911 *** Sugar higher than I have ever seen

Status
Not open for further replies.

mfrancis69

Member Since 2013
I haven't been on the forum in quite a long time. Sassy had OTJ trial and was off for quite awhile. Now she is back on and has been for several months. Today was very different. I came home from work and my fiance had said she didn't eat all day. This is rare because since our move her appetite has been insatiable. I had just run out of test strips a few days ago and after work today and being a pay day went out and got more. I immediately tested her after knowing she hadn't been eating, she also has been drinking alot of water and threw that up right after. Her sugar was 419, she has never reached these high numbers before. I gave her a shot and tested her after two hours, she had only come down to 412. I gave her another 2 units, and now tested her again after another two hours and it has gone up even higher to 436. What is going on and what do I do to make her feel better. Reminder, she is 15 years old. But I don't want her hurting or suffering. Please help.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Do you have any ketone test strips?? I'd test her for ketones .....a sudden turn like that can mean DKA is brewing

Also, am I right that you gave 2 units 2 hours after giving 2 units?
 
Please test for ketones. Just tried looking at Sassy's SS: Can you plug in her #s since she's been back on Lantus? What are you feeding her?
How much and how often? Is it possible she ate something out of the ordinary? And did you just move, or has it been awhile? Sometimes a kitty can spike some really high #s if stressed/ excited over something. How is she behaving in general?
 
And is she peeing normally? Because, if not, she could have a urinary tract infection going on...
 
Do you have any ketone test strips?? I'd test her for ketones .....a sudden turn like that can mean DKA is brewing Also, am I right that you gave 2 units 2 hours after giving 2 units?
Chris, it looks like Melissa has two threads going here @ once about this, just so you know (I answered/ asked some ?s on the other one).
 
Do you have any ketone test strips?? I'd test her for ketones .....a sudden turn like that can mean DKA is brewing

Also, am I right that you gave 2 units 2 hours after giving 2 units?
I don't have any ketones strips but the glucometer has something that tells me the ketones are high. Yes, I gave two units and then another two after two hours. it wasn't dropping and i didn't know what to do and now they are even higher.
 
I don't have any ketones strips but the glucometer has something that tells me the ketones are high. Yes, I gave two units and then another two after two hours. it wasn't dropping and i didn't know what to do and now they are even higher.
Sorry I do have two threads going, I wasn't sure if the other was being seen. 25 minutes had gone by without any views or replys.
 
Let's choose one....Here's the info from the other one and let's just stick with this one

You don't ever shoot more sooner than 12 hours (just wanted to let you know...No judgement)

I'd keep trying to get her to eat (if she's not throwing ketones) and if she's not eating by morning, she needs to see a vet. It's also important for you to start testing again and keeping her spreadsheet up to date. It's really hard for us to be able to know what might be going on without the pieces to the puzzle
 
Has she been getting insulin lately? If she has, it's possible she's "bouncing" from a low number that didn't get caught and that's why she's running so high today
 
please clarify....
did you give her 2 units and then 2 hours later gave her another 2 units?
I am going to reply to this thread only, sorry about the confusion, alot of time had gone by without views or replys.
I haven't gotten the spreadsheet updated because I was without a computer for months and had been writing it in a journal. It would take me forever to get all her numbers into a spreadsheet. I know that would help.
Her number haven't been bad for a long time. With proper shots she stays in the higher 100's. I have nothing to test to ketones. We moved about 4 months ago and she seemed to be adjusting fine. but we also moved twice in about a 9 month period.
Yes, I gave her 2 units and two hours later she had only dropped 7 from the last reading, so I gave her another two units. I panicked but now it has gone up.
 
(Reposted from the other thread): So did your glucometer actually show as "high ketones?"
Just tried looking at Sassy's SS: Can you plug in her #s since she's been back on Lantus? What are you feeding her?
How much and how often? Is it possible she ate something out of the ordinary? And did you just move, or has it been awhile? Sometimes a kitty can spike some really high #s if stressed/ excited over something.
How is she behaving in general? And is she peeing normally?
 
