Alice 7/4 PMPS 99 +3.5 43!! (HC) +4 54 (HC) +11 78 -reduce! / AMPS 219 +5 92, recent lows, pics <3

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-reduction-30s-and-40s-hypo-battle-am.216362/

Question: how much to shoot today?

Recap: was on 4u 6/12 when she had surgery to remove tumor and spay
Since then has earned reductions down to 3u
On 3u she ended up in 40s and 30s persistently
Last cycle 1u
Two cycles ago, 1.5u
Those were to drain depot

Notes:
I will be out of the house today later half of cycle. I have a food sitter only (cannot test).
I am very close to starting a new pen.
Alice seems to be avoiding her regular food but will still eat things she likes more or her regular food with lots of water.
She just threw up some. A minute ago.
And now I have her eating a Sheba portion which she is always excited about.
 
Last edited:
I would give the new reduced dose of 2.75 to her. Can you monitor her today?

I cannot monitor past maybe +5 or +6, which is why I’m thinking maybe being a little wimpy and ginger about her dose today might not be a bad idea.

Last PM stayed a flat yellow after blue PS, so I think she handled the 1u well enough she didn’t get any higher than that....

And her appetite is a little picky and strange, too.
 
She did good considering the two light shots!

I'd go back to 2.75 this morning and test about an hour before you need to leave. If necessary, you could leave down some high carb food

How long do you think you'll be gone? When is someone available to feed while you're gone?
 
She did good considering the two light shots!

I'd go back to 2.75 this morning and test about an hour before you need to leave. If necessary, you could leave down some high carb food

How long do you think you'll be gone? When is someone available to feed while you're gone?

Available to feed all evening, anytime I call and ask or whatever feeding instructions I leave. I may be gone as late as midnight, which is why I was working so hard to push back her shot time for the past week! I will be 30-40 min away.

Thanks, Chris!
 
So we did 2.75u at noon.
Her PS time turned out to be 45 min before her shot due to uncertainty. Is that okay? It’s not typical of course, normal t/f/s happens in all of 5 minutes. Should I do SS differently in any way?

Between PS and shot we had a Sheba snack, and we played a very good game of red dot. She was pouncing and jumping a bit and getting into it. Very good.

I would like to work on moving her shot time up again after today but I am nervous since it can act like an increase?
 
+3 was 126, wondering how I should feed (LC or MC? Mix to create an average?) for when I leave later. I’m glad I let that depot drain. She is a lot perkier today it seems like. She’s very sturdy and strong again too.

I’m getting ADHD lost on an old thread about vaccines and a rabbit hole of medical terms on wikipedia regarding vaccines, feline respiratory viruses, cancer, and then more digesting of info about her cancer type. I feel frustrated I don’t have a better way to figure out if it is gone, and I don’t understand if it will come back. It certainly is possible but I’m not sure how probable. I keep thinking about how hard we have worked and what she has put up with and how much I don’t want it all to be for naught.
 
I’m so glad you depleted the depot also. She’s rebounded nicely !

I would just feed MC right now. That was a big drop into +3. And test again in an hour and then before you leave. If she is a lot lower and / or dropped more real fast, you can boast her some more at that time knowing that nadir is soon . I’d like to see if she can surf .
 
How far off are you from your regular shot time, and when do you need to be back to your regular schedule? That will help dictate what choices you have.
Over the past couple months the time has gotten later. We are now at 12, I would prefer at least as early as 9. That requires 12 perfect cycles of 15 minutes earlier each. :banghead::arghh:

It’ll be okay. I’m mostly worried about it acting like an increase and tanking her if this dose is still too high. She has been chasing reductions like crazy for the past 3 weeks.
 
She’s taking a beautiful, snoring nap.

56FF6599-4C83-4D19-9BD6-7C0E17011A2B.jpeg

She also very pointedly had to ask me to move from her spot earlier. <3

/

Her +3 was without food for a couple of hours ish, so I fed her a good deal of LC which she wants again, and now this nap, and I think she seems to be feeling rather well. Exercise could also drop her sugar a bit?

I’ll be checking +5 here in a short bit, then before I leave....
 
