? AMPS 179...Dosing help!

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Caitlin M, Mar 28, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Pita just had a 179 AMPS so I'm not quite sure how much of a reduction to give! 1.5, 1.75...? Help!!
     
  2. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    @ShipsCat are you awake yet? Sorry, I know you were up at this time a while back!
     
  3. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Ok, I just did 1.4 to be safe (u 100 syringe) instead of the normal 2. Hopefully that wasn't too little. I hate that I won't be home to test so I'm keeping my fingers crossed! Can someone help me figure out possible future dosing if he has a lower AMPS again? It's extremely nerve wracking when no one else is up yet! Thanks :)
     
  4. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Also just gave him a small snack of his treats- still lower carb but more food than he usually eats. I guess I really do need to look into a timed feeder, especially if he somehow stays this low at pre-shots? Mid day feeding is totally new to me though, as they've only ever been fed twice a day. Oy my head :(
     
  5. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    That's probably an ok amount. Nice preshot number.
     
    Caitlin M likes this.
  6. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I think that was fine Caitlin! It's really hard to decide that since you have no data to go by for such low numbers. With luck, he throws you one on a weekend sometime so you can see how a dose affects him.

    Considering 2 has been bringing him down to greens I think 1.4 will be a good safe dose. :)
     
    Caitlin M likes this.
  7. Becky Smith

    Becky Smith Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    i would reduce by .5 is all...
     
  8. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    It's great when you get a nice PS like this but also scary until you've handled it a few times. You know the options:
    1. no shot
    2. stall then retest
    3. shoot a lower dose.
    Start thinking about what your new no shot number will be. We recommend 200 until people have a lot of data. After that you have to experiment to see what the boundaries are and what your comfort zone is. :)
     
    Caitlin M likes this.
  9. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    I definitely forgot about the 200. It'd be nice to see it again tonight or tomorrow am since I can test a bit more both times but I have a feeling I may get a bounce.
    Since I used the u100 needles I couldn't quite get a 1.5 but I'm happy with the amount.
    Thank you!
    Thanks Rachel, I'd love to see this pre shot number again! Here's hoping.
     
  10. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    It's scary / exciting when you get that first blue preshot number :)
     
  11. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Yes indeed! I was more bummed that I wouldn't be home to see where he went.

    PMPS was 248, so back to the same range as before! I'm sending thoughts his way to give me another lower # tomorrow because I can do a +3 before work. Will do +#'s tonight as well.
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  12. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    +3 was at 88. Haven't seen a low number this early after his shot. Will test again in an hour.
     
    Yong & Maury GA and Rachel like this.
  13. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    That's a big drop. Maybe give a snack of regular food to see if you can get him levelled off a bit?
     
  14. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Yay I was thinking same thing! :)
     
  15. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    +4 was just 79. So give him a bit of his Friskies pate? How much is enough without over doing it?
     
  16. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Side note: they just fully switched over to Friskies on Sunday. Not sure if that's maybe a contributor also
     
  17. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Maybe two teaspoons or so? The idea is to not fill them up in case they need more food intervention if they drop too low. Make a note of what/how much you gave on your SS in the comments section so you have something to refer to next time.
     
    Caitlin M likes this.
  18. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    As in no dry at all now? That might well be what's doing it.
     
    JanetNJ likes this.
  19. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    He's only ever had dry as treats for his readings. I mean from FF.
     
  20. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Did you go to Friskies pate from FF pate? If so, they are both similarly low carb I believe. Lots of people use them interchangeably. :)
     
  21. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Yes I did. Just a switch that was new, figured I'd mention it!

    +5 back up to 125 so I'd love to go to bed and see what his AMPS brings?!
     
    StephG and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  22. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    His AMPS was 312 (probable bouncing) and his +2.5 just now was at 184. I need to leave for work before an hour. Should I do the 2 tsp of wet food before I go or leave him be?
     
  23. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    I would leave a tablespoon since he still has 3.5 hours til nadir. Just of his regular LC wet food :)
     
    Rachel and Caitlin M like this.
  24. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    The food switch could have caused this...even though they are similar in carbs, sometimes kitties just react better to one or the other. ECID!
     
  25. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    That's kind of what was in the back of my mind. In which case I think it's good! I just need to see what keeps happening and figure out dosing again from there.
     
  26. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    That's a big drop so leave a snack. A tablespoon or so is good. I use teaspoon+ amounts when I'm monitoring around a low but you have to leave.
     
  27. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    I gave 2 tsp again which he ate before I left.
     
  28. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Not to worry - you're only a teaspoon short (3t = 1T). He'll be OK.
     
    Rachel and Caitlin M like this.
  29. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    I'll try to do 2 Tbsp next time I have to leave and can't monitor. Thanks! New stuff to learn I suppose
     
  30. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Time to learn what to do on these lower ends of the scale! Exciting!
     
    Caitlin M and Yong & Maury GA like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page