Aug 5 garfie pmps 129, +1 157, +2 143, +3 119, +4 117

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Rebecca. I hope that Garfie will come off the trampoline today. He could have hit a green yesterday's AM cycle and started a bounce last night.

When you leave for work and he is lower than you like, can you leave food available for him? Or you can start him off with a higher carb food so that you can shoot and stay consistent with the dose . The consistency will help you know what the dose is doing and help you to know when to increase and decrease the dose.

Here is an except from a stickie called Manipulating the Curve.

the only time you might want to feed a little higher carb food at shot time is to bump the numbers up so the insulin is starting from a higher number when onset occurs if you're running out the door and will be unable to monitor.

Here is the link to Jill's description of the technique. It's a good read and might be helpful to you.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990
 
I just want to add a caveat to the information on manipulating the curve that @Bobbie And Bubba provided. Bumping up pre-shot numbers with food and then leaving is OK if you (or someone who can test) will be home around the time the HC food is wearing off. If you use food to raise the pre-shot numbers, there's always the chance that as the food wears off, numbers will drop. You also have to keep in mind that while it may take a while for the influence of the food to wear off, you will also have the effect of the shot kicking in. Like with everything, every cat is different so you need to have data that informs your decision.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top