Last edited:
I love the pictures of Alice you've been posting! She's so precious! :bighug:
Thank you! Allllll I do is take pictures of Alice and sit on the floor with her and stares FDMB sometimes. I really mean it when I say I love Alice. Lol!

MC should be OK. She may not need it, but you will feel better too. Steady does it Alice.
I don’t want to overdo or give her things she doesn’t need. Normally she gets 5% LC, I think I have 13%, what do you think about mixing the two 1:1 for an approx 9%?
 
PMPS 99, shot 2.75u, fed LC... will do a +2. I now will have to be gone in the morning from about +6 from now until maybe +10 I think, no real sleep. :arghh:

It’s okay though because Alice.
 
+2 is 83.... beautifully flat for her and that PS number! We had a good bonding session, I held the bowl for awhile to encourage feeding, played red dot, had some very good chin scritches.
-I noticed she was a little sensitive about me touching a spot on her side and it seemed strange—it was not the surgery side... maybe it was related to a shot area. Hmm. :\
 
43 @ +3.5 :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

She meowed for me a few times, and she seemed quite happy and alert when I looked in on her, but I tend to assume her night cries could be lows and I test....

She just got what I guess turned out to be a half can of FF gravy lovers. I am not playing this game tonight! Morning.... whatever it is anymore. I am supposed to be up and functioning again in another hour and a half. :facepalm:



I have to say I think she needs another dose reduction. Is this acceptable?
 
I'd reduce again. You already drained the depot, so these are numbers from the current dose. If you need to tomorrow morning, you can skip the dose to keep her safe since you won't be home all day to monitor.
 
I'd reduce again. You already drained the depot, so these are numbers from the current dose. If you need to tomorrow morning, you can skip the dose to keep her safe since you won't be home all day to monitor.
I can’t skip “the morning” right now unfortunately, our shot schedule is at 12/12 for the moment! So we just hit +6 for the PM cycle.
I will definitely reduce to 2.5u next cycle, though.
 
+6 was 65, HC last went on board around +4.25. What to feed now? MC? I have to leave shortly. She’s willing to eat again.

ETA: left MC down and she was eating when I left. I know she could potentially drop again a bit but she was holding up fairly okay and would be passing regular nadir time (if she’s even being normal ish at all today!).... I just have to keep reminding myself she has food. But it makes me anxious anyway.

And you know...... maybe it wouldn’t be awful to skip the noon dose and just dose her back at a 9pm or 8pm schedule later.... then I could sleep this afternoon and just have other bean check her a couple of times and feed.... less worry. Hmmmm.....

I’m so sleep-deprived right now and I know if I don’t get a decent rest soon I will wear down a little too much to function enough. If it weren’t for the loss of sleep, all the rest of the FD stuff would be so much easier. :p
 
Last edited:
+11 is 78.... there would be no way I would have ended up doing her shot anyway. I am leaving the +11 as AMPS, and NS.

I need to figure out this new schedule I think I suddenly have every morning for the human, if I have to drive 40 min away, gone from about 6-8am every day (at minimum?, with some flexibility), what is a good shot time around that?

I’m not starting a new post for today’s date right now but I may later. I’m just too tired. I don’t remember the last sleep cycle I had, and the house is filthy, and there’s a lot to catch up on and keep up with. Alice said her ears would enjoy a rest too please, but keep the gravy coming. :p
 
Can you post a test at what would be +11 before your new shot time? Might help us give better suggestions for Alice’s new dose. Something has definitely changed with her. :D
Yes, I think I am going to move her back to 9 (central time), I can test at 8!

I think the difference is all about the spay and cancer removal.

She was up to yellow at +5/about two hours ago. But even when I was draining the spot she didn’t soar past yellow. I’m wondering if maybe 2.25u would be about right?
 
Thank you all very much for weighing in on this!

I was thinking back this morning to how, before FDMB, I would call my vet in a panic about every dose change. There is no one vet that could reasonably keep up with all the questions and needs Alice and I have had!!!
 
I am going to do 2.25u instead of 2.5, but I can increase if needed and she will be easier to monitor I think being on a conservative dose change right now. For lack of other ideas.
 
Back
Top