9/17 AMPS 97, +2 39, +3 36, +4 59, +6 65, +8 76, +10 64, PMPS 63

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by WileyWonderCat, Sep 17, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WileyWonderCat

    WileyWonderCat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    I'm trying my first glucose curve today after only being able to do AM and PM preshot tests. I'm worried that he is at 39 at only +2! I gave him some high carb treats. Should I also give syrup? He isn't showing any symptoms- just napping per usual.

    I recently reduced his dose to .75 u (3 days ago) since he has been staying under 200.
     
  2. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Yes give high carb wet food or honey/ karo
     
  3. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Then test again in 15 / 20 min. Repeat until above 50. Try not to fill him up in case you need to feed more. Once over 50 test every 30 min until he stays above 50 for 2 hours without any food
     
  4. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    @Bobbie And Bubba are you around? I'm on my phone at the moment and can use some extra eyes
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  5. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    What was your pre shot number?
     
  6. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Yep, I am on.
     
  7. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Please post your next test number when you get it.
     
  8. WileyWonderCat

    WileyWonderCat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    97
    He is at 36!! Just gave him more treats and some syrup
     
  9. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    If the treats are dry they take to long to work. Give High Carb wet food and if you don't have that, add a few drops into his regular wet food ASAP.
     
  10. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    We must get him up in numbers. Please test him 20 minutes after the wet food with syrup and post. Or if you have High Carb food with gravy, give a few tsp. of the gravy.
     
    Doodles & Karen likes this.
  11. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    You want him out of the 30's so add a good tsp or 2 to his regular food. Like Bobbie said, treats are going to take too long.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  12. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Add the honey or Karo to is food is what they are telling you. You might need to rub it on his gums if the food isn't working...
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  13. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Thanks @Gussie's mom . You'll also need to reduce his dose to .5u tonight but lets just get him back in a safe range for now. Please post the new test when you get it.
     
  14. WileyWonderCat

    WileyWonderCat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Finally got him to eat some high carb wet. His appetite has been terrible. I'll test again in a few minutes.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  15. WileyWonderCat

    WileyWonderCat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    I'll give him more syrup too right now- he won't eat it willingly
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  16. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Like Karen said, it doesn't have to be a lot because you don't want him to get full and not eat a few more spoonfuls later if he needs to.
     
  17. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Gussie had a cow with the Karo, he's not fond of the honey but will actually eat it if I put it in his food. It also seems to stick longer in his bloodstream. Some use maple syrup too. Each cat is different. :bighug::bighug:
    You test at 20 min there shouts to be sure to have the food/syrup taking effect. :bighug:
     
  18. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    That's funny the whole "cow" reference. Doodles vomits from Karo but does ok on the honey too. We're all here to help so will hang out for the next test :)
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  19. WileyWonderCat

    WileyWonderCat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
  20. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Wonderful. Can you get another test in 20 minutes to makes sure that he is rising and not falling ?
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  21. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Ok good. You'll need to test every 30 min now for the next 2 hours to make sure he stays up without food. Then you can go hourly until you see him rising or staying flat on his own. Once the HC food wears off he could come back down. You'll do the same as you did just now. Hope you have enough strips!

    It would also be helpful when things calm down for you to put together a spreadsheet so we can help you more often. Spreadsheet Instructions if you need help let us know. We need data in order to help. Also choose a protocol to follow. If you are feeding any dry Start Low Go Slow is the only method you can follow SLGS. The other option if there is no dry being fed is Tight Regulation (TR)
     
  22. WileyWonderCat

    WileyWonderCat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Thank you all so much! I'm so thankful for this forum and your support. Sticking with me means a lot.

    I've been using the SS, I just haven't posted it. I feel like a bad cat mom because I've only been able to do minimal testing and I didn't even do any tests for the first two weeks. Wiley hates the testing and often I need my partner to hold him down. Treats are not enough motivation for him to test without struggle. So there is very little data to work with. I'll be sure to put it up later today.

    In general I have been doing the SLGS, though even that isn't perfect. I basically followed the vet's advice of giving 1 unit to start. And then reduced it without a ton of data but he seemed to be dropping on his preshots. He is still eating a tiny bit of dry- mostly I only give it to him if he puts up a hunger strike against wet food. Dry food consists of a combination of Wellness Core and Young Again Zero.

    I'll be sure to post his next result. Thanks again.
     
  23. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    It will all get easier to do and understand with some times doing it! :bighug:
    What was told to me helped: remember you are not doing the testing to be mean, you are doing it because it is necessary to keep him safe..:cat:
    You are not a bad cat mom, you are doing more than many will..and you are here!:bighug:
     
  24. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Please don't feel this way. Heck, I didn't test for the first 3 months per my vets advise and then only minimally for the next 3 months after that still following vets advise. I finally found this forum 6 months after Doodles diagnosis! Talk about a bad cat mom! If testing is difficult SLGS is probably the best option and also because there is some dry. Don't feel bad about that either...some of our kitties are a little difficult.
     
