? 8/24 Nelli AMPS 305. Ketone check?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I’d test daily until you start seeing consistent blue and green numbers and then you can test weekly. Blood ketone strips are really expensive and that’s why, for frequent testing in a cat that hasn’t had DKA, most use urine ketone strips.

If Nelli doesn’t see some blue in today’s or tonight’s cycle, I suggest increasing the dose tomorrow to 4.5u bid. If she just dips a toe in blue quickly, I’d still increase if she were mine.
 
I’d test daily until you start seeing consistent blue and green numbers and then you can test weekly. Blood ketone strips are really expensive and that’s why, for frequent testing in a cat that hasn’t had DKA, most use urine ketone strips.

If Nelli doesn’t see some blue in today’s or tonight’s cycle, I suggest increasing the dose tomorrow to 4.5u bid. If she just dips a toe in blue quickly, I’d still increase if she were mine.
She has not (even) dipped... yet :(
Out of town, was unable to test +5 or +6 today. Got her at 7.5. She is due for shot at 6p.
What would you do (at minimum) for test throughout night?
Thanks for your input... the advise :)!
 
Okey doeky... Nelli fell into a blue @ +2.
How often should I test tonight?
@Marje and Gracie would you increase dose in morning if she stays in blue tonight?
Just getting home to see this! The old “threaten a dose increase” trick worked :smuggrin::p It’s a tradition of sorts here.

I’d grab a +3 and see how fast she continues to drop. Drops can vary in time so just because she came down 100 in two hours doesn’t mean she will continue at that rate....she could speed up or slow down. At least now we see she onsets on or before +2.

If the +3 has slowed down a bit and she’s flatter, you can let her go a couple hours but if she keeps heading down 35-50 mg/dL an hour, you might want to grab a +4 as well.

Let’s not decide on dose until we see what she does.

You should be coming up on +3 so I’ll check back shortly.
 
Sorry. I am completely drained. Trying to keep up with Nelli, my business and, my housekeeping.
I slept HARD last night slept straight through until waking up an hour late at 5:30!
I have the downtown farmers market on Saturday mornings, get up at 4:30 leave house at five.
I am able to come back and forth because I have someone there who works for me :-). I woke up an hour late this morning and I am in overdrive now.
I will check Nelli again (did a +2) at +5 1/2- should I check again before PMPS?
Gave her 4.5 this morning. Hopefully I did right?
Thanks for checking in with us I sincerely appreciate it.
 
I wouldn’t have raised the dose without knowing how low she went. She was headed down at a pretty good clip last night and her +2 was much less than the preshot.
 
OK so I did not hold the dose I increased her by .25. Should I reverse, go into reverse .25 or leave her at 4.5? I am up throughout the night tonight testing testing testing. I was going to test a +7 on heels of a +6 to see if she still going down if not I will jump to a +10 or +11?
If at +6 she is still diving I was going to test again at +9. How does this sound o_O?!?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top