9/20 Jenn'sCrew- Few questions---

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
last thread

Mikey AMPS 203 I think he has pancreatitis. taking to the vet tomorrow

Rose AMPS 99- when can I start OTJ trial???

Cassius AMPS 89 Can I reduce to .25u?

Tigger AMPS 198

Abby AMPS 293- back to her normal numbers

Shadow AMPS 107

Oreo AMPS 322
 
Rose - I think the next step would be to reduce her dose to 0.1u. She's had a week of normal numbers at 0.25u, so you can reduce and try the 0.1u. Pics in the sticky of what 0.1u looks like. Fingers crossed that she holds the reduction.

Cassius - yes, you've had a week in all normal numbers on the 0.5u - so you can also reduce him and try 0.25u.

Poor Mikey - I hope he feels better. If you need a reminder on what to ask for at the vet's, Marje's post on p-titis is in the "new to the group?" sticky, in the last section of single topic posts. Sub-q fluids, anti-nausea meds, possibly appetite stimulants, vit B-12 shots are all things that we used with punkin that you may want to ask about. Pain relief is also really important - p-titis is painful. Most people get oral buprinorphin (bupe) and squirt it into the cheek pocket or up on the gums, under the lip. It absorbs very quickly through mucous membranes.

If you end up doing sub-q fluids, you may want the kind of tubing that has a port so you can add the vitamin B shots into the port instead of a separate poke. We bought tubing and needles from thriving pets. They have great customer service - I called and they helped me get the right thing.
 
Rose - I think the next step would be to reduce her dose to 0.1u. She's had a week of normal numbers at 0.25u, so you can reduce and try the 0.1u. Pics in the sticky of what 0.1u looks like. Fingers crossed that she holds the reduction.

Cassius - yes, you've had a week in all normal numbers on the 0.5u - so you can also reduce him and try 0.25u.

Poor Mikey - I hope he feels better. If you need a reminder on what to ask for at the vet's, Marje's post on p-titis is in the "new to the group?" sticky, in the last section of single topic posts. Sub-q fluids, anti-nausea meds, possibly appetite stimulants, vit B-12 shots are all things that we used with punkin that you may want to ask about. Pain relief is also really important - p-titis is painful. Most people get oral buprinorphin (bupe) and squirt it into the cheek pocket or up on the gums, under the lip. It absorbs very quickly through mucous membranes.

If you end up doing sub-q fluids, you may want the kind of tubing that has a port so you can add the vitamin B shots into the port instead of a separate poke. We bought tubing and needles from thriving pets. They have great customer service - I called and they helped me get the right thing.
Great, I will try the 0.1u for Rose and the .25u for Cassius.
I gave him subq's today. his appetite is ok, thankfully, but I have mirtazapine if he needs it. I can tell he doesn't feel well though so I will ask for the pain meds. I have B12 here and can put it in the port on the fluid bag. I have cerenia here but will ask for an injection as well as famotodine I hate shoving pills down them when they clearly feel crappy. I'm hoping it's just pancreatitis and nothing else. He has chronic p'titis and can be "ok" until it gets really bad. 2 years ago when this happened he was 17 on the fPL test and the range was 0-3.5. At 7 he shows NO SYMPTOMS other than elevated BG so I know it must be bad if that's what it is.

Thanks for the info!!!
 
I've been told that once the p-titis test is elevated, it can stay that way. I've also been told that's not true, so . . . but once Punkin had it, his tests remained elevated for the rest of his life.

Do you give the Vit B12 regularly? It can prevent recurrences of p-titis. We really liked the cerenia. Some people like Ondansetron too - I never used it, but lots of people here have had success with it.

Poor little guy - I'm sorry he feels crappy.
 
I have better luck with Ondansetron than with Cerenia for generally feeling crappy. Cerenia was the go-to for Sasha's carsickness. ECID.

Sending vines for poor Mikey, and cheers for Rose and Cassius. Scritches to the rest of the crew.
 
I know when I was in the cancer groups with Doodle most people preferred Ondansetron.

I will start giving B12 regularly.

Must be the change of weather, I must have a dozen cats sick.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top