8/5 Plum out of remission....we're back

Status
Not open for further replies.

PlumsMom

Member Since 2016
So I took him into the vet for a checkup - thought for sure she would say his teeth needed attention, but no, all looks good. I attached his lab work to the second page of his SS.

I am confused though, because she seems to think we can control it with diet changes. Wants me to take him completely off the YA Zero kibble (I've weaned him down to just a small amount at night) and feed 2-1/2 cans of the FF classics per day. That's do-able, and I have been doing so, but I am still giving insulin, as you can see. The Lantus I have is quite old - expiration date is 10/18 but it has been open and in the fridge since 5/2016; over a year. It does still seem to be effective, but am I potentially harming him by giving it?

The vet also wants me to test his urine for glucose, with some kind of test sticks. I assume similar to Ketostix? Why is this any more accurate or informational than blood glucose monitoring?

Ugh, not happy that he's back on the juice, but I am grateful to have the support and knowledge of this board. Prayers & vines for all in need, and happy Caturday!

Marci & Plum
 
I am so sorry you are back. It happens. Good luck with the diet changes. They can make a big difference. No constipation or other possible causes?
When glucose leaks into the urine, they can get UTIs. I don't really know much about glucose in the urine. I think I heard a vet say it starts around BG 200.
 
I'm sorry Plum is back on insulin. To me it looks like he does need insulin and diet changes will not be enough. A lot of vets think having a cat in the 200s is good numbers because most people will not home test. It looks like Plum needs a dose increase to 1.25 units. When Furball had to go back on insulin, I used the pen she had used before that had been in my refrigerator for 1 year and a half. It had not expired yet and it seemed to be fine.
 
Sorry that you're back.

It can't hurt to check if there's glucose in Plum's urine. If you get Ketodiastix, the strip tests for both ketones and glucose. The only advantage of testing for urinary glucose is to know if your kitty's BG is below renal threshold. This is a way to try to make sure that the diabetes is putting as little stress as possible on the kidneys.

If it's at all possible, I'd encourage you to consider using Tight Regulation. It is certainly possible for a cat to go back into remission. However, once a cat comes out of remission, you may need to be more aggressive in order to get your kitty OTJ again.

 
I remember how sad I felt when I had to put Radar back on insulin.... however, it wasn't as scarey and overwhelming the second time so perhaps that helps you feel a little better. We're glad you are here. These are for you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Hang in there.
 
Welcome back sorry you have to be here with all of us.
Sure hope the changes will slloiw Plum to head towards remission again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top