The other post had more replies and I replied to it. I will stick with this one and delete the other one if I can.
 
So did your glucometer actually show as "high ketones?"
Most meters have a "ketone" warning that goes off if you go above around 300. This is not testing for ketones, but rather a warning for human type I diabetics that they should test. It doesn't mean anything.


However, with the not eating, I would check for ketones. Most pharmacies sell the urine test strips.
 
I am going to reply to this thread only, sorry about the confusion, alot of time had gone by without views or replys. I tried to delete the other one, but I don't know how. This is my reply on the other post.
I haven't gotten the spreadsheet updated because I was without a computer for months and had been writing it in a journal. It would take me forever to get all her numbers into a spreadsheet. I know that would help.
Her number haven't been bad for a long time. With proper shots she stays in the higher 100's. I have nothing to test to ketones. We moved about 4 months ago and she seemed to be adjusting fine. but we also moved twice in about a 9 month period.
Yes, I gave her 2 units and two hours later she had only dropped 7 from the last reading, so I gave her another two units. I panicked but now it has gone up.
 
High blood sugar isn't immediately dangerous, so take a deep breath. The change in appetite and behavior however might mean something is going on, like an infection.
 
To clarify I have been testing her regularly but have not had a computer to post to the forum. We fell on hard times and are trying to get back on our feet. We moved across country to try and start over.
I have been testing her but not been diligent about keeping them all written down.
 
Okay. First: Don't panic; numbers in the 400s will not kill her. She's being treated.
However, you are going to need to test her every hour or two for a while tonight because you've given her a total of 4 units Lantus within about 2 hours. (Please don't ever do that in future, ok? Not even if she spikes a 500.) Don't worry: You can steer her with some high-carb food if she drops too low as a result of the excess insulin.
 
She is not acting herself and she is not eating after having an appetite that she begs relentlessly about every two hours to eat. I give her Friskies Pate canned food, nothing else.(As I learned about that on the forum)
She drank water and immediately threw it back up. This is not normal behavior for her at all. She is in a trance like state, she hears me but doesn't really react like she usually does. (come when she is called or respond with a meow)
 
(Reposted from other thread):
Okay. First: Don't panic; numbers in the 400s will not kill her. She's being treated.
However, you are going to need to test her every hour or two for a while tonight because you've given her a total of 4 units Lantus within about 2 hours. (Please don't ever do that in future, ok? Not even if she spikes a 500.) Don't worry: You can steer her with some high-carb food if she drops too low as a result of the excess insulin.

Are we really using only this thread now? If so, please put an ALL CAPS message in the other so that folks who've responded there are well aware. Thanks.
 
You don't have to update it back to the beginning of time...If you can just get the last week or two it will really help (when you have time)

Keep trying to find something she'll eat if she's still not eating and if she's still not eating in the morning, she probably should see a vet. Cats develop hepatic lipidosis from not eating for long periods of time and that's very expensive to treat (and not always successfully)

If you don't have any ketone strips, it's probably a good idea to get some. If she's throwing ketones and it's more than a trace, that's an emergency.

When you need eyes quickly, there's a new "Prefix" you can choose that will bring the 911 up in red letters in the original title line (just so you know)
 
(Reposted from other thread):
Okay. First: Don't panic; numbers in the 400s will not kill her. She's being treated.
However, you are going to need to test her every hour or two for a while tonight because you've given her a total of 4 units Lantus within about 2 hours. (Please don't ever do that in future, ok? Not even if she spikes a 500.) Don't worry: You can steer her with some high-carb food if she drops too low as a result of the excess insulin.

Are we really using only this thread now? If so, please put an ALL CAPS message in the other so that folks who've responded there are well aware. Thanks.
Yes, this thread only. I tried to delete the other one.
 
I see you're in San Diego area - make sure you know where the nearest emergency vet clinic is - just in case. In the meantime, please retest and let us know all the BG numbers you are getting & any changes in her behaviors/ responses.
 
