Alice 6/9: AMPS 168 / PMPS 201

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/alice-6-8-amps-229-4-5-134.215425/
^^ yesterday

Did not really keep updating yesterday as she was hungry (woke me up from every nap!) but okay..... and I badly needed some sleep in between responsibilities. So I was sacked out mostly.

Today is good with PS of 168 and +2 of 157.

I never expected her to be doing so well so soon! I wish I had started on this path in the first place. I feel sometimes like I wasted months (then try to remind myself at least I learned something from the experience, and I didn’t know better initially and ignorance is not a fault so I need to not dwell on the the idea that months were “wasted”).......

Now she is eating not just 3 cans of friskies a day but also a Sheba portion each day. Plus freeze dried pieces.

I wonder how long it will take for her to rebuild her hind muscle area better. She stands up on her toes a lot but she is still weaker than she used to be and often holds a wider stance to help support herself if she is holding a position for more than a second or two....

Hope all your kitties are well today. <3
 
I wish I had started on this path in the first place. I feel sometimes like I wasted months (then try to remind myself at least I learned something from the experience, and I didn’t know better initially and ignorance is not a fault so I need to not dwell on the the idea that months were “wasted”).......
You're absolutely right! I felt the same also but no wasted months.
So happy to see your little Alice doing so well :bighug:
 
If I really had to choose a regret, it would be that I didn’t know all these things about 3 years ago when I tried to help a very very low income friend by taking her sick cat to the vet. $400 charged up later and he was dx’ed diabetic, I helped her find a Lantus pen from a friend, and thought that was that, it’s medicine, he will feel better. He never felt better and did not make it more than a couple months. :( Looking back I just want to slap the vet we took Tuffy to, more than anything. It was the most expensive place but the only one still open in the evening who would see him. My friend still blames herself, even though there is no blame to lay on her. She did her best with what she knew. I don’t think we even had a clue about changing his diet.
 
If I really had to choose a regret, it would be that I didn’t know all these things about 3 years ago when I tried to help a very very low income friend by taking her sick cat to the vet. $400 charged up later and he was dx’ed diabetic, I helped her find a Lantus pen from a friend, and thought that was that, it’s medicine, he will feel better. He never felt better and did not make it more than a couple months. :( Looking back I just want to slap the vet we took Tuffy to, more than anything. It was the most expensive place but the only one still open in the evening who would see him. My friend still blames herself, even though there is no blame to lay on her. She did her best with what she knew. I don’t think we even had a clue about changing his diet.
:bighug:
 
41ABB5E4-B89F-4289-A871-8EF812AE2D20.jpeg


I got this gem of a photo today. <3

@CandyH and Catcat
 
I got a +9 earlier, 125.

This is the most beautiful cycle ever. I am in love with this cycle. We have pretty much just hung out together quietly both together and separate on the floor in the bathroom all day with no worry and her naps and sturdy sides again. While I caught up on friends and family, which I haven’t gotten to do in awhile.

But I am putting off gathering questions about what to expect regarding surgery. I’m nervous about what her care afterwards will be like and also trying to figure out if I can commit to any work or other schedules that life is bringing my way in the meantime.

I have never dealt with any cat surgery at all save for sending a couple of my males to be neutered. Even my other female was already spayed when she came to me.
 
Cassandra... I missed Alice surgery info o_O
What is surgery for?
She has a tumor on her right side, like a mammary tumor, going to be removed and sent to biopsy and she will be spayed as well at that time.

ETA sound “like” valley girl. I can do better.
We don’t know what it is, but it has been there since at least December, it did not grow while she was skinny and unregulated, but since she has grown it has as well, about the size of one of my fingertips but I don’t have a measurement, like a nipple that got swollen but it has grown into another nipple next to it I think..... An ER doc randomly suggested it might be a mammary tumor. It’s not attached feeling, as in not to any deep tissue.... no ultrasound or X-ray has been done but an X-ray will be done day of, as far as I understand.
 
She has a tumor on her right side, like a mammary tumor, going to be removed and sent to biopsy and she will be spayed as well at that time.

ETA sound “like” valley girl. I can do better.
We don’t know what it is, but it has been there since at least December, it did not grow while she was skinny and unregulated, but since she has grown it has as well, about the size of one of my fingertips but I don’t have a measurement, like a nipple that got swollen but it has grown into another nipple next to it I think..... An ER doc randomly suggested it might be a mammary tumor. It’s not attached feeling, as in not to any deep tissue.... no ultrasound or X-ray has been done but an X-ray will be done day of, as far as I understand.
Thanks. Thoughts and prayers... it’s just a fatty tumor, for Alice :bighug:
 
WOO GO ALICE!! Beautiful cycle and no HI readings. Wonderful, wonderful.

Here's my long story if you want to read haha:

We all made mistakes but we're here now. Ming was on PZI for 7 months. I did not test. I knew I should test. I visited this forum when he was diagnosed and read through some stickies. Got extremely overwhelmed and got stuck because I couldn't find a Canadian version of the glucometer everyone was using (ReliON). I went to my vet to ask for a glucometer but my vet said it's not necessary to test, that it can sever my relationship with Ming. I went in for fructosamine tests every few weeks. We went up to 6 units on PZI. He was hospitalized 7-8 times within 6 months. Almost ONCE EVERY MONTH.

