Jerry dutchboy
Member Since 2019
This morning AMPS 185 usual 2.25 IU dose. Ate well and +2 he's at 35. Freaking me out. Just gave him a large teaspoon of FF gravy.
Thank you.Unfortunately I'm getting ready to leave. In a nutshell:
Good luck!
- feed high carb gravy and retest in 15 -20 minutes.
- go to the Lantus forum and post there for help. Make it very obvious that his BG is very low and you need assistance. Put the red 911 icon on your thread title.
- stay on the Lantus forum. You need their expertise in helping you dose it correctly.

That is good, I think you said first time you gave a full Tablespoon of gravy, not sure how much this time, I would wait now and test again 15 minutes apart until we see what gravy is doing.Just re-tested and he's up to Bg 49. More FF gravy going onboard.
Good to hear, only problem is Lantus is long lasting, and he has the depot backup, you may need to keep an eye on him for a good part of the day, remember he still will fall again at mid cycle today.Now at 64. I'll keep an eye on it though. Makes me nervous that it's this low so early in the cycle.
I gave him a heaped teaspoon first, then a smaller amount. I don't want him getting too full. I'll be hovering, not going anywhere.That is good, I think you said first time you gave a full Tablespoon of gravy, not sure how much this time, I would wait now and test again 15 minutes apart until we see what gravy is doing.
Can you stay with him for several hours today?

Glad to hear you will stay with him. I am not an expert on dosing, but looked at Jerry’s spreadsheet and saw the last couple of days the am and pm doses were different. Not sure how that may affect things, also looks like he may need a reduction in dose, will let more experienced Lantus users respond. You are doing great, but may not be out of the woods for today yet, just keep that in mind.I gave him a heaped teaspoon first, then a smaller amount. I don't want him getting too full. I'll be hovering, not going anywhere.
I would leave for a little bit, he is still in a precarious situation and you need guidance. I am hoping someone with more experience will come online soon.Should i remove the 911 from this now? Don't know the protocol.
I'm a nervous ninny do like to test at least +2. Jerry seems to have his own plan so he keeps me on edge. The 1.25 IU in the PM was on the vets advice but to keep him on 2.5IU in the AM. I'm not too sure about this plan as I know its preferable to keep the doses the same. I thought that I would follow her advice for 6 cycles and see. I don't give him 2.5 but 2.25 in the AM as he was seeing some lower BG numbers. This morning was a shock to say the least. He seemed fine, a little sleepy, but he's an older cat that sleeps a lot anyway. I will continue to monitor him today. Hope he evens out a bit. What do you guys do if the cat doesn't want to eat yhe gravy i.e. they are full? Or is that a dumb question?Hey there! Sorry I missed the tag from yesterday's thread.
Just peeked in on your SS and saw that 35! Now that he is up over 50, test 30 minutes from the last bit of HC food. You want to make sure that he maintains over 50 and doesn't slide back down again. He hasn't hit nadir yet so it's possible. Hold the gravy unless he slides back down again. The idea is to see if he can maintain without the gravy. So, keep on testing and feeding a tsp or so of HC gravy only if needed. Good catch, Momma. How did he behave when he went that low?
Question, your SS says that last night and the night before the dose was 1.25. Was that supposed to be 2.25? He has earned an reduction down to 2 units for his PM shot. Congrats!
Thank you so much Julie.I will be out of pocket a few hours, I think you have some eyes on this now. I will check back later hoping for a good report!![]()
The kitty getting too full and not wanting to eat while steering lower numbers can be problematic. The best thing to do is small amounts at a time, a tsp or so. It can mixed with a little lower carb food as the HC gravy wears off fast and the lower carb will hang out with them longer. Not a dumb question at all. If all else fails and they won't eat, you can rub a little honey or syrup on their gums to boost them up. While he's up over 50, I wouldn't feed again for just that reason that the kitty can get too full and won't eat when you really need to boost up. And you want to see if he will drop again or just surf.I'm a nervous ninny do like to test at least +2. Jerry seems to have his own plan so he keeps me on edge. The 1.25 IU in the PM was on the vets advice but to keep him on 2.5IU in the AM. I'm not too sure about this plan as I know its preferable to keep the doses the same. I thought that I would follow her advice for 6 cycles and see. I don't give him 2.5 but 2.25 in the AM as he was seeing some lower BG numbers. This morning was a shock to say the least. He seemed fine, a little sleepy, but he's an older cat that sleeps a lot anyway. I will continue to monitor him today. Hope he evens out a bit. What do you guys do if the cat doesn't want to eat yhe gravy i.e. they are full? Or is that a dumb question?