You don't have to update it back to the beginning of time...If you can just get the last week or two it will really help (when you have time)

Keep trying to find something she'll eat if she's still not eating and if she's still not eating in the morning, she probably should see a vet. Cats develop hepatic lipidosis from not eating for long periods of time and that's very expensive to treat (and not always successfully)

If you don't have any ketone strips, it's probably a good idea to get some. If she's throwing ketones and it's more than a trace, that's an emergency.

When you need eyes quickly, there's a new "Prefix" you can choose that will bring the 911 up in red letters in the original title line (just so you know)
 
Is there a 24 hour pharmacy or walmart or target near you? They sell the ketone strips usually in the diabetic aisle could you get some tonight? If she does have ketones anymore than trace, then she probably needs to go to the vet today.
 
You don't have to update it back to the beginning of time...If you can just get the last week or two it will really help (when you have time)

Keep trying to find something she'll eat if she's still not eating and if she's still not eating in the morning, she probably should see a vet. Cats develop hepatic lipidosis from not eating for long periods of time and that's very expensive to treat (and not always successfully)

If you don't have any ketone strips, it's probably a good idea to get some. If she's throwing ketones and it's more than a trace, that's an emergency.

When you need eyes quickly, there's a new "Prefix" you can choose that will bring the 911 up in red letters in the original title line (just so you know)
Thanks, not sure how to find that but I will look for it if needed next time.
 
I am no longer in San Diego. I moved to Illinois and I live in the country, nothing is close unfortunately.
And nothing is 24 hours in the closest town to me.
 
When you start a new post, click on the drop down arrow and choose the prefix you want....When your question has been answered or the emergency is over, go back and "edit" that original title line and choose "No prefix"
prefix.png
 
If there's any way to get some ketone test strips tonight, I'd get them, but if she doesn't improve (in how she's acting and still refusing to eat) I think I'd want her seen by a vet tonight. If she is throwing ketones, it really is important that she be under the care of a vet.
 
I am no longer in San Diego. I moved to Illinois and I live in the country, nothing is close unfortunately. And nothing is 24 hours in the closest town to me.
Was going by what was on your profile page; no worries, update it when you don't have so much going on! You're in the Central Time Zone, correct? So what time was that last 2-unit shot of Lantus, your local time?
 
Melissa,

I am unable to stay up with you, but you're already receiving some great advice and help.

After giving 2u Lantus at shot time and then again 2 hours later (+2), it's possible you'll see overlapping nadirs (when the insulin reaches the lowest point). It looks like you'll be up testing for awhile yet tonight. A few things worth mentioning:
  • There is a possibility that you may not see Sassy drop til much later than usual in her cycle rather than when she usually drops. For that reason, don't be fooled and go to bed if her numbers remain high without checking her the rest of the night. Set an alarm if you have to to check her throughout the night because she may drop towards the end of the cycle.
  • Long-acting insulins also have the ability to produce prolonged hypoglycemia events... meaning 15 - 24 hours long.
  • And last, but not least... there's also a possibility the over dose *could* be uneventful by resulting in high numbers throughout the cycle. Let's hope this is the case!
As already mentioned, testing for ketones is a real good idea. If Sassy isn't eating and is lethargic, you may want to take her to an ER. There might be some underlying cause for the high numbers. From what you've said, it also sounds like a vet visit is in order.

Good luck. Hoping for an uneventful night for you and Sassy...


~ Jill
 
Melissa,

I am unable to stay up with you, but you're already receiving some great advice and help.