  25. WileyWonderCat

    WileyWonderCat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    He tested at 59 now, so at least it is still increasing.

    So can I still count this as a +4 reading? I guess I can't count this as a true curve since I gave him some high carb food, which wouldn't be given normally...
     
  26. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Is it 4 hours from his shot then yes...if it's close then yes otherwise we do record tests something like +4:15 or +4:30 etc. He's earned a reduction to .5u tonight.
     
  27. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Congratulations on the reduction!:D
     
  28. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Did you retest?
     
  29. WileyWonderCat

    WileyWonderCat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    He is at 65 at +6. He was hiding under the couch a bit ago so just got another test.

    I've added his spreadsheet. Hopefully that will help in the future. It's pretty empty right now.
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  30. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Sounding good! Remember to get that test at 2 hrs after the last food to see that he is maintaining the bump! Congratulations on the dose reduction and well done this morning!
     
    jayla-n-Drevon likes this.
  31. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    65 is good
    You may want to post tonight at shot time if he is low as the depot may need to drain a little.
    If you do be sure to put a question mark in the thread for expert eyes. :bighug:
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  32. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Reread the instructions Karen posted above for what to do.. and if he is dropping you simply start the clock over for getting to that magic 2 hrs stable without feeding to prop the numbers up.
    As Chris says..lather, rinse, repeat!
    Well done!:bighug::bighug:
     
    jayla-n-Drevon likes this.
  33. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    You did a great job!

    One thing to appreciate is that numbers can wobble around. As the HC wears off, there's the possibility that numbers could drop. I'd encourage you to get a test no later than +7 to make sure you know where Wiley's numbers are heading.

    Let me offer a bit of additional information.

    Much of what people were telling you to help get your kitty's numbers into a safe range is in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky. It's helpful to know where the written instructions are in the off chance there's no one around. The information was developed for those following TR but the basic principles are the same.

    If you are entering information on your SS and it's not on the hour, you can use a fraction of the hour. So,

    • 30 min past +4 = +4.5
    • 15 min past +4 = +4.25
    • 20 min past +4 = +4.3
    If you are entering numbers with a "+" sign to indicate the time, you may have to manually color the cell.

    In addition to corn syrup (Karo), honey or maple syrup, you can use simple syrup (sugar and water), pancake syrup, ice cream (just not chocolate) or anything that is sweetened with sugar to raise numbers. Do not use a sugar substitute.
     
  34. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    I'm signing off now, hope you are comfortable, if not, with @Sienne and Gabby (GA) here you are in great hands! I would get a test in at about 11.5 so you have time to post for help if you need it before you shoot tonight. Congrats again on earning the dose reduction! That's Exciting! :bighug::bighug:
     
  35. WileyWonderCat

    WileyWonderCat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Thanks so much to everyone!! :) That was a stressful morning. Right now he is at 76 (+8). I will definitely post a PMPS number. I'm happy to reduce his dose, but am still worried about his symptoms of increased thirst/urination and decreased appetite and energy. Those symptoms haven't changed much since his diagnosis. He is scheduled to have another round of blood tests this Wednesday to look at his kidney functioning (again).
     
  36. WileyWonderCat

    WileyWonderCat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Dropped a bit at +10. He ate some low carb wet at +9...not sure why the drop? Going to test in a few minutes for PMPS.
     
  37. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Lantus is known to give a "double dip" meaning there could be a slight drop at the end of the cycle but it's usually higher than nadir.
     
    jayla-n-Drevon likes this.
  38. WileyWonderCat

    WileyWonderCat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    I really don't want to shoot since he's at 63 PMPS. This is the lowest PMPS he's had. I know I've only had a few days to compare, but I'm worried and can't stay up all night to test. Any thoughts are appreciated!
     
  39. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I think you'd be fine to just skip tonight

    You've had a stressful day and you don't have enough data on Wiley to shoot low numbers yet
     
    jayla-n-Drevon likes this.
  40. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    I agree about not having the data to shoot this low and since you can't stay up all night skipping is the best option and just start again in the morning with the lower dose. I might get another before bed test. Good job today :bighug::bighug:
     
    jayla-n-Drevon likes this.
  41. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    And don't forget....those 30's definitely earned him a reduction, so tomorrow's dose would be .5
     
  42. WileyWonderCat

    WileyWonderCat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
  43. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    SO glad you posted for advice!! i was worried for you.... been in your shoes:bighug:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page