9/28 Billie PMPS 277 hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, CHF

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...313-4-282-pmps-279-2-254.184423/#post-2047472

Well, unfortunately, Billie does have heart disease. She had her cardiology appointment today with a specialist who seems very good. She did an echo and an EKG and BP check. Here is what she found/diagnosed:

Low grade heart murmur
Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy
A rare arrhythmia called ventricular premature complexes (although she said it's infrequent and does not warrant treatment at this time)
Mild pleural and pericardial effusion (fluid)
Mild congestive heart failure

She put her on a diuretic, furosemide, and she will stay on the Plavix (blood thinner). She said her stroke could have been caused by a small blood clot that traveled to the brain. Billie's blood pressure was actually low so she did not add any other drugs like ace inhibitors because she said low blood pressure is a side effect and she didn't think that would be safe.

The plan is to check bloodwork at her regular vet next week to make sure her kidneys are okay with the diuretic, and then she'll go back for a cardiology recheck in 2-3 weeks. She said the prognosis depends on how well she responds to the treatment and how well her kidneys tolerate the treatment.

This sucks, really, but I'm trying to stay in the present and focusing on the word "mild" in her diagnoses. And, we just got some samples of Dr. Elsey's new food in the mail, and Billie and Brooklyn devoured them. I showed them the package and they both came running over to open it with me. They knew it was their mail. Now, Billie is sprawled out in the living room napping.

Her BGs haven't been the best because I've been giving a reduced "iffy appy" dose, but she ate better today and tonight than she has all week, so that's looking up. Loving the Dr. Elsey's so I ordered more just now.
 
Sorry about the diagnosis. I hope Billie responds well to the treatment and that her kidneys tolerate the treatment. Glad she and your civvie enjoy the new food. Hoping for good news at the next few vet appointments. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm sorry about the diagnosis. I thought it might be CHF. Sounds like it was caught early and since her kidneys are good there is no reason to think she won't respond well. I think she will! :bighug:
 
Sorry about the diagnosis, not uncommon with kitties and some Maine Coon heritage. :bighug: How much Lasix (furosemide) is Billie on? For a while Neko had to do Lasix, in spite of being stage 3/4 kidney disease. Frequent monitoring will be your mantra. Did the vet say anything about Vetmedin or pimomedin? It can help some, but not all, heart kitties.
 
I'm sorry about the diagnosis, but at least you know what you're dealing with now. I hope you can get a good treatment plan for her and keep her feeling good. Great that Billie and Brooklyn love the new food. Sending prayers.
 
Thank you all very much :bighug:

I'm hoping she responds well too, and I'm optimistic. She seems happy. Her BUN was one point above the normal range on her last bloodwork, but hopefully that's not the start of a trend. All other kidney values were good.

@Wendy&Neko For the furosemide, she's on half a 12.5 mg pill once a day, which sounds like it's a small dose from what I've been googling so far? Her vet didn't mention vetmedin or pimomedin, but I'll look into those. Thank you!

Maybe Billie does have some Maine Coon heritage. She certainly is fluffy. Speaking of which, as I'm talking about all her problems, she would like everyone to know that she still looks great, so here's a recent picture of her enjoying some sunshine ☀️

IMG_0208.JPG
 
Oh, she looks just lovely! :kiss:

So sorry about the diagnosis, but at least you know what you're dealing with and sounds like you have a reasonably plan in place. Now Billie just needs to do her part! Sending tons of vines. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top