Govies mom (Karen)
Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-12-govie-amps-302-pmps-158-4-227.183858/
Another 302 this morning
Another 302 this morning
Yup. Dosecrease threats are very powerful!if you want to see green, I'd be threatening a dosecrease tomorrow morning....
I'm not sure what the 'threat' means and I'm not sure if green is what I'm supposed to be shooting for. She seemed pretty steady b4 I went to 1.5. I mean, all is the same with food and mealtimes so I don't really understand why the numbers aren't stabilizing somewhat.Yup. Dosecrease threats are very powerful!
When you talk about increasing the dose, we say that's a "threat", in the hopes that the cat takes heed and gets her numbers down.I'm not sure what the 'threat' means
Yes, you want green. Normal number are 50-80 according the the TR sticky. That's what you're shooting for.I'm not sure if green is what I'm supposed to be shooting for.
You want steady, but you don't want steady in the 200s. You want 100s and lower. FD is not predictable, and insulin is a hormone, not a drug. Add to that all the factors that influence the BGs, and that you are dealing with a cat, and you can see that logic flies out the window!She seemed pretty steady b4 I went to 1.5. I mean, all is the same with food and mealtimes so I don't really understand why the numbers aren't stabilizing somewhat.
Oh wow, thanks to all u guys. I'm so climbing rung by rung up this FD learning ladder. Much better understanding of the goal now..normal is between 50 and 120.... on a human glucometer.
If you are only wanting to be in regulation, then numbers under 200 are what most vets aim for. They get nervous because they don't think most
cat owners are going to do what is needed to keep kitty safe. And there are a lot of them out there who don't. Some don't even try.
But the more you can get those numbers down under 120, we call that healing time for kitty's pancreas.
Cats are the only beastie that the pancreas can actually heal itself.
So if you can get numbers in that healing range, you could actually have a bout of remission time.
Once a diabetic, always a diabetic , but remission is possible where you could have time without having to give shots until something knocks them out of
remission, such as teeth issues or other medical conditions.
I came back to your post to reread it because I got my first green I just got an 86normal is between 50 and 120.... on a human glucometer.
If you are only wanting to be in regulation, then numbers under 200 are what most vets aim for. They get nervous because they don't think most
cat owners are going to do what is needed to keep kitty safe. And there are a lot of them out there who don't. Some don't even try.
But the more you can get those numbers down under 120, we call that healing time for kitty's pancreas.
Cats are the only beastie that the pancreas can actually heal itself.
So if you can get numbers in that healing range, you could actually have a bout of remission time.
Once a diabetic, always a diabetic , but remission is possible where you could have time without having to give shots until something knocks them out of
remission, such as teeth issues or other medical conditions.