9/4 Yoshi amps 537 pmps 386 +3.5 374

Stressedcatmom

Member Since 2017
gave one unit. Some of it could be due to stress I had to poke his ears at least six times. I wasn’t getting blood. We also tested and shot one hour late because of all this and I gave him a small break from the poking. I usually test at 7 and 7 but we tested at 8
 
Last edited:
The bleeding will come back as he redevelops capillaries in his ears, don’t worry too much :)

Don’t sweat it about going off schedule. You can get back on schedule by shooting a half hour early tonight (7:30p) and then another half hour early tomorrow (7:00a). You are kind to Yoshi by giving him a pokie break. You’ll get back on track tonight ;) fingers crossed he bleeds better for you tonight ( a weird thing to write :P)
 
I feel like I shouldn’t have given one unit? I really appreciate all of you. I’m new to Lantis and sometimes it Confuses me. And sometimes I get really upset.

I’m going to work on calming down. We are in good hands here. Thank ALL of you again

Breathe! You are doing the correct thing by holding the dose at this point that he's been on for a few days. When you get more tests and select a protocol it'll start to be clearer. Don't react to a pre-shot number to determine the dose with Lantus. Lantus is a depot drug, takes time to build and if you're switching the dose all the time things will get wonky and you won't know why.
 
Last edited:
The bleeding will come back as he redevelops capillaries in his ears, don’t worry too much :)

Don’t sweat it about going off schedule. You can get back on schedule by shooting a half hour early tonight (7:30p) and then another half hour early tomorrow (7:00a). You are kind to Yoshi by giving him a pokie break. You’ll get back on track tonight ;) fingers crossed he bleeds better for you tonight ( a weird thing to write :p)
Thank you!
 
Breathe! You are doing the correct thing by holding the dose at this point that he's been on for a few days at .5. When you get more tests and select a protocol it'll start to be clearer. Don't react to a pre-shot number to determine the dose with Lantus. Lantus is a depot drug, takes time to build and if you're switching the dose all the time things will get wonky and you won't know why.
Ok. Thank you!
 
I feel like I shouldn’t have given one unit? I really appreciate all of you. I’m new to Lantis and sometimes it Confuses me. And sometimes I get really upset.

I’m going to work on calming down. We are in good hands here. Thank ALL of you again
I know what you mean! It’s such a steep learning curve. Lantus is definitely different from other insulin’s but eventually you will understand it better. Don’t be hard on yourself ... it takes time and in the meantime... we’re all here to support :)

I’m relatively new but I personally think because of Yoshi’s numbers this morning that you have lots of room for a 1u dose. If you can try and grab a +2 to see if he’s dropping quickly. If he isn’t you can test later on in the day :).
 
I know what you mean! It’s such a steep learning curve. Lantus is definitely different from other insulin’s but eventually you will understand it better. Don’t be hard on yourself ... it takes time and in the meantime... we’re all here to support :)

I’m relatively new but I personally think because of Yoshi’s numbers this morning that you have lots of room for a 1u dose. If you can try and grab a +2 to see if he’s dropping quickly. If he isn’t you can test later on in the day :).
I have a suggestion you might want to consider… I know that you are a teacher and gone every day for eight hours, therefore not possible to get +2+4’s etc.
I was thinking if you back up your shot time so you will be able to grab another test before you leave… This might help you and ____?
Just a suggestion I don’t know all of your life schedule/details o_O
 
For the poking, make sure the ear is warm: that's the secret for bleeding! Try it, you'll see the difference! :)
Little Yoshi is bouncing from that 75 yesterday; he'll go down slowly now !
Don't worry and don't stress, you are doing a fantastic job !

I have the whole warming up a rice sock thing down pat. He bled tons when I tested last night and his ear is all bruised. I don't know if that had something to do with it. I finally got some out of his other ear. Can someone tell me what a bounce is? I never understood it.
 
