Deanna & Billie
Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...313-4-282-pmps-279-2-254.184423/#post-2047472
Well, unfortunately, Billie does have heart disease. She had her cardiology appointment today with a specialist who seems very good. She did an echo and an EKG and BP check. Here is what she found/diagnosed:
Low grade heart murmur
Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy
A rare arrhythmia called ventricular premature complexes (although she said it's infrequent and does not warrant treatment at this time)
Mild pleural and pericardial effusion (fluid)
Mild congestive heart failure
She put her on a diuretic, furosemide, and she will stay on the Plavix (blood thinner). She said her stroke could have been caused by a small blood clot that traveled to the brain. Billie's blood pressure was actually low so she did not add any other drugs like ace inhibitors because she said low blood pressure is a side effect and she didn't think that would be safe.
The plan is to check bloodwork at her regular vet next week to make sure her kidneys are okay with the diuretic, and then she'll go back for a cardiology recheck in 2-3 weeks. She said the prognosis depends on how well she responds to the treatment and how well her kidneys tolerate the treatment.
This sucks, really, but I'm trying to stay in the present and focusing on the word "mild" in her diagnoses. And, we just got some samples of Dr. Elsey's new food in the mail, and Billie and Brooklyn devoured them. I showed them the package and they both came running over to open it with me. They knew it was their mail. Now, Billie is sprawled out in the living room napping.
Her BGs haven't been the best because I've been giving a reduced "iffy appy" dose, but she ate better today and tonight than she has all week, so that's looking up. Loving the Dr. Elsey's so I ordered more just now.
Well, unfortunately, Billie does have heart disease. She had her cardiology appointment today with a specialist who seems very good. She did an echo and an EKG and BP check. Here is what she found/diagnosed:
Low grade heart murmur
Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy
A rare arrhythmia called ventricular premature complexes (although she said it's infrequent and does not warrant treatment at this time)
Mild pleural and pericardial effusion (fluid)
Mild congestive heart failure
She put her on a diuretic, furosemide, and she will stay on the Plavix (blood thinner). She said her stroke could have been caused by a small blood clot that traveled to the brain. Billie's blood pressure was actually low so she did not add any other drugs like ace inhibitors because she said low blood pressure is a side effect and she didn't think that would be safe.
The plan is to check bloodwork at her regular vet next week to make sure her kidneys are okay with the diuretic, and then she'll go back for a cardiology recheck in 2-3 weeks. She said the prognosis depends on how well she responds to the treatment and how well her kidneys tolerate the treatment.
This sucks, really, but I'm trying to stay in the present and focusing on the word "mild" in her diagnoses. And, we just got some samples of Dr. Elsey's new food in the mail, and Billie and Brooklyn devoured them. I showed them the package and they both came running over to open it with me. They knew it was their mail. Now, Billie is sprawled out in the living room napping.
Her BGs haven't been the best because I've been giving a reduced "iffy appy" dose, but she ate better today and tonight than she has all week, so that's looking up. Loving the Dr. Elsey's so I ordered more just now.

