8/23Ravan/+7 445/pmps440/+5 198/+7 180/amps130/

Status
Not open for further replies.
I’m on west coast time so I’m glad you went with your gut.

Since you are doing TR, I would not have suggested you reduce the dose...he didn’t earn it. However (and see below), you are getting towards a good dose and so you are going to see more cycles that are similar in terms of hours of green. It’s up to you as to what you can deal with but the goal is to see fairly flat cycles.

I know you are thinking, “I had to carb him a lot to keep him above 50”. If you had to work at keeping him up and if you can’t do another night like last night, you will definitely want to consider dropping the dose back.

What I would suggest is to try not to shoot a “just barely shaved” BCS dose like you did last night on a one time basis here and there. As you can see, the depot causes the cycle to look the same as if you had shot the full 1u.

Make sense?
 
@Marje and Gracie

A bit confusing. You said he didn't earn a reduction. If I had not given H CarbFF I'm sure he would have . So next time am I supposed to just see how low he's going to go?
I thought the very low #'s indicate the dose is too High for him? Should I shoot the 1 unit tonight? What happens when he keeps going real low & I need to keep giving High carb? Does he eventually just stay in green without the H Carb?
 
@Marje and Gracie

A bit confusing. You said he didn't earn a reduction. If I had not given H CarbFF I'm sure he would have . So next time am I supposed to just see how low he's going to go?
I thought the very low #'s indicate the dose is too High for him? Should I shoot the 1 unit tonight? What happens when he keeps going real low & I need to keep giving High carb? Does he eventually just stay in green without the H Carb?

Under TR, a reduction is earned when the BG drops below 50 for a newly diagnosed cat (a cat that has been FD less than a year) and under 40 for a long-term diabetic. BGs in the 50s on a human meter are not considered to be “very low”.

Do we know that he would have absolutely dropped below 50 without intervention? We don’t because it is a hallmark of Levemir that numbers can stay super flat. Therefore, we, generally, don’t base reductions on what we think “might have” happened.

Usually, when a cat is ready for a reduction, you would not be able to keep him up above 50 even with HC.

No, you don’t need to just see how low he will go. On a daytime cycle when you are there to test, you can try MC foods and experiment with what gets him to stay flat but above 50. Some cats can surf on higher LC food. ECID. I never used more than 10-13% carbs most of the time. If Gracie dropped into the 30s, I did add a drop or so of Karo. But you have to do what is best for you and Ravan. There were two of us here caring for Gracie.

However, as I stated, you are the caregiver and you know what you can do and can’t do. If you feel that’s it’s difficult for you to handle those 50-type numbers at night and it worries you that you had to feed him so many carbs to keep him so flat, then the choice on reduction is yours. We need to keep him safe. If he fails a reduction, you can always go back up, as you’ve found.

I’m not one for hopping around doses. I’d see how he does on the skinny 1u for now. I will say that usually newly diagnosed cats do better with increases and decreases of 0.25u. Shaving doses is really used to fine tune it once you get to a good dose and it’s also used for cats that fail reductions consistently.
 
@Marje and Gracie

when a cat is ready for a reduction, you would not be able to keep him up above 50 even with HC.

What do you do then to keep the BG up. add Karo?

Will he eventually stay in green without the H Carb?


I desperately want Ravan's bg lower. I'm so worried about his Kidney disease. You say,"Newly diagnosed" I feel like it's been YEARS!!!
If I need to stay up with him then I will. If he starts going up high again can i just go back to 1 unit at pmps? He's at 405 now?
 
What do you do then to keep the BG up. add Karo?
There are times when Karo won’t keep the BG up but, personally, I learned to try and only use karo when Gracie dropped into the 30s because there becomes no “cushion”. You have to make that decision on your own. I do think Karo, honey, syrup is overused on the board but that’s my own opinion and I know I overused it at first as well because it’s scary. It’s handy to have around if you need to get numbers up fast but it’s going to wear off quickly and numbers likely will come back down.

There are some cats that are sensitive to gravies and HC food etc, (like Sienne’s Gabby) and so the CG has to use karo, honey, syrup to slow down or control numbers. It’s a good idea for you to look at Gabby’s SS and see how Sienne did this. She was excellent at it. (I need to ask @Sienne and Gabby (GA) to repost Gabby’s SS as the link isn’t working).

Will he eventually stay in green without the H Carb?
Some cats do from the get-go; some cats learn to do it. If you haven’t ever studied, it is well worth it. The goal is to teach the liver to not panic and to allow a green surf with LC food. I did find that giving Gracie more food at a higher low carb (e.g. 10%) would work in a lot of cases.

If he starts going up high again can i just go back to 1 unit at pmps? He's at 405 now?
He’s bouncing from all those 50s last night. And he could be a bit higher due to the HC food (that’s normal). I know you don’t want to see him there but you need to see how long he bounces and whether he comes back down to green. The reduced dose might work for him. I was once given great advice, “don’t chase the numbers”.
 
@Marje and Gracie

I've never used Karo or Honey Just the 13% FF ( I thought that is considered H Carb? ) I did have a time with Ravan going in the 30's I gave 2 cans of FF gravy in a 2 hr period before he even started to come up!
I would prefer that not happening again! It was scary seeing his BG go down instead of up.

I'll keep the tiny reduction & see what happens.

Thank You!
 
It's supposed to Rain tomorrow & my Grass is calling me :D
Kitties are playing Tiger in the grass, all I see are their tails! :p
 
13% carb is medium carb. Over 15% is considered high carb.

I think the link to Gabby's SS is working now. I have comments re. what I was doing with bumping numbers in the "Comments" column.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top