? 8/22 Nelli AMPS 307, +3 274, +6 284

Status
Not open for further replies.
You see “up, down, up” but I see flat. I just don’t get too worried or caught up in variances of 30 mg/dL when the numbers are this high. It’s negligible. You might also get limited data on a cycle after a fur shot. I’m not saying not to test but I’m just saying don’t get overly concerned about higher numbers that you might see the cycle after a fur shot.

I read this question from the other day:
I decided today I would test during AM to see, potentially when she has nadir. I am doing one at +5, +6 and, +7.
I will do her PMPS (6p-6a) and then do +1 one and a +2.
In the morning I will do an hour before a.m. PS.
The method of my plan is to see one half cycle where her nadir rest and then the next 12 hours see when the insulin is kicking in... am I making any sense to anybody?! :-\
In lew of pricking her every other hour for 24 hours I decided to split up.
Tomorrow I will test opposite- I understand that kitty’s often (always?)go lower at night which is why I need to test (in the middle of the night :mad:!
Now, my questions regarding dose increase tonight-
First, should I increase tonight? I question this, although with ignorance, because I have not been following T our protocol as best as I should be.
Secondly, if YES increase tonight... should I wait until she has a complete cycle on 4.25 before I play out my plan with (my) test schedule?

Random spot checks are always a good way to fill in the blanks to see what is going on and when she might nadir. It’s very important to know in your cat what her onset, nadir, and duration are so I applaud you that you are trying to figure that out. I will say that nadirs can move around a bit so figuring it out might take a little more data but you also might not be able to see it as well until she gets to a better dose.

A good place to start to see when she onsets is to test at +2 as religiously as you can because Lantus is known for a +2 onset. Having said that, we have had cats onset earlier or later than that on lantus but it’s a good starting place. If her +2 is the same as or lower than the PS, you will likely see a more active cycle. As the dose improves (you see better numbers), if you aren’t seeing her onset a +2, try +3.

Yes, testing around mid cycle as you suggested will help show her nadir and tests at +10 or so will give you an idea of duration. Since every cat’s cycles are different....and they can even vary with the cat.....you’ve got investigative work you can do but keep in mind it can change especially as the dose gets better.

Remember that when you give a fur shot, the cycle count starts over so she will need to be at 4.25u for six consecutive before you make any dose changes unless she drops below 50.

Also...sorry but could you pls modify the subject line with the date and her name so we know who the condo’s for when we look down the list? Thanks!!

I hope that helps some. Sorry I’ve missed her condo.....sick hubby...but he’s on the mend now :)
 
You see “up, down, up” but I see flat. I just don’t get too worried or caught up in variances of 30 mg/dL when the numbers are this high. It’s negligible. You might also get limited data on a cycle after a fur shot. I’m not saying not to test but I’m just saying don’t get overly concerned about higher numbers that you might see the cycle after a fur shot.

I read this question from the other day:


Random spot checks are always a good way to fill in the blanks to see what is going on and when she might nadir. It’s very important to know in your cat what her onset, nadir, and duration are so I applaud you that you are trying to figure that out. I will say that nadirs can move around a bit so figuring it out might take a little more data but you also might not be able to see it as well until she gets to a better dose.

A good place to start to see when she onsets is to test at +2 as religiously as you can because Lantus is known for a +2 onset. Having said that, we have had cats onset earlier or later than that on lantus but it’s a good starting place. If her +2 is the same as or lower than the PS, you will likely see a more active cycle. As the dose improves (you see better numbers), if you aren’t seeing her onset a +2, try +3.

Yes, testing around mid cycle as you suggested will help show her nadir and tests at +10 or so will give you an idea of duration. Since every cat’s cycles are different....and they can even vary with the cat.....you’ve got investigative work you can do but keep in mind it can change especially as the dose gets better.

Remember that when you give a fur shot, the cycle count starts over so she will need to be at 4.25u for six consecutive before you make any dose changes unless she drops below 50.

Also...sorry but could you pls modify the subject line with the date and her name so we know who the condo’s for when we look down the list? Thanks!!

I hope that helps some. Sorry I’ve missed her condo.....sick hubby...but he’s on the mend now :)
Yes... date and her name. Know that I am trying to follow protocal” :)!
 
I took PMPS at 5:45p (correct time to shoot)- did not shoot until 7p (plz don’t ask :banghead:). I am testing a +2 here @ 9p, a +6 at 1a.
How “early” can I AMPS and shoot in morning? I will see your reply (someone out there, hopefully) when I get up at 1a.
Thanks :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top