Alice 8/9 AMPS 136 +2 101 +4 87 +6 69 +7 94 / PMPS 139 +2 178 +5.5 164

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
last condo 8/7

I have since increased her dose back up to 1.75, but I feel like today was a bit of a skinny dose.

I am having some serious issues frequently these days with all her pokies. I think her ear must be sore all the time, and something particularly about her left side which is usually her morning shoot side (“right at night!”) but both sides really, has her now squirming and walking away sometimes even while the syringe needle is still in her but before I can press the plunger at all. In the mornings I usually do not have an extra pair of hands. I’ll see if I can get help though or take a video, maybe someone can constructively critique my methodology or something. It kind of freaks me out when she tries to walk off with a needle sticking in her!!!! We are always shut into her small “hospital” bathroom for all pokies and feedings, so she can’t go far at least.

Good numbers though, today!

I expected to have a job 9-4 today that was canceled, I was nervous about how to handle her numbers—though I needed and wanted that work, I’m kind of glad to be home to monitor and such. <3

It’s a beautifully cooler and lightly rainy day here and we are enjoying it.

Hope all the sweet kitties and their loving humans are well today!

This is one of my joys so far today, the Ginger Boys grooming each other in the morning. :)

517D7ADD-F4F5-4BB2-9A2F-2B3BDBF08D48.jpeg
 
Last edited:
She has gone down steadily every couple hours, now at +6. Still feeding LC to see what she will do! I am giving her a nice 5% friskies meal right now, I wonder if I can wait two hours again and do +8 or if I should get a +7.....
 
I am hesitant to give any advice these days, but will just give you my thoughts, you decide. You may have already tested at this point.

The +6 number is still safe on human meter. Hasn’t been a dramatic drop today, but the AMPS was lower than normal. Usually +6 and +7 are the lowest point for “most” cats, and that 5% carb food will likely get her through the lowest part. Probably would not hurt to get +7 and if she seems to be up enough, she should be good.
 
I am hesitant to give any advice these days, but will just give you my thoughts, you decide. You may have already tested at this point.

The +6 number is still safe on human meter. Hasn’t been a dramatic drop today, but the AMPS was lower than normal. Usually +6 and +7 are the lowest point for “most” cats, and that 5% carb food will likely get her through the lowest part. Probably would not hurt to get +7 and if she seems to be up enough, she should be good.
I did exactly that, literally 7 minutes ago. Lol. Up to 93, though food influenced, she’s having one of those relatively flat, pretty Lantus curves today, so now she and I get a break. Thanks for your input! :)
 
Very nice cycle for Alice! I use the Neosporin with pain relief too. I don't use it every time, but it seems to help a lot if his ears are getting tender. I also usually give him his shot while he's eating and he usually doesn't seem to even notice.

The ginger boys are adorable!
 
Curious to know how you poke Alice's ear! I don't poke hard enough for the needle to stay in his ear but I use actual needles and not lancets and I have no idea how lancets work to be honest.
 
Curious to know how you poke Alice's ear! I don't poke hard enough for the needle to stay in his ear but I use actual needles and not lancets and I have no idea how lancets work to be honest.
They are not much different than short little needles...? But on a tiny piece of plastic? I am using a 31gauge I think right now. I freehand, I don’t use the little machine, and I never have. I try to go for a vein. Frankly she is anticipating the poke a moment before it comes. She winces essentially. That sounds so sad to write out. It’s more like she twitches early. I got some treats in again that she both will eat and can eat, so I am adding treats back to all pokies instead of just regular friskies snacks only most of the time. So far it’s not enough. One ear isn’t good for it, so I think it’s just plain sore so I have mostly just been trying to test as little as possible. Which is still a minimum of six times a day so............ :(
 
I try to go for a vein.
Try going outside the vein, out toward the very edge of her ear. It may not bleed as easily at first, especially with a 31 gauge lancet. Felix's ear usually makes a bead easily, but I have to kind of pinch and coax sometimes, especially with a smaller lancet. Alice's ear may still get tender, but it probably won't hurt as much right when you poke it if you're not hitting the vein. I use Vetericyn once in a while if Felix's ear is looking pink. He will only tolerate having his right ear tested--frustrating not to have access to half the testing real estate!

Earprick.jpg

fce238714e366f4db0ab6784c5a08620--glucose-test-the-ear.jpg
 
I poke the back of the ear too if that’s not what you’re already doing.

I was taught at work to poke the inside and not even on the vein and I hated doing that. Until I learned from here to do the back and along the edge like @Susan&Felix explained. So much easier and don’t have to fear getting bit by mad cats lol
 
Try going outside the vein, out toward the very edge of her ear. It may not bleed as easily at first, especially with a 31 gauge lancet. Felix's ear usually makes a bead easily, but I have to kind of pinch and coax sometimes, especially with a smaller lancet. Alice's ear may still get tender, but it probably won't hurt as much right when you poke it if you're not hitting the vein. I use Vetericyn once in a while if Felix's ear is looking pink. He will only tolerate having his right ear tested--frustrating not to have access to half the testing real estate!

Earprick.jpg

fce238714e366f4db0ab6784c5a08620--glucose-test-the-ear.jpg
I’m sorry that was unclear. Yes I go above the big outer vein, close to the edge. In fact the notch in one of her ears disrupts that vein which is why we don’t use it—the whole set of capillaries is messed up/weird.
What I meant is that her ears are very thin, white, and I try to look for a spot where I can directly see a little tiny “vein” (I’m sure I meant capillary to be correct).
 
I poke the back of the ear too if that’s not what you’re already doing.

I was taught at work to poke the inside and not even on the vein and I hated doing that. Until I learned from here to do the back and along the edge like @Susan&Felix explained. So much easier and don’t have to fear getting bit by mad cats lol
See, that is different to me. I thought all this time the back of the ear was worse to do?
 
I can try the back of the ear for a little while, maybe that will give the other side a break, who knows? I think it’s just so much worse for her when I cannot alternate ears. :(
 
The only downside to doing the back is if they have long fur or lots of fur. But Alice is short haired so it should be fine :)
 
Back
Top