Back on track?-TAFFY 11/28 (PM+11 @329) AMPS 335/+1 212/+2 191/+4 124/+7 216/+10 287/PMPS 237/+2 206

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...04-10-260-pmps-293-3-298.168771/#post-1830659

OK, so per the advice from last night, I am going to give one more day before declaring a failed reduction...???
(Or a BIPO?)
Taffy has me awake with his incessant whining for food and I am stalling for the AMPS (not stalling as in waiting or pushing forward, I mean stalling him, as it is not time yet), but I did go ahead and get a PM+11 @ 329
SO he is HIGH already.
He was also going after his poor civ brother very aggressively (who is so sweet and does not deserve it!) I had to close Baby in the bedroom for his own protection. Stress gives him herpes flares and he just had his first panc attack so I have to keep him calm.
Countdown to AMPS and food time...Tafyy is eyeballing me like I look like a meal!
 
Last edited:
I think if you don't see any greens today, you can take him back up to 2.0 units tonight. Or tomorrow morning if you prefer to increase during the day. He does seem to be trending up. Some cats will do a higher number before going low - paws crossed that's what Taffy has planned. If not, don't worry. It's very common to have to go back and forth around a dose for a while as kitty's body learns that spending time in good numbers is good for them.
 
+2 @ 191
BUT...crap crap crap
He scarfed some of Baby's kibbles (again) while I was distracted by trying to get my POS laptop and printer/scanner to cooperate.
I don't think there was much more than a few kibbles in the dish, but will I ever learn??? (This has been an ongoing issue forever. Baby eats in shifts and needs to be babysat, or he will walk away. We are constantly putting his food out and then hiding it away and then over and over. I get distracted trying to do too much at once, especially in the mornings, and Taffy appears to be sound asleep, but he is always on the lookout for opportunity.)
 
Last edited:
Intersting experiment in how much kibbles impacts his numbers. I'm curious to see if he makes it down to green in spite of it.
 
So glad that the kibble didn't have an adverse effect. Any chance you can get Baby off the kibble and the kibble out of the house? If Baby is a dry food crack addict, can you get Baby to eat Young Again Dry which is very low carbs? My cats love it! It is pricey but it is so protein dense that you only need to give about 1/3 cup a day to an average size cat. The company will send you a sample.
 
So glad that the kibble didn't have an adverse effect. Any chance you can get Baby off the kibble and the kibble out of the house? If Baby is a dry food crack addict, can you get Baby to eat Young Again Dry which is very low carbs? My cats love it! It is pricey but it is so protein dense that you only need to give about 1/3 cup a day to an average size cat. The company will send you a sample.
Been trying for years to get my addict off the crunchies. We recommitted our efforts when Taffy was Dx'd w/the FD (even though Taffy was fed raw, having the kibble gone would make life easier) and then a week after Taffy's Dx, Baby had his first panc attack. So I'm trying really hard. He is eating about 1-2 Tbsp of wet and raw every day. I purchased the YA right away, thinking that would be a perfect compromise and they both ate some at first and then lost interest. Taffy got very stinky soft poopies from that food, which both he and I did not appreciate. I did feed only a very small amount because I read all the lit about its richness, etc. But now Taffy won;t touch it and I don't think Baby is interested either. How did you get yours swiched over? And you don't do the free feeding of the YA as the company recommends? I AM using their raw vitamin mix, however, and they seem to like it.
 
+7 @ 216
There may be those few kibbles showing up...
He's having a little more movement than yesterday...do we think I should stay with the current dose? He may have gone down more if he hadn't had those kibbles.
 
very stinky soft poopies from that food
That is normal for a few days after you switched as per the owner of the company whom I have spoken to several times. And just as he said,it stops. I did not free feed with the YA rather, I calculate the amount of calories per meal and fed accordingly. A Tbsp of YA is about 49 calories to give you an idea. I was feeding Bubba 6 small meals a day and just started feeding 7-8 small meals a day ( I am home all day which makes this easier or a auto feeder is a must ).

Before the FD DX with Bubba, both my cats ate both wet and dry but would prefer the dry. :rolleyes: To get them to transition to all wet, I put some of the YA dry in my Magic Bullet ( or you can use a food processor of blender ) and pulverized it and sprinkled it on top of the wet to get them to only want wet food. Now, I only occasionally give the YA. Whenever Bubba doesn't feel good to gastritis , he will eat the YA and not the wet.

