Bella’s new increase part 1

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Bellasmom, Apr 1, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    well did a +4 and we have a red 434 seems to be going slowly up last couple days, normal? Or maybe something wrong? Little worried, we haven’t seen red in a bit
     
  2. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Very frustrating, he gets to feeling better and then here we go again, I know, patience, he .5u has done all it can, so guess we will see what .75 does
     
  3. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yes, very frustrating but stay the course. It'll get better. The L forum people might have a better take on how SLGS progresses.
     
  4. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Posted on L forum, see what they say, I’m sure it will get better since the other dosage had done all it could do and I just saw where he went up the first day of lantus and it slowly went down, sometimes I forget to look at the whole pic and just focus on that stupid red number
     
  5. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    This is very hard to do but I guarantee it'll save your sanity. I often tell people to sit back and just squint at their SS to see how the colour distribution has changed. I do that from time to time with mine. :)
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  6. monty_dweezil (GA)

    monty_dweezil (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    I used to do that with mine and was saddened by the recent colours from the past few months being all pinks and reds with just a few false hope yellows.
     
  7. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I try not to be obsessed with the numbers but hard not to sometimes
     
  8. monty_dweezil (GA)

    monty_dweezil (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    SO hard. I was obsessed. It was ruling my life. :(
     
  9. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Baby’s goes back & forth... I’m doing everything I can for this little girl & she runs this household, to boot! My day revolves around her most of the time! It’s all about the Baby so you have to feel fine with that! Pat yourself in the back for being awesome caretakers!
     
  10. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
  11. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Hang in there ... You can take a pokey beak until PMPS I think. :)
     
  12. krazy4kritters

    krazy4kritters Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    I love your new avatar picture!
     
  13. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yes, it's awfully cute! :)
     
  14. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    I love it too- new pic! Such a pretty kitty! I’m glad he’s so good for you! Baby has finally settled but makes this little moan sound when I pick her up. She only occasionally flips out now. Progress. I still think she says to herself, “I thought momma loved me; then why is she poking me like this.” Bad way to look at it so I can’t dwell. I’m sure a lot of us feel like this?? No? Yes? Maybe just me...plus I finally found a dry treat for her after shot/test & it gives her diahpoo. Back to the drawing board!
    Good luck on the dose increase, I’m pulling for you Bella!
     
  15. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Hey! Look at that - lowest BG today at PMPS. :smuggrin: Try to get a before bed test every evening.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  16. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
  17. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    :):):):)!!!
     
  18. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Amps 201
     
  19. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Stumped on what to do, I looked on LL forum and read sticky it gives 3 options at BG 200 no shot, smaller shot, or wait 2 hrs and retest not sure what to do
     
  20. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    I see you got help on L&L, I just wanted to say that I love the new avatar!!!

    ETA I just read that thread and you don’t suck!:D
    ETA In case of confusion about my ETA, those were Bellasmoms words, I was just letting her know she did fine this AM, no one on L&L was rude. It was early and no coffee yet. I need to stop commenting before coffee.....
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2018
    Kris & Teasel and Bellasmom like this.
  21. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I’ll go check the L forum.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  22. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    No, no one was rude everyone helpful, very helpful, I was talking about myself, sorry for using the word
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  23. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I understood what was meant! ;) Don't be hard on yourself. Learning to treat FD is hard and when you switch insulin it's like starting back at the beginning.
     
    Sharon14 and Bellasmom like this.
  24. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
  25. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    I think you did well this AM. We ALL panic with that first lower than normal PS!
     
  26. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Thank you, I will know now what to do, thanks to all:):)
     
  27. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Well, you saw this AM that he's responding to the Lantus. You also have something to look for when you do future dose increases - a possible early reaction to the new dose. Always something to be learned from these stressful incidents. ;)
     
  28. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    +10 346, I should have given the .75 ??
     
  29. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Possibly, but you have to do what's safest when you can't be home and don't have enough data/experience with the new insulin. Give 0.75 u tonight. Get a before bed test. There could also be a bit of NDW going on. :)
     
  30. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Ok and ,y hubby will be home tomorrow so if’s it’s around amps 200 I’m gonna give the .75, is that,ok
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  31. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Just terrible pmps 466
     
  32. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    How can it go up that much in 1 hr
     
  33. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    The dose might have warn off a bit early. Does he have access to food all day when you're at work? Some people find that if the kitty eats after the +6 mark it can reduce the duration of the dose. There's also NDW that many say shows up a few cycles after a dose change. Try not to worry.
     
