Another Newbie Here

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by jillyc, Oct 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jillyc

jillyc Member

Hello. Just wanted to introduce myself. Our cat Fenner was just diagnosed with diabetes yesterday. He is currently in the vet clinic to get his sugar level down, and for the vet to find out how much insulin he will need daily. Along with the diabetes, he had a UTI and was dehydrated. He was in the clinic for 5 days this summer with seasonal vestibular syndrome. When he was still unbalanced and starting to lose weight, we attributed it to the vestibular syndrome. However, when we weighed him and realized he had lost 25% of his body weight, we knew something else was wrong. Luckily it was caught before progressing.
    We saw him today and he was in great spirits. Hopefully he will come home on Monday.
    I have to say that I'm a little scared at giving him insulin injections twice daily! Like anything that is new, it can be a little frightening. Does it get easier?
    Also, I see where people on the forum are not recommending dry food. Our vet is recommending Hill Science Diet prescription m/d which is for diabetic cats. What is your experience with that food?
    Any words of advice you can give a newly diagnosed cats' mom?

Attached Files:

• Roo.jpg
      Roo.jpg
      File size:
      69.1 KB
      Views:
  2. Hi!
    Welcome to the "family". Just want to address a couple things you asked about.
    "Does it get easier?" Definitely YES. The 2 shots a day will be nowhere near as bad as you fear.
    "Hill's m/d"...... Absolutely NOT a good food for a diabetic cat. Even though it was formulated for "diabetic management", the carb content is way too high for a diabetic. I was given the same thing. I used it for 3 days or so and tossed it out the back door for a gang of raccoons to feast on.