Then I started working at a vet hospital. I was taught how to test BG on a patient. I talked to my coworker who has had diabetic cats. She told me the exact meter to buy and offered to show me how to test Ming. I did my first 24-hour curve, posted here on FDMB, and saw Ming ride the low 30s for 3 hours and we reduced his dose to 4 units PZI the very next cycle. He was again hospitalized at my place of work for 3 weeks. We started Lantus but the IM specialist's instructions were not good and I started Lantus ON FIRE (as many on the forum dubbed it). He was getting 10 units of Lantus in AM and 7 units in the PM while in hospital. I expressed my discomfort with those doses but Ming is a BOUNCER yes, we got to green with those doses, but he would DIVE and he would bounce and IM specialist didn't understand this. Thank god he never hypo'd. When he came home, I completely scrapped the IM specialist's plan. I cried and I didn't sleep for almost 2 weeks and I tested him excessively and I freaked out all over the forum. I can't thank everyone enough here on the forum for putting up with me and my freak outs and being so scared to give insulin every time it was shot time.

Ming could've died, multiple times, in the 7 months I played being ignorant. Now here we are. We haven't had to hospitalize him for 6 months. This is the longest ever since he was diagnosed a year ago.

Anyway, we all start somewhere. Sometimes just in time, sometimes too late for our tastes, but the point is we're here. And I'm so glad we are.
 
WOO GO ALICE!! Beautiful cycle and no HI readings. Wonderful, wonderful.

Here's my long story if you want to read haha:

We all made mistakes but we're here now. Ming was on PZI for 7 months. I did not test. I knew I should test. I visited this forum when he was diagnosed and read through some stickies. Got extremely overwhelmed and got stuck because I couldn't find a Canadian version of the glucometer everyone was using (ReliON). I went to my vet to ask for a glucometer but my vet said it's not necessary to test, that it can sever my relationship with Ming. I went in for fructosamine tests every few weeks. We went up to 6 units on PZI. He was hospitalized 7-8 times within 6 months. Almost ONCE EVERY MONTH.

Then I started working at a vet hospital. I was taught how to test BG on a patient. I talked to my coworker who has had diabetic cats. She told me the exact meter to buy and offered to show me how to test Ming. I did my first 24-hour curve, posted here on FDMB, and saw Ming ride the low 30s for 3 hours and we reduced his dose to 4 units PZI the very next cycle. He was again hospitalized at my place of work for 3 weeks. We started Lantus but the IM specialist's instructions were not good and I started Lantus ON FIRE (as many on the forum dubbed it). He was getting 10 units of Lantus in AM and 7 units in the PM while in hospital. I expressed my discomfort with those doses but Ming is a BOUNCER yes, we got to green with those doses, but he would DIVE and he would bounce and IM specialist didn't understand this. Thank god he never hypo'd. When he came home, I completely scrapped the IM specialist's plan. I cried and I didn't sleep for almost 2 weeks and I tested him excessively and I freaked out all over the forum. I can't thank everyone enough here on the forum for putting up with me and my freak outs and being so scared to give insulin every time it was shot time.

Ming could've died, multiple times, in the 7 months I played being ignorant. Now here we are. We haven't had to hospitalize him for 6 months. This is the longest ever since he was diagnosed a year ago.

Anyway, we all start somewhere. Sometimes just in time, sometimes too late for our tastes, but the point is we're here. And I'm so glad we are.

Thank you for sharing that. I know I know better now but that’s just now. Not then. I had no funds or resources. The day I applied for DCIN assistance because I saw them mentioned on here and finally realized I just couldn’t fix it myself, and I had just found my meter and started trying to test again, and I was so glad and then very very quickly after that was DKA but here we are, here we are.
When her brother died I didn’t have a chance, a hope, it was sudden and I couldn’t help and he wasn’t in my arms and every day I have with Alice is wonderful. We live and we learn and sometimes those bumps along the way are unfortunate circumstances but we can only do our best. I learned a lot firsthand about things NOT to do. It makes me helpful somehow, I like to think. :D
 
PMPS 201! Or maybe 203, it’s not right in front of me now. ADHD is real. I get through writing it down and after that.... posting and SS I am lucky if I am able to remember long enough before another chore distracts me. Short point being, I wanted it to stay blue :cool: but it nearly is so I’ll take it. Good cycle start. Usual 4u dose. Situation normal. :cat:
 
+2 was also reasonable and I’m in bed now but it was less than a 40 point drop, I just forgot to enter things in electronically. It’s on the usual pad of paper neatly organized. But again, situation normal, alarm set for +6.
 
+2 was 187, +6 89, looks pretty close to same as AM cycle, and I trust her to cry about her pitiful sad hunger if she needs something :p so gonna get another nap..... yay naps.....
 
Back
Top