AMPS 46

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Airway, Sep 25, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    AMPS 46
    After 10 min 48

    Orion is enjoying some of his favourite dry food right now


    IMG_3525.JPG
     
  2. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Test again in another 10-15 min. Good job catching that
     
    Critter Mom and Airway like this.
  3. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    After 25 min 59

    IMG_3527.JPG
     
    JanetNJ likes this.
  4. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Well done. She'll probably bounce later
     
  5. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Wow that's a wake up. Makes you wonder what he did overnight.
     
    Critter Mom and Airway like this.
  6. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Obviously no AM shot! He ate a good amount of 12% carb food. I didn't pull out the Karo. Should I keep checking him? How often?
     
  7. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Yes, I would check him at least another two or three times to make sure his numbers are still rising. I'm sure they will be, since he's had no insulin this AM, but I'd still test just to make sure.
     
    Critter Mom and Airway like this.
  8. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    You want 3 rising numbers before you relax.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  9. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    He dropped to 49. Karo?

     
  10. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Have you got any medium carb food with gravy?
     
  11. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    I have his regular food, 12% carb dry food, and wellness canned kitten food. Nothing with gravy.

     
  12. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    10 min after the 49 he's at 55.
     
  13. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    When was his last shot? How long ago did he eat? Dry food is higher in carbs, yes, but will take longer to raise BG.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  14. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Pity. The gravy can raise BG fairly quickly but with less of a spike than the Karo (and it isn't as filling as the dry or regular wet food in case more needs to be fed). It can take a little time for the high carb dry to work its way into the system to raise BG and hold it there for a while.

    AMBG - 46 - No insulin given. Fed some 12% carb dry food.
    AM+10 MINS - 48
    AM+25 MINS - 59
    AM+?? MINS - 49

    10 MINS SINCE PREV TEST - 55

    Try feeding a couple of tsps of the wet food which is higher in carbs then test again in 10 mins. If in any doubt give a small amt of karo (raises fast but wears off fast but better too high for a short while than too low for a minute) and test 10 mins after that.

    When posting the next test numbers please can you post how long after the AMPS BG test along with the BG number (will help members to see whether you might be dealing with a bit of carryover from last night's insulin dose - sometimes you can get this with in-out insulins). Also please can you record each time you feed and how much so that both you and members replying here can have a clear picture of what's happening.


    Mogs
    .
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  15. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Last shot almost 13 hours ago. He ate a good amount of dry food about 30 min ago.

     
  16. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I wouldn't do syrup. He's not that low. 50 is the action mark. It takes dry a little longer then wet to metabolize so it will probably raise more soon.
     
    Sharon14 and Squalliesmom like this.
  17. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    AMPS 46
    +10 min since AM 49 (Ate 1/4 cup 12% dry food)
    +25 min since AM 59 (Ate 1/4 cup 12% dry food)
    +45 min since AM 49
    +55 min since AM 55

    Last insulin 13 hours ago.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  18. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    I agree with Janet, I wouldn't do the Karo yet. I would keep testing, and only use the Karo if he drops below 50 again.

    I would follow Mogs' suggestion for feeding a bit of higher-carb wet food.
     
  19. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  20. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    +75 min since AM 61
     
  21. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Better.

    .
     
  22. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    I'm good, Mogs, at least for the next hour or so.
     
  23. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Thanks, Lucy. (Feeling a bit fragile here.)

    @Airway - Great job catching the low and feeding/monitoring, Angela. Lucy (and hopefully Janet) will continue to keep an eye on the two of you.

    Keep a note of the BG numbers and amounts fed in the Remarks column of Orion's spreadsheet for future reference. (Very useful to have a record of how he responds to the different foods.)


    Mogs
    .
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  24. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Sure
     
    Critter Mom and Squalliesmom like this.
  25. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    +90 min since AM 74

    (Mommy will be picking up some gravy food today.)

