Any cheap lowcarb high protein canned food?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Michaellh33, Apr 18, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Michaellh33

Michaellh33 Member

I am currently feeding both of my cat wellness chicken and also the turkey but I feed them 2 cans a day. This means I need approximately 60 cans of food for 1 month.
    price = 30.78/24 cans = 1.2825/1 can
    Cats eat 2 cans in 1 day = 60 cans a month
    cost per month = 1.282
    Almost 80 dollars a month on cat food. That is a lot of money for me as I am still a student. Does anyone have suggested brands that are cheaper but still low carb?

Currently I order from chewy.

2. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

That is why I switched to Friskies pates after the kitten trio I adopted from my vet 5 years ago were about a year old. I just couldn't keep up with the cost.
    All the regular Friskies pates except mixed grill were less than 10 % calories from carbohydrates. Many come in 13 ounce cans, but the consistency in the 5.5 ounce cans is better.

3. Michaellh33

Michaellh33 Member

I guess I automatically associated anything I could buy at walmart as "bad" cat food and never considered looking into it. Thanks for the post though.

4. SuePea

SuePea Member

Actually, according to the most recent figures from Dr. Lisa, Friskies are actually about 15% carbs. I moved to 9 Lives. They have multiple flavors under 10%. They are high in phosphorus though if your cat's kidneys aren't what they should be.

5. manxcat419

manxcat419 Well-Known Member

I use the Friskies pates - all our cats like them and they don't seem to have done Rosa anything but good! I do buy the 5.5 oz cans though - like BJM I find our cats prefer the food out of the smaller cans.

6. Sue and Oliver (GA)

Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member