really beat his ears up with lots of testing.
 
polisporen with pain relief.........keep changing spots on the ear, keep changing ears.........he should be okay as I test Davidson 10 times a day and they get used to it. Change the lancet more often as it looses it's sharpness and makes a bigger hole.
 
oh, I forgot - sometimes they pull away because it tickles their ears when we have our fingers inside while holding the ear. Davidson sometimes pulls away or moves his head towards my hand as he finds it tickles him. I just rub his head, talk to him and it distracts him. Try to limit the time holding his ear, get the 'prick' done asap and it's over, should take a couple seconds when you get used to it.

Good luck with the curve, but be aware the results won't be as favourable due to the change in insulin over the past week and skipped doses. But you'll still get useful data that will be helpful.
 
He prefers me doing 1 ear over the other but I can't always poke same ear so he needs to get used to it. I just put stuff on ears to help soothe them not a lot just a little. I understand the curve won't be the info I want but it's still important info
 
Sounds good..........keep adding the numbers to this subject line as you test, as well as updating the SS.

Oh, only test every 2 hrs........that will give his ears a rest, unless he drops like a stone, then test more but he looks pretty comfy there now as I see his SS is updated
 
Only use the lancets 3 times I figured that was the problem but docent seem to matter. I move all over ears both of them I think just sore cause testing so much. Will keep putting little bit of stuff on ears. His ears are thin and very little hair so I see everything
 
Hi Rebecca, I am a friend of Shawnas and just wanted to check in and say hi. When I first started testing i was pokingmultiple times before I got blood. And sometimes going all the way through the ear so it got sore. But I got better with time so it wasnt as hard on the ears.
 
Thanks for checking in and hello to you to. I read up in a section here that gives some help when having problems getting blood and I admitt I was having some problems. So I took some of that advice and it's working. I have been warming his ears in my hand and it seems to be helping. As for the soreness i have been using melissas aloe pet it's an all natural aloe cream I put just a little bit on his ears and it seems to be helping
 
Davidson's ears didn't bleed that well at first, then it gets better with time and a little prick and blood comes out with some pushing of the fingers. Kind of like squishing a zit - lol. You train the ears to bleed, and eventually the slightest tip of the lancet brings enough blood out for the test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top