I know what you mean! It’s such a steep learning curve. Lantus is definitely different from other insulin’s but eventually you will understand it better. Don’t be hard on yourself ... it takes time and in the meantime... we’re all here to support :)

I’m relatively new but I personally think because of Yoshi’s numbers this morning that you have lots of room for a 1u dose. If you can try and grab a +2 to see if he’s dropping quickly. If he isn’t you can test later on in the day :).
I feel so bad for his poor ears. They are already all banged up. I feel so bad
 
I feel so bad for his poor ears. They are already all banged up. I feel so bad

When I start feeling bad about how many pokes poor Mowgli has had, I remind myself that it is to keep him safe!

Sometimes if I can tell his ears are really bothering him, or if I poked more than normal, I use polysporin (neosporin in the us) with the pain relief in it on his ears. If you're able to gently massage his ears after the poke it can help diminish bruising

Don't feel bad... testing keeps Yoshi safe and I promise he will get used to it!
 
I have the whole warming up a rice sock thing down pat. He bled tons when I tested last night and his ear is all bruised. I don't know if that had something to do with it. I finally got some out of his other ear. Can someone tell me what a bounce is? I never understood it.
Maybe you hit the vein that's why it bled tons; it happens! Try to go closer to the edge.

A bounce is sudden very high numbers. Bouncing is a reaction to a low number the cat is not used to. If a cat is used to being in the 400's and he drops to 300 suddenly, it can trigger a bounce. Also, if BG drops too low and/or too fast, kitty can bounce.
Usually, the bounce will clear within 6 cycles, but ECID.
 
You can get back on schedule by shooting a half hour early tonight (7:30p) and then another half hour early tomorrow (7:00a).
The protocol for getting back on schedule is 15 minutes per cycle or 30 minutes once a day.
With the 75 at PMPS, I would be hesitant to shoot 30 minutes early per cycle. Shooting early acts as an increase, hence the 15 minutes per cycle or 30 minutes per day protocol.
 
The protocol for getting back on schedule is 15 minutes per cycle or 30 minutes once a day.
With the 75 at PMPS, I would be hesitant to shoot 30 minutes early per cycle. Shooting early acts as an increase, hence the 15 minutes per cycle or 30 minutes per day protocol.
I was thinking that with the PMPS tonight and the AMPS tomorrow that that would be once per day, that being said it would be back to back cycles. Are you saying that if you do 30mins/day to make sure its 24 hours from the original cycle? Would that go for every time you do 2 half hour time changes in 2 days? Or would it just be in Yoshi's case because of the 75 yesterday? I'm not challenging you, just trying to make sure I understand :)
 
It helps prevent bruising if you apply pressure on the poke site for several seconds after you've gotten the blood. I usually have a scrap of tissue or a cotton pad waiting, and apply pressure while we wait for the machine to beep. And as others have said, it does get better over time.
Thank you for the tip, I don't think applied enough pressure last night. He wouldn't let me touch it and was shaking blood all over me and his brother.
I was thinking that with the PMPS tonight and the AMPS tomorrow that that would be once per day, that being said it would be back to back cycles. Are you saying that if you do 30mins/day to make sure its 24 hours from the original cycle? Would that go for every time you do 2 half hour time changes in 2 days? Or would it just be in Yoshi's case because of the 75 yesterday? I'm not challenging you, just trying to make sure I understand :)
I will do whatever you say Amanda and @Red & Rover (GA) I am at your mercy and have no idea.
 
earpokey_zpsc6584fc3.jpg


Before you test, take a few minutes to take several slow,deep breaths,exhale even slower! It will calm you down. Our Kitties feel our stress!

I use cotton makeup pads. Hold one behind the ear & after you get blood, fold it over the ear & apply gentle pressure. I like to use Organic coconut oil on his ear after I test. I've been poking his ears for over 18 months & they look fine!

As everyone said, it will get better over time. ( I just noticed that you've been doing this since 2017! ???)
 
earpokey_zpsc6584fc3.jpg


Before you test, take a few minutes to take several slow,deep breaths,exhale even slower! It will calm you down. Our Kitties feel our stress!

I use cotton makeup pads. Hold one behind the ear & after you get blood, fold it over the ear & apply gentle pressure. I like to use Organic coconut oil on his ear after I test. I've been poking his ears for over 18 months & they look fine!

