8/24/2018 PHOEBES AMPS 172 +3 71 test results spoke to the vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phoebes (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-87-vet-visit-bloodwork.201543/#post-2241314

So from last week her lymphocytes have increased. I'm embarrassed to say we don't have the money for further testing. So we are going to treat with Chlorambucil Mon Wed Fri. Hoping this will bring the lymphocytes down so the red blood cells can grow. I think deep down we know it's probably leukemia, but we are holding out for this new drug to work wonders. We go back in 10-14 days to get another CBC for comparison. I've posted the new numbers. Here's a pic of the latest lab results. I'm kinda crushed. My husband and I are gonna talk tonight about a plan of action. Other than that we've increased her gabapentin to 100mg 2x a day. She's doing better on it, even if it's a more pesky kitty. She is now 10ft tall with huge ...well you know.
 

Attachments

  • 20180824_114341.jpg
    20180824_114341.jpg
    43.9 KB · Views: 65
Is the vet planning anything to address the anemia? B vitamins may help.

Is the chlorambucil being given going forward three times a week? Neko was on that protocol at first for cholorambucil and it made her horribly nauseous. Make sure you are giving ondansetron an hour or two before the chlorambucil so it can try to stop the nausea. I ended up with both Cerenia and ondansetron. Neko was greatly helped when we went to something called pulse dosing, which is a slightly higher dose of chlorambucil, but just given once every two weeks. That gave her time to get over the nausea and we had a good 10 days of appetite in between the doses. Plus it's a lower total amount of chlorambucil overall, better for both the cat, and your pocketbook. Neko's pulse dose was 6 mg, but the amount is based on size of cat. Pulsed dose is a newer protocol, not all vets have experience with it.

Sending vines. :bighug:
 
Neko was greatly helped when we went to something called pulse dosing,
She wanted to do the 3 a week to hopefully work faster. We will go back in 14 days for another CBC to see if there is any change. She didn't think the numbers for the anemia warranted any meds just yet. But did suggest some calves or pork liver for iron. Phoebe won't eat her food with anything in it. What kind of B do you suggest? She is already on the zofran and cerenia everyday hopefully that will head off any nausea. Husband and I talked about it last night. We will give these meds the couple of weeks, but if she looses any more weight or her lymphocytes are no better, we will discuss pts. She's just wasting away. We don't want her to keep wasting, and pass horribly. :( she went from 12.95 to 12.8 in a week. I know that could be a bm, but she's still loosing. When she was diagnosised she was 11.6 we got her to 15.5. Then from Oct to July she went to 12.9. And eating pretty well overall.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top