Alice 6/5 AMPS 457 | PMPS 312

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
previously, on Alice: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/alice-6-4-pmps-112-how-much-to-shoot.215280/

Good morning! I’m tired but not asleep like usual right now, so I can say that. (I’m often the one up most of the night keeping an eye on Alice and other things.)
I missed +2 so doing a +3 in a few minutes. She’s still soft and pretty and perfect, as usual.

I suspect her sugar has already come down nicely because she is social and purring and other cues of hers. But I’m not surprised to see a bounce either after only 3u last night. I also think she is starting to not bounce as dramatically as previously.

@Tanya and Ducia brought up Brittle Diabetes on another post, and it sounds like it explains how Alice was doing, what was going on while trying to get her weight restored and get her regulated better.....
 
I'm not sure that brittle diabetes occurs in cats. I'd have to do a bit more research. At least from what I read so far, there are swings in BG but the periods of hyperglycemia can also involve DKA -- which I don't believe is an issue for Alice (thank goodness!!). It seems like vets more routinely look at what may be brittle diabetes as "hard to regulate" diabetes.
 
I'm not sure that brittle diabetes occurs in cats. I'd have to do a bit more research. At least from what I read so far, there are swings in BG but the periods of hyperglycemia can also involve DKA -- which I don't believe is an issue for Alice (thank goodness!!). It seems like vets more routinely look at what may be brittle diabetes as "hard to regulate" diabetes.
Thanks. I still haven’t gotten a chance to really research, but the discussion on it began http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/panic-june-4th-amps-257.215265/#post-2385439 here.
Somewhere down there was a description that sounded much like her case. She had DKA but has since improved.
 
Sleeeepy
2B6BBEAB-B633-49DD-8E18-D2290FB6E4C5.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 34C01053-44C7-43E9-9461-7CEC50BDFEBD.jpeg
    34C01053-44C7-43E9-9461-7CEC50BDFEBD.jpeg
    59 KB · Views: 59
+2 258! Good night so far. We played with the red dot and there was purring and petting. :)

@AmandaE happy and relieved capture it pretty well, yes!!! Literally two months since DKA hospitalization began, this evening. Less than two months on Lantus. Lots of insulin, lots of food, and lots of me not sleeping did the trick!!!! :D

Surgery is in a week I realized. I hope my vet is even more impressed.

If I’m lucky I’ll get a 3 hour nap before mid-cycle check.

How do other people sleep all night? Timed feeders and healthier/more stable cats???
 
+2 258! Good night so far. We played with the red dot and there was purring and petting. :)

@AmandaE happy and relieved capture it pretty well, yes!!! Literally two months since DKA hospitalization began, this evening. Less than two months on Lantus. Lots of insulin, lots of food, and lots of me not sleeping did the trick!!!! :D

Surgery is in a week I realized. I hope my vet is even more impressed.

If I’m lucky I’ll get a 3 hour nap before mid-cycle check.

How do other people sleep all night? Timed feeders and healthier/more stable cats???

It’s crazy! Alice has come so far! I’m glad she’s going to get her surgery... soon she will be feeling so so much better :)

Sleep!? What is that!? :p I’m pretty lucky with Mowgli actually. No complaints here :)
 
It might help if you add a question to the front of your title to gain attention and add something like "Help needed, PS 51", looks like Alice could earn a reduction today, hopefully she isn't dramatic about it ;)
 
It might help if you add a question to the front of your title to gain attention and add something like "Help needed, PS 51", looks like Alice could earn a reduction today, hopefully she isn't dramatic about it ;)
New post does have “??”
Tanya and Ducia was able to jump in and help me get the morning started. :) Would appreciate any thoughts on new post. :) Thanks!
 
New post does have “??”
Tanya and Ducia was able to jump in and help me get the morning started. :) Would appreciate any thoughts on new post. :) Thanks!
Sorry!! I didn't see your new post! I was just checking my alerts :oops:

Looks like you ended up with a lot of support, that's great! I think the new post is definitely clear... I don't have the experience to offer advice though... hopefully Alice has a nice surf today :)
 
Back
Top