8/28 Muffin AMPS 240 +3.5 215 +7.5 227 PMPS 254 +4.5 125 +7.5 105 +9.25 96

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie + Muffin

Active Member
YESTERhttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...150-7-100-10-216-pmps-260-4-230-8-200.183026/DAY

Muffin has a dental tomorrow and must be there by 9:00 am. She can only have a meal tonight by 11 pm and we will also shot a little early at 11:00 pm. Tomorrow her normal AMPS would be at 11:20 am but she will be at the vet's office getting ready for her dental. We are intending to skip her AMPS shot and she will be monitored during her dental in case she needs dextrose to keep her in safe range. If we do that can I move her PMPS way up to a more reasonable hour which would also reset her AMPS the following day?

If anyone has experience with this scenario I would appreciate input. Thanks.
 
If we do that can I move her PMPS way up to a more reasonable hour which would also reset her AMPS the following day?

Yes, if you skip the usual AM dose, you can restart at a better time for you on the PM dose....BUT, make sure you test first...anesthesia can cause their glucose to remain unusually low for awhile

And make sure she's at least willing to eat....having some jars of "all meat" baby food around is a good idea
 
If she has any extractions, she may not want to eat, so baby food is a good idea. Hopefully, they'll give her pain meds if they do pull any teeth.
Also, anesthesia can upset their tummies, so again, she may not want to eat. Be sure she's ready to eat before you give insulin.

Sending good dental vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top