As everyone said, it will get better over time.
Aw man. I forgot where the sweet spot was since he's been in remission 2 1/2 years. I was poking too low. Thank you
 
I was thinking that with the PMPS tonight and the AMPS tomorrow that that would be once per day, that being said it would be back to back cycles. Are you saying that if you do 30mins/day to make sure its 24 hours from the original cycle? Would that go for every time you do 2 half hour time changes in 2 days? Or would it just be in Yoshi's case because of the 75 yesterday? I'm not challenging you, just trying to make sure I understand :)
15 minutes every 12 hours OR 30 minutes every 24 hours.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/getting-back-on-a-12-12-shot-schedule.101059/

Sorry, I was caught up in the Brexit debates and did not see the tags.
 
Just popping in to support @Red & Rover (GA) ’s recommendation not to move more than 15 minutes at a time. It’s kind of annoying sometimes when you have to remember to readjust your test times if you want them precisely on the hour. But it’s a smoother ride I think, for the sugar cat. I only move shot times up by a whole 30 minutes at once when my cat has been running higher steadily for awhile.

I’m going to search for my favorite explanation of a bounce, @Stressedcatmom . Then I will add it to this comment. “Panicky liver” is a phrase you could also search for. Bounces were the most confusing thing in the world to me until I read something I think on one of the stickies.....

Edit to add: I can’t find exactly what I am looking for but @Sonia & Leo summed it up well here at this link anyway. Besides the other responses you already had. :)
 
Last edited:
You shot at 8 a.m. and want to get back to 7 a.m.
15 minutes each cycle
Tonight PMPS 7:45
Tomorrow AMPS 7:30
Tomorrow PMPS 7:15
Friday AMPS 7:00

30 minutes per day
Tonight PMPS 7:30
Tomorrow night PMPS 7:00

Since you are not getting any tests in during the PMPS cycle, I think the 15 minutes per cycle is best.
Thank you so very much
 
Just popping in to support @Red & Rover (GA) ’s recommendation not to move more than 15 minutes at a time. It’s kind of annoying sometimes when you have to remember to readjust your test times if you want them precisely on the hour. But it’s a smoother ride I think, for the sugar cat. I only move shot times up by a whole 30 minutes at once when my cat has been running higher steadily for awhile.

I’m going to search for my favorite explanation of a bounce, @Stressedcatmom . Then I will add it to this comment. “Panicky liver” is a phrase you could also search for. Bounces were the most confusing thing in the world to me until I read something I think on one of the stickies.....

Edit to add: I can’t find exactly what I am looking for but @Sonia & Leo summed it up well here at this link anyway. Besides the other responses you already had. :)
Thank you. Will read up when I get home
 
Here's an explanation of bouncing as provided by @Idjit's mom -
Here's an explanation of what we call "bouncing". It explains why a kitty's BG can go from low to sky high: (possibly contributing to your kitty's high BG at the high dose he's on)
BG goes low OR lower than usual OR drops too quickly.
Kitty's body panics and thinks there's danger (OMG! My BG is too low!).
Complex physiologic processes take glycogen stored in the liver (I think of it as "bounce fuel"), convert it to glucose and dump it into the bloodstream to counteract the perceived dangerously low BG.
These processes go into overdrive in kitties who are bounce prone and keep the BG propped up varying lengths of time (AKA bouncing).
Bounce prone kitty repeats this until his body learns that healthy low numbers are safe. Some kitties are slow learners.
Too high a dose of insulin can keep them bouncing over and over until the " bounce fuel" runs out and they crash - ie., have a hypo episode. That's why we worry so much about kitties that have had too high a starting dose prescribed by the vet and the owner isn't home testing.
 
