Best dry food after young again?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by mirnta, Jun 17, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mirnta

mirnta Member

Yes i know wet is best.....this is just for traveling and emergencies.....thank you!

2. Chris & China (GA)

Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

Only other dry food that's less than 10% carbs (other than Young Again Zero) is Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein (available at Chewy.com or on their website)

The chicken is the lowest at about 5%...the salmon is about 9%

mirnta likes this.
  3. Ellys Mom

Ellys Mom New Member

(I'm very new to this) but after researching, I think the Tiki Cat Dry Chicken is 11% , (that is what is stated on a FAQ page). Someone correct me if I'm wrong!

mirnta likes this.
  4. Tomlin

Tomlin Well-Known Member

We use prescription Royal Canin Weight Management which has 11.3% crude fiber (max), 8.0% fat (min), 33.0% protein & only 244 kilocalories ME/cup.
    I do feed wet, but my boy also eats some dry. I use it all the time in addition to the wet food. I've done quite a bit of research & the fat & calorie contents in wet or dry also need to be taken into consideration. Increased fat does effect weight & BG & obviously too many calories & not enough exercise also is an issue. I've looked at so many foods & when they dump off all the fiber, you see the fat content is high & also the calories are greater . Obviously, again, like with people, the TYPE of carb is important. Something that is more fiber/low glycemic index, vs high glycemic index actually help maintain BG. There have been some great scientific presentations/articles of late re: this subject. Balance. Hope that helps!

mirnta likes this.
  5. mirnta

mirnta Member

Thanks everyone!

6. manxcat419

manxcat419 Well-Known Member