9/26/16 Squallie AMPS 69, +1/83, +2/58, +3/62, +4/57, +5/60,+8.30/92,PMPS 106, 1/121,+2/142,+5/141

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Squalliesmom, Sep 26, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-285-3-150-5-94-7-87-pmps-115-3-106.165576/

    I've never had this happen before - Squall's AMPS was only 72 (very low, for him) but I figured by the time I got brekkies all dished up it would have risen a fair bit. So I tested him again just before I put down his dish and he was at 62. Ten minutes later, 61. Do I stall? He's really hungry and wants breakfast bad! Also, I already drew up his insulin; is it okay to give it (assuming his BG rises) after it's been sitting in the syringe for 20-30 minutes?!?
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2016
  2. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Hi Lucy
    just 4 days ago, you had an 85 preshot and you gave full dose then - are you concerned because the numbers are dropping? I think the insulin in the syringe will still be good
    Hopefully, someone can give you dosing advice -I wish I could
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  3. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Yes, mostly concerned about the dropping number - don't want to shoot if he's still dropping. Also, that is really low for him, especially in the morning, and I'm afraid he'll drop too low if I shoot. :nailbiting:
     
  4. Shoeskitty-GA

    Shoeskitty-GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Can you give a BCS? Maybe half dose? Personally, I think the insulin will be fine if you stall.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  5. Shoeskitty-GA

    Shoeskitty-GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Maybe tag some of the old timers?
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  6. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    I may have to do that.
     
  7. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
  8. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Have you shot yet? Have you fed? Will you be home all day to monitor and do you have supplies?
     
  9. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    I have not fed yet, or shot. Squallie isn't at all happy with me at the moment, he doesn't understand why I won't let him have his brekkies. I have Karo and strips and will be home with him all day. Only one can of gravy food, tho'.
     
  10. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Since you will be home to monitor, I think you can shoot his regular dose. A lot of the time when you shoot a green number, the cat will just keep surfing. You can still use the insulin in the syringe.

    I'm at work and won't be able to stay with you all day.

    Do you have honey or karo just in case since you only have 1 can of gravy food?
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  11. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Carla!!! Yes, I have plenty of Karo.
     
  12. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    You should be fine then. Good luck. I'm sure he'll be happy to get to eat.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  13. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    It's been sitting for an hour, now, still okay to use?
     
  14. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Make sure you get a +1 and a + 2.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  15. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Yes.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  16. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Will do!
     
  17. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks!!!
     
  18. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Okay, he's eating his breakfast finally, and I just shot him at 69.:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting: I hope he surfs without dropping too much! Fingers and paws crossed.
     
  19. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Good job. I know it's nerve-wracking shooting those low numbers, but once you get used to them you won't even think twice about it.
     
  20. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Hey I think you are going to earn a very special award for shooting low!! :D:D:D
     
  21. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Sorry, just got your tag and glad Carla was able to answer. I agree with shooting and will be here most of the day so can check on you both. Just clean up your title when you can so it's easier to spot. He was pretty flat last night so hopefully he'll just surf. You have all the tools to keep him safe!
     
  22. Madrona and Leda (GA)

    Madrona and Leda (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Safe surfing Squallie!
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  23. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm glad Karen will be able to check in on you today.
     
  24. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Surf safely Squallie! Way to go Squallies mom!!
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  25. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Hi Lucy! It looks this dose of 4.5 could be the breakthrough dose. :cat: He has much more greens on this dose so I am hoping he will just continue to surf for you. Good job shooting. :)
     
    Shoeskitty-GA and Squalliesmom like this.
  26. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, everybody, for the help and encouragement! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Shoeskitty-GA likes this.
  27. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
  28. Shoeskitty-GA

    Shoeskitty-GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Surf safely Squallie man!!!
     
  29. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Did you get a +1? Also your SS says a AMPS of 72 but the title has 69. Not that it's much of a difference but you'll want to use the AMPS number you actually shot :)
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  30. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    All fixed, and new numbers posted. :)
     
    Doodles & Karen likes this.
  31. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    +1/83
    +2/58 Small snack
     
  32. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    I'd try to steer with a little more LC with that +2
     
  33. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    See you've got this!!
     
  34. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    He had a small snack but he's not very hungry right now. Will try him again in about 15 minutes, see if he'll eat a little more.
     
  35. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    You might need him to be hungry a little later so if he's not hungry now just keep an eye on him.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  36. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    His +3 was 62, +4 is 57. My computer is updating so I'm using my phone and can't make changes to my thread title.
     
  37. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Surf!!!!! Way to do it Squallie!!!!! :D
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  38. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Ok, great...he's pretty much flat :D:D
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  39. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    surfin' kitty.gif
    +5/60 He ate a little bit of lunch, not a whole lot because he's had a bunch of small snacks today, lol. He's loving it! :cat:
     
  40. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Awesome surf today Squallie. Sorry I wasn't on earlier, but you did the right thing Lucy. He's getting some serious hang time. :D
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  41. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Wow! What a beautiful surf!!!
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  42. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Wendy, I just followed Carla's advice, lol. He's had lots of snacks today so he's lovin' it!:cat:
     
  43. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    He's getting very tired of having his ear poked, so I'm just keeping an eye on him for a while, now.
     
  44. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Go Squallie! I'm glad he's surfing for you.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page