8/2 - Shakespeare - +11 - 65 - PMPS - 527-YUK

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by dmartini4, Aug 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dmartini4

    dmartini4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Ok, Dont know if it is a full moon or not
    Seems like everyone on the board had low numbers last night!
    reacap of last night
    PMPS - 332
    +4 - 207
    +6 - 144
    +11 - 65 - had to feed he was going crazy(2%)
    this was on 2 units, and I use the alpha track so I do believe this calls for another reduction to 1.75...?
     
  2. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: 8/2 - Shakespeare - +11 - 65

    Hi Denise, great to see your condo!

    I'd love to advise but I'm not familiar with the AT glucometer. Could you remind me, please: by how many points is it generally thought to differ from other meters? (And: Have you by chance got another, different meter tocompare BG readings?)

    Jane

    P.S. Denise, please can you go to the TITLE of your thread (which reads: 8/2 SHakespeare - +11 -65) and add "Need Dose Help"? Thanks
     
  3. dmartini4

    dmartini4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Re: 8/2 - Shakespeare - +11 - 65

    Hi Jane
    I believe it was Sienne that told me under 80 reduce if you use the alphatrack meter
    Funny, my sister in laws cat was diagnosed Tuesday with diabetes so I gave her my back up
    RElion meter last night, figuring that Shakse would not come down again for a few days....
    Well doesnt that figure!
    I wanted her to start home testing asap...
    anyway...I am going to wait a little while before I test again to give him some time to rise
    I will reduce to 1.75, but I think I am going to give a BCS dose today
    as I will not be here and he is pretty low
     
  4. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: 8/2 - Shakespeare - +11 - 65 - dose advice

    If you're not going to be around to monitor, I agree with your plan to keep Shakes as safe as possible. Even with little setbacks and glitches in the progress, I think there can and will be progress. Keep breathing! :mrgreen:

    You'll get some more feedback on dosing later today I'm sure! I'll look over your SS and so on later too and try to get back to you for tonight's dose. Right now it's noon and I haven't even been able to have breakfast yet :D Soooo hungry! Off I go to make foooood!

    Jane
     
  5. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 8/2 - Shakespeare - +11 - 65 - dose advice

    I am very very tired, so take what I say with a grain of salt, because I just opened my eyes, and haven't had coffee, yet,
    but I think if 65 on the alphatrak is like 35 on a human meter, and you fed, so the next number will be food influenced, and you're not going to be home to monitor, today, that you should skip the shot this morning.

    I'll be back in a bit, once I get some coffee.
     
  6. dmartini4

    dmartini4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Re: 8/2 - Shakespeare - +11 - 65 - dose advice

    Thanks Ladies,
    He ate almost a whole can at +11, and I thought that the 65 on the AT was 40ish on a human
    meter. At +12.5 he was 151, which means on human meter about 120ish
    I fed him and he ate and just took off into his hiding spot when he does not feel well
    Could this be his way of telling me no shot today
    as he has never hid before me shoot ing him...I am a little worried
     
  7. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 8/2 - Shakespeare - +11 - 65 - dose advice

    Okay, I've had two sips of coffee. I think, since you fed, you won't really know if he's rising or dropping because his next test will be infleunced by the food, and you won't be home to monitor, so you should skip the shot this morning.
     
  8. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 8/2 - Shakespeare - +11 - 65 - dose advice

    If his tummy is upset from scarfing his food, he could also barf it up. I still say no shot this morning.
    Jane, what do you think?
     
  9. dmartini4

    dmartini4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Re: 8/2 - Shakespeare - +11 - 65 - dose advice

    THanks Dyana
    I never thought of that....and you are right, his tummy is probably very upset right now
    I am going to leave him alone and not shoot and deal with the high number tonight
    Thanks as always for being there!
    Have a great day!
     
  10. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 8/2 - Shakespeare - +11 - 65 - dose advice

    You, have a great day, too.
    And, congratulations on the dose reduction!
     
  11. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: 8/2 - Shakespeare - +11 - 65 - dose advice

    I agree, Dyana - best to keep Shakes safe!
    Jane
     
  12. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 8/2 - Shakespeare - +11 - 65 - dose advice

    It sounds like a very reasonable and safe plan.

    For future reference, if you are thinking about stalling, don't feed. Even if Shakes is gnawing on your ankle -- don't feed. Here's Libby's post on dealing with low pre-shot numbers.
     
  13. PeterDevonMocha

    PeterDevonMocha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 8/2 - Shakespeare - +11 - 65 - dose advice

    Hi guys .. glad you got your questions answered .. and congrats on the dose reduction! I hope it holds for shakespeare .. how odd is it that your SIL's cat was diagnosed just last week! I won't be around tomorrow, so have a great weekend!
     
  14. dmartini4

    dmartini4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Re: 8/2 - Shakespeare - +11 - 65 - dose advice

    Thanks everyone,
    but Sienne
    he was 65 on the AT which means about 30's on the human meter...isnt that too low?
    his PMPS is 527 so I shot 2 units to help him out of this, but will reduce to 1.75 tomorrow???
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page