    IMG_3531.JPG
     
  26. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Sounds good.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  27. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Isn't this a bit odd? He hasn't had insulin for 13 hours.
     
  28. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Could be some carryover from last night, I'm not sure because I'm not a Prozinc user, but that would be my guess.
     
  29. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    I would get another couple of tests, just to make sure you're truly got rising numbers.
     
  30. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Orion is gorgeous! :)
     
    Airway likes this.
  31. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    +105 min since AM 75

    AMPS 46
    +10 min since AM 49 (Ate 1/4 cup 12% dry food)
    +25 min since AM 59 (Ate 1/4 cup 12% dry food)
    +45 min since AM 49
    +55 min since AM 55
    +75 min since AM 61
    + 90 min since AM 74
     
    Critter Mom and Squalliesmom like this.
  32. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    It could be that the dose was too high, that a food change drastically changed his requirements, even that his pancreas helped out. It is really unusual for the numbers to drastically drop like that when you have been slowly reducing the dose, but we are missing those mid cycle numbers that would have filled out the picture.

    Can you give us some more info? He just started ProZinc a week ago? What was he on before? When was the food change? I am worried about the dose for tonight - assuming he is high enough to shoot. It would be logical that he would really bounce, but clearly 1.5 is too much for those mid range pinks.
     
    Critter Mom and Squalliesmom like this.
  33. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    I think he's probably not going to drop any more, but get one last test in 20-30 minutes, just to make sure.
     
  34. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    He started Prozinc on August 19. This is the same time he was diagnosed with diabetes. He used to eat a combination of dry and canned foods but I pulled the dry at diagnosis. Now he eats only Natures Variety canned. It's hard for me to get mid cycle numbers because of my work schedule but I do get them when I can. I'm off on the weekends.
     
  35. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    A reduction is in order. I'd probably get one more reading then as long as it's not gone down feel you're in the clear. If it is you can take the 911 off the prefix of the post and give yourself a nice pat on the back for keeping this handsome guy safe. He's the poster boy for exactly why it's important to test before shooting.
     
  36. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    A big AMEN! to that. :)

    .
     
  37. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    It scares me to think what would have happened if I was someone who shoots blind. I couldn't do that.

    Assuming it's safe to shoot tonight, should I do 1 unit? The vet told me do not shoot if glucose is below 180.

     
  38. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I'd probably do 1 over 250 and half 200-250

    What do others think?
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2016
  39. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    +120 min since AM 79
     
    JanetNJ likes this.
  40. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Maybe one unit at a higher range, but only if you can monitor some. The 46 is just such a surprise and it is hard to find a logical explanation for it. He could have been having lower nadirs for the past few cycles, but a 49 at pre shot is extraordinary. He should bounce, with the dry food and just the bounce from the low, so he might be in the 200s+ to shoot. But if 1.5 was that much too much, one doesn't seem a very big reduction.

    How many hours till your pmps? Thinking that some of us need to be around.

    Yes, you have saved his life today. Shooting that amps could easily have been deadly.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  41. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    I can't advise you regarding dosage because I am unfamiliar with Prozinc. If you post your question in the Prozinc forum you are likely to get more answers from folks who use it.
     
  42. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    PMPS is due in about 9 hours.

     
  43. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Agreed!!!
     
  44. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Orion is 434 90 min before PM shot is due. Since he didn't get an AM shot and I'm tired and want to go to bed, is it ok to give 1 unit now?
     
  45. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I think it should be okay, but it makes me nervous if you can't stay up and monitor a little. 0.5 is probably not enough, but it would be the safest possible choice. You hold the syringe; go with your gut.
     
    Airway likes this.
  46. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    My roommate will be up for a few hours yet. I'm also going to trust that Orion's older brother Triton (OTJ 18 mos) will alert me if need be. He's a service cat and has done it before. I feel ok with 1 unit.

     
    Sue and Oliver (GA) likes this.
  47. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I think 1 u is good. It's what I would have suggested. He may be high for a day or three from the bounce.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page