  34. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Yes Dr elseys
     
  35. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    At what number should I not give a shot if 200 is a maybe what is a NO shot
     
  36. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Just something to keep in mind for later. Right now, go back to the 0.75 u dose and follow SLGS. He's only been on Lantus 10 days and it can take a lot longer than that to get him more stable and to pick out patterns in his responses.
     
  37. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    It will be what the SLGS guidelines suggest along with a lot of data on your SS that shows you his responses. From the SLGS guide with parts I highlighted for emphasis:
    ______________________________________________________________________________________________

    How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:

    In the beginning we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
    Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
    A4.4.
    There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
    • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
    • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.
    • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
    • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
    • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
    Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

    With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus and Levemir users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

    If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
    • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
    • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
    • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
    If the preshot number is near usual preshot numbers:
    • Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
    We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90, so there is no need to push a cat into numbers lower than that.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2018
    Bellasmom likes this.
  38. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Yeah that’s what I was looking at this am, thanks!!
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  39. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Well we are a little high this am, gave .75 and hubby going to do checks on him today
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  40. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Right now I think you’re seeing the much slower, gentler action of Lantus. Novolin was able to drop Bella’s BG much more aggressively. You might get to a higher dose before seeing blues and better. The two insulins are like apples and oranges. Hubby doesn’t need to do a lot of tests, just a couple of key ones between +4 and +7 or +8.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2018
  41. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Ok thanks he will be glad
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  42. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I put Bella’s labs from July of last year
     
  43. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I have no experience interpreting labs. There are other members who do.
     
  44. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    It was more of a FYI thing, I didn’t know if we were suppose to put them in
     
  45. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    They're a good thing to include.. Sometimes people on the L forum will ask about them. :)
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  46. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Is Abby still vomiting?
     
  47. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    No not at all
    Bella’s +7 314
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  48. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Increase to 2.5? Abby
     
  49. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    I'm confused... Are you asking about increasing the dose for Bella, or something about Abby? Abby I don't know, but Bella should stay put at 0.75 for a while.
     
  50. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    You’re referring to Abby’s felimazole dose, right? Had you cut the pills in half? How many days on the half pill?
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  51. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Abby, Kris was asking about her and her thyroid medicine, it was making her nauseous so I cut it in half was asking her if I should give her reg dose now, thanks for asking and watching out for me:)
     
  52. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Abby is Bella’s mom’s hyperthyroid kitty. Sorry for the confusion.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  53. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Yes, you suggested half 2x a day because of throwing up, started her on sat
     
  54. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    sorry for confusion
     
  55. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    You could give it the rest of the week and then go up this Saturday.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  56. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I think hubby can wait until PMPS for the next test.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  57. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I wanna ask a :confused:o_O question
    Ok, if a cat has diabetes and you put them on insulin and take away all or most of their sugar then how does still get so high, like I feed Bella very very low food and he gets insulin nothing changes but his numbers always do, some days good, some days :woot:
     
  58. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    His body must not produce hardly any at all and I see that with a lot of cats the numbers change so much when they are not changing anything. And when people say stress elevates BG does that stress just make the insulin not work as good, yes I think to much but I always like to know WHY
     
  59. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Their body can make sugar out of the fat and protein they eat. The sugar they make doesn’t get into their cells properly when they’re diabetic because they aren’t making enough insulin of their own and if you aren’t at the right dose yet there’s not enough injected insulin to do the job.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  60. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Crazy how the body works
     
  61. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    There are many really complicated processes involved so no simple answer. One part of it is the stress response causing the body to get glucose into the bloodstream from other forms it’s stored in. That response is part of readying the body to react to or escape from a threat (fight or flight).
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  62. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Re Abby: if you want to phase in the felimazole even more gradually you could give a half pill AM and 2.5 mg PM for several days.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  63. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    She’s does really well, she’s 13 and this is the 1st time ever she’s had something wrong for medication
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page