After giving 2u Lantus at shot time and then again 2 hours later (+2), it's possible you'll see overlapping nadirs (when the insulin reaches the lowest point). It looks like you'll be up testing for awhile yet tonight. A few things worth mentioning:
  • There is a possibility that you may not see Sassy drop til much later than usual in her cycle rather than when she usually drops. For that reason, don't be fooled and go to bed if her numbers remain high without checking her the rest of the night. Set an alarm if you have to to check her throughout the night because she may drop towards the end of the cycle.
  • Long-acting insulins also have the ability to produce prolonged hypoglycemia events... meaning 15 - 24 hours long.
  • And last, but not least... there's also a possibility the over dose *could* be uneventful by resulting in high numbers throughout the cycle. Let's hope this is the case!
As already mentioned, testing for ketones is a real good idea. If Sassy isn't eating and is lethargic, you may want to take her to an ER. There might be some underlying cause for the high numbers. From what you've said, it also sounds like a vet visit is in order.

Good luck. Hoping for an uneventful night for you and Sassy...


~ Jill
Thank you
 
Melissa - I will be up for a while yet, as I am on Pacific Daylight Time here. (Just so you know ...)
 
For those following (approximately):

PMPS 419 (2u)
+2 412 (2u)
+4 436


Melissa, is this correct?
Yes, that is correct. I have been trying to fill in her spreadsheet for this month. I also just tested her again and she is at 404 that is 2 hours after the last reading.
She still will not eat and just wants to lay around, not moving to quickly and not purring either.
 
It is 1 am here. I need to try and get a little rest. I will set an alarm and test her again. Then I will get on here in the morning and give an update.
Thanks to all those who responded to me and made me feel better about what Sassy is going through tonight.
I will get back on the thread in the morning.
 
Ok, Melissa. Thanks for letting me know; I'm glad to know you'll be setting an alarm tonight. Keep your hypo response kit handy just in case, ok?
Will be thinking good thoughts for you & Sassy as I hit the bed & will check early in a.m. for your update!:bighug: - Robin
 
I'd stay longer but it's after 1am here and I have to pick my DM up and take her to an early church breakfast in the morning so can't stay online longer.

Prayers and vines sent Sassy's way tonight and :bighug::bighug: for Melissa
 
I'll be here on and off for a while yet tonight. :) Looks like you're testing again in a little under an hour...if you post the number we'll figure out when you need to test next. :)
So glad you're keeping an eye on this, April! Couldn't sleep, so decided to check back in, but don't think I can stay awake much longer tonight.
And ... (totally off-topic) I just watched your Rosa's OTJ video - fantastic! So happy for you both ... and don'tcha just LOVE black kitties?;)
 
No problem - I'll be up until around 3 at the very least...gotta make the most of the weekend! ;)

And thank you - I do love black kitties...every cat I've owned has been black. :) Your Bat-Bat is such a beautiful kitty - she reminds me a lot of Regan...that facial bone structure on a black cat is so pretty. :) Rosa is very proud to have got to 3 months OTJ recently - and she'd love to have another black cat join her at the Falls (yep, that's a hint to Bat-Bat that a second remission would be nice)! ;)
 
No problem - I'll be up until around 3 at the very least...gotta make the most of the weekend!
And thank you - I do love black kitties...every cat I've owned has been black. :) Your Bat-Bat is such a beautiful kitty - she reminds me a lot of Regan...that facial bone structure on a black cat is so pretty. :) Rosa is very proud to have got to 3 months OTJ recently - and she'd love to have another black cat join her at the Falls (yep, that's a hint to Bat-Bat that a second remission would be nice)! ;)
Bat-Bat is trying to get there - she's been "on the brink" for a little bit now: <0.15U ProZinc as needed ... can't quite believe that she could hypo on me twice this month on that tiny a dose. Go figure! Crazy cat.
 
Oh, I can believe it...Rosa actually did earn her last reduction by going into hypo numbers on 0.05u of Lantus in the end...and she'd had a load of skipped shots in the couple of weeks before too! I think when they're ready, they're ready...and nothing can stop them! :) I really hope she makes it - getting there once is great, but to do it twice is really something special! :D
 
Thanks, April. Knowing Rosa did it that way gives me hope that a at will make it there soon, too. (Ok, now I really AM going to bed! :rolleyes:)
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top