Here's an explanation of bouncing as provided by @Idjit's mom -
Here's an explanation of what we call "bouncing". It explains why a kitty's BG can go from low to sky high: (possibly contributing to your kitty's high BG at the high dose he's on)
BG goes low OR lower than usual OR drops too quickly.
Kitty's body panics and thinks there's danger (OMG! My BG is too low!).
Complex physiologic processes take glycogen stored in the liver (I think of it as "bounce fuel"), convert it to glucose and dump it into the bloodstream to counteract the perceived dangerously low BG.
These processes go into overdrive in kitties who are bounce prone and keep the BG propped up varying lengths of time (AKA bouncing).
Bounce prone kitty repeats this until his body learns that healthy low numbers are safe. Some kitties are slow learners.
Too high a dose of insulin can keep them bouncing over and over until the " bounce fuel" runs out and they crash - ie., have a hypo episode. That's why we worry so much about kitties that have had too high a starting dose prescribed by the vet and the owner isn't home testing.
Thank you so much for providing me with this information. Yoshi was bouncing when he was on two units of prozinc and thanks to this forum, I reduced the dose slowly and he went into remission.

I’m worried that if I keep giving him one unit he’s going to keep bouncing?
 
I still would argue for a reduction to 0.75U, based on the numbers you saw yesterday. 75 at pre-shot on an AT is pretty low. You would always have the option of increasing it later, if after a few days it looked like 0.75U wasn't enough, but right now Yoshi is giving you clues that 1.0U is actually bringing him down pretty far between shots.
 
I still would argue for a reduction to 0.75U, based on the numbers you saw yesterday. 75 at pre-shot on an AT is pretty low. You would always have the option of increasing it later, if after a few days it looked like 0.75U wasn't enough, but right now Yoshi is giving you clues that 1.0U is actually bringing him down pretty far between shots.
Ok I have to eyeball it. I only have 1 u syringes
 
You shot at 8 a.m. and want to get back to 7 a.m.
15 minutes each cycle
Tonight PMPS 7:45
Tomorrow AMPS 7:30
Tomorrow PMPS 7:15
Friday AMPS 7:00

30 minutes per day
Tonight PMPS 7:30
Tomorrow night PMPS 7:00

Since you are not getting any tests in during the PMPS cycle, I think the 15 minutes per cycle is best.
Sorry to bother again, but I couldn’t shoot earlier than 8 today. What time should I do in the am?
 
Ok I have to eyeball it. I only have 1 u syringes

No half unit markings? How frustrating. :(
Here is the fine dosing sticky just in case it helps you. Sometimes I go back and look to review it for .25 and .75 even still. I have always been told most importantly though to be consistent. Your 0.75 may be slightly different from mine, but if you personally are giving the same dose each time, that consistency is what will tell you if it’s really the right dose or not. If that makes sense. :)
 
I still would argue for a reduction to 0.75U, based on the numbers you saw yesterday. 75 at pre-shot on an AT is pretty low. You would always have the option of increasing it later, if after a few days it looked like 0.75U wasn't enough, but right now Yoshi is giving you clues that 1.0U is actually bringing him down pretty far between shots.
Also (since I just jumped in after being absent) I had no idea the previously mentioned 75 was on an AlphaTrak. That’s a big deal because that’s bordering on hypo just as 50 on a human meter is. That is definitely a surprise low and if you cannot monitor at certain times because of work, then you don’t want to risk that again!
 
Also (since I just jumped in after being absent) I had no idea the previously mentioned 75 was on an AlphaTrak. That’s a big deal because that’s bordering on hypo just as 50 on a human meter is. That is definitely a surprise low and if you cannot monitor at certain times because of work, then you don’t want to risk that again!
Oh man!
 
No half unit markings? How frustrating. :(
Here is the fine dosing sticky just in case it helps you. Sometimes I go back and look to review it for .25 and .75 even still. I have always been told most importantly though to be consistent. Your 0.75 may be slightly different from mine, but if you personally are giving the same dose each time, that consistency is what will tell you if it’s really the right dose or not. If that makes sense. :)
I can’t find a .75 example. I put the plunger just a little above the one unit mark. I have to get new needles and donate these.
 
Sorry this is late, but does Yoshi let you touch his paws at all? Yoda tolerated getting blood from his paws much better than his ears when I first started. I just make sure it is sanitized beforehand.
 
Back
Top