I would try the YA ground up on top of the wet an see if you can transition Baby to wet like Taffy. When Bubba got the DX of Feline Diabetes, I needed to make my life simpler by giving the same approved food to the civvie as I gave to Bubba . Luckily,Forrest, the civvie, did not have any food restrictions that made this possible.

I just saw your post about his +7. Personally, I would let the carb load from the kibble clears before I increase the dose. Let's see what tomorrow's AMPS does.
 
There have been people who have seen as few as 3 pieces of kibble raise their cat's blood sugar by hundreds of points and have it then last a day. Cats respond differently to carbs, so it will be interesting to see what happens with Taffy on this.
 
+4 @ 175
I'm going to set an alarm for +6, but no guarantees! I'm super sleepy now.
All the kibbles are locked away!
 
Doodles at the YA for a while but turns out his allergic to pork and many other foods/proteins. He's the pickiest cat in the world and still not food motivated. Civie Moo still eats it (free fed but limited per calorie count) and she gets wet food. Both are left out 24/7. Doodles won't eat without me but if he did get into her food it wouldn't matter. Good luck transitioning Baby, some are easier than others to do so. There are many tips and tricks such as sprinkling Fortiflora or Freeze Dried treats. Here is a good list of how to do it http://catinfo.org/docs/TipsForTransitioning1-14-11.pdf

Looks like Taffy was coming down last night so that's a good sign.
 
Doodles at the YA for a while but turns out his allergic to pork and many other foods/proteins. He's the pickiest cat in the world and still not food motivated. Civie Moo still eats it (free fed but limited per calorie count) and she gets wet food. Both are left out 24/7. Doodles won't eat without me but if he did get into her food it wouldn't matter. Good luck transitioning Baby, some are easier than others to do so. There are many tips and tricks such as sprinkling Fortiflora or Freeze Dried treats. Here is a good list of how to do it http://catinfo.org/docs/TipsForTransitioning1-14-11.pdf

Looks like Taffy was coming down last night so that's a good sign.

I have tried everything over the years. Baby is addicted to the texture/crunch. We keep trying. I'm not giving up, especially bcuz he is getting older and now starting with problems (panc).

Did you do allergy or food intolerance on Doodles?
 
Did you do allergy or food intolerance on Doodles?
Yes. He was confirmed IBD via biopsy May of 2015. I refused to give him the meds for it. (not my thing). So I had an unvalidated allergy test done with ImmuneIQ. He hasn't had any issues since. I've been able to eliminate 90% of the "bad" ingredients listed on his test results. You can see them in my signature link. It's a simple mail in hair and saliva test for $80 or $49 on groupon. Many of the kitties in the FB page IBDkitties have done it. It has helped.

I have tried everything over the years.
I understand. I've pulled my hair out for 1.5 years trying to get Doodles off kibble. He eats much less now and eats more wet food then ever but still not enough to sustain his calorie intake. He eats his wet food better if I give him a little kibble to. I refuse to starve him. Luckily Taffy has been converted!
 
I refused to give him the meds for it. (not my thing).
What meds did they want to use? I am very resistant to drugs, also, and have had vets refuse to see us anymore because I am non-compliant!

So I had an unvalidated allergy test done with ImmuneIQ. He hasn't had any issues since. I've been able to eliminate 90% of the "bad" ingredients listed on his test results. You can see them in my signature link. It's a simple mail in hair and saliva test for $80 or $49 on groupon. Many of the kitties in the FB page IBDkitties have done it. It has helped.
I have seen that on Groupon and am interested. Good to know that others feel it was helpful. I also go to the vet at Jean Dodd's Hemopet Clinic now and they have the NutriScan testing, which also uses saliva. It is more expensive though. A couple years ago, I was all set to get blood testing for allergies/intolerance, done but backed out, I don't remember why.

Luckily Taffy has been converted!
Taffy just likes to eat! Believe me, he would love to have some kibbles! But he isn't such a hold out, like Baby.
 
What meds did they want to use? I am very resistant to drugs, also, and have had vets refuse to see us anymore because I am non-compliant!
Metronidazole or Atopica where the drugs of choice since he was already diabetic. I asked what would happen if we gave him the meds vs. not giving them. Her answer was the same for both "it may or may not turn into lymphoma". Once I demanded to see the pathology report it actually said "mid IBD or food allergies". :rolleyes: Needless to say she was the first IM vet we fired. She's also the genius that put him on Lantus which was good except she gave me a sliding scale to dose based on preshot and told me his neuropathy had a slim chance of going away. Once I finally found this board, started dosing Lantus per the protocol he was regulated in all greens down to .75u and fully recovered from neuropathy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top