9/14 Max, AMPS 427, DKA recovery

I would try to feed him about 1.5 times the amount of food he normally would eat with as much water as he will take, and since the ketones increased, I would test his ketones again this afternoon, or sooner if he acts off for any reason. I would be sure to have plenty of extra ketone test strips on hand.
Good luck with the new dose.
 
I hope Max had a good day today. Good move to increase his dose to 3u.

Remember, you can let us know if you want to try some R to get those numbers down a bit.
 
I hope Max had a good day today. Good move to increase his dose to 3u.

Remember, you can let us know if you want to try some R to get those numbers down a bit.

Thanks. He seems to be improving a little everyday. I'm still a bit nervous/overwhelmed/sleep deprived to try adding in the R...

I'm definitely noticing how the steroids are causing increases in the BG. We are in the process of tapering those off - the vet told me give him the 1mL EOD , but he didn't say for how many days. Do you have any idea how long the tapering process lasts?
 
Thanks. He seems to be improving a little everyday. I'm still a bit nervous/overwhelmed/sleep deprived to try adding in the R...

I'm definitely noticing how the steroids are causing increases in the BG. We are in the process of tapering those off - the vet told me give him the 1mL EOD , but he didn't say for how many days. Do you have any idea how long the tapering process lasts?
I’ve seen it vary and done different ways. Some give EOD for ten days and then stop it; some start giving it every two days for several days then stop. Your vet will be the one to guide that.

I understand about the R. No pressure. Just know I’m around and am happy to help if and when you are ready. I’m glad he’s feeling better.
 
Back
Top