8/22 Chino|AMPS=193|+4=413|R|+8=427|R|PMPS=330|+2=337|+4=221|+6=197

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

Day 4 on cabergoline. Chino came down to 99 last night on a reduced dose of 12 units. If this dose continues to be effective, that's an extra 2 doses from each pen (vs. last week's 13.5 unit dose)! I haven't noticed any changes in terms of behavior. His litterbox deposits were more liquid than solid for the first 2 days, but that seems back to normal now.
 
Nice job Chino. All paws crossed here the dose continues to come down and glad you're taking reductions at 70 with the new meds on board. Surf safely buddy.
 
I don't understand why he's bouncing so much higher from 99 than he did from 41. Even if he kept dropping after +8, he should've only gotten down to the mid-60's by +10 (assuming he only started rising at +11). I base that on the way the speed of the drop decreased every 2 hours:

120 from +2 to +4
75 from +4 to +6 (~33% slower than before)
50 from +6 to +8 (~33% slower than before)

If the rate continued to slow down this way, he would've dropped 33 mg/dL from +8 to +10.
 
I don't understand why he's bouncing so much higher from 99 than he did from 41
More than likely because of the larger drop, not the green. On 8/19 he dropped 100 pts in 4 hours (50 pts every 2 hours) and last night dropped 50 pts the first 2 hours after PMPS but had a much larger drop from PM +2 to PM+4 121 pts with continued good size drops until your last test at +8. Many times they bounce worse from larger drops then lower numbers.

I understand giving R today but what I don't understand is waiting 4 hours to test after giving R. Hopefully he'll clear the bounce nice and easy soon.
 
I understand giving R today but what I don't understand is waiting 4 hours to test after giving R.

When I was starting out with R, I tested hourly, then tested 2 and 4 hours later. I found that the +2 and +4 were usually within 1-15 mg/dL of each other. My goal is to lower his BG only by 100 or so. On the first cycle of a bounce, the first dose almost always just limits how high he goes over the next 4 hours (instead of lowering his BG). I try to only give it on the first cycle of a bounce as a rule, since his response is a lot less predictable on subsequent cycles. Sometimes I make an exception if his BG is high in the morning, but I wait to see if it's going up or down at +4 and I only give it if it's rising.
 
I don't understand why he's bouncing so much higher from 99 than he did from 41.
In addition to the fast drops that Karen mentioned, Chino now has less juice and a smaller depot on board that he did for the 41. More juice can help dampen the heights of the bounces. And cats don't usually drop at an even pace. It's possible during those fast drops that he had an hour with a really big drop. On the up side, he did see green just three cycles after the BCS and starting the reduced dose.
 
Looking forward to see his evening cycle, that is when Marvin moved down the most..... I think when cabergoline really kicked in for Marvin we didn't see any bounces after that, it was steady decreases after that. Paws crossed that Chino reacts well to it, and bounces less in the upcoming days....
 
PMPS = 330 (3rd meal LC 5%)
[12 units Lantus, 2nd cycle since last green nadir]
+2 = 337
+4 = 221 (4th meal LC 5%)

This is interesting... is he repeating last night's game plan? It's highly unusual for him to break a bounce after just one cycle. Though he has shown a recent pattern of +4 nadirs during a bounce, so he could be heading back up from here. Either way, the next check will be at +6.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top