So you think i should go from the 1.25 Pm dose to 2IU for the PM cycle?The kitty getting too full and not wanting to eat while steering lower numbers can be problematic. The best thing to do is small amounts at a time, a tsp or so. It can mixed with a little lower carb food as the HC gravy wears off fast and the lower carb will hang out with them longer. Not a dumb question at all. If all else fails and they won't eat, you can rub a little honey or syrup on their gums to boost them up. While he's up over 50, I wouldn't feed again for just that reason that the kitty can get too full and won't eat when you really need to boost up. And you want to see if he will drop again or just surf.
As far as your vet's RX of doing different dose AM /PM, it is not good advice . Lantus needs consistent dosing every 12 hours for the depot to get stable or how will you know what dose Jerry is reacting too? Plus, you gave him lower doses those two nights when he was at his highest and could have used the 2.25 dose.
If he were my kitty, I would reduce the dose to 2 units tonight and hold that dose for 6 cycles which is how long it takes a dose to show what it will do. You test enough to catch any lows and if you follow the protocol ( not sure whether you are doing TR or SLGS) you will know where his dose really is without interruption of moving it around.
Keep on testing him until he is out of the woods. He is likely to bounce up higher later today or tonight from being in lower numbers than he is used to being in. Also, that was a big drop from you AMPS to the +2 and kitties will bounce just as much from a fast drop as they will from lower numbers.
Yes, as long as he comes up to a number you can shoot. Let's see where he is at +11 and if you could post for dosing advice then if you aren't sure whether or not to shoot.So you think i should go from the 1.25 Pm dose to 2IU for the PM cycle?
Absolutely...i was going to ask this question about shooting this PM but figured it was too early and I should wait and see. Just did.another test and he's holding at 56. I'll do another test at +5 and update his ss.Yes, as long as he comes up to a number you can shoot. Let's see where he is at +11 and if you could post for dosing advice then if you aren't sure whether or not to shoot.
Is this holding without food?Holding at 56. Really wish it was on the rise.. but i'll take what i get. Maybe I can get some breakfast now, couldn't eat with that knot in my stomach.
Yes he is. Just tested him and he's at 65. Hoping we're on a bit of an upswing. I'll be testing pretty much every half hour until his numbers get up there a bit and then switch to hourly to give his little ears a break. I'm so luckly that he is very laid back about testing, he doesn't seem to mind in the slightest. Thank you for hanging in it means a lot to me.Is this holding without food?
... 
Yes great hands, I've been peaking myselfBobbie (Bobbie & Bubba) is very experienced and you are in good hands. I too have been silently peaking in to see how things are going and I wouldn't be surprised if others haven't been doing so as well. Sometimes it's better not to have multiple hands in the pot and things are going fine at this point in time. 911 is not needed as long as Jerry continues to surf in those lovely greens.![]()
It gets easier with experience like anything else. Today's cycle is now beautiful but it is likely Jerry will bounce some after this so don't be disappointed if his numbers when they start going up, go up higher than you'd like. This too shall pass. I know that feeling all too well. That's why this forum is fantastic, it really helps me stay focused and not to get too panicked. Still had that knot in my stomach though. Jerry didn't have any symptoms I DID...ha ha.Lime green numbers always get the adrenal going and so do nice dark green numbers when they don't happen often or haven't for awhile. I remember my first and running around my coffee table talking myself through hypo instructions. If any one had seen me, they would have locked me up!It gets easier with experience like anything else. Today's cycle is now beautiful but it is likely Jerry will bounce some after this so don't be disappointed if his numbers when they start going up, go up higher than you'd like. This too shall pass.
![]()
You done good momma, you have earned yourself a treatSo the +7 BG is 100. Out of the greens and into the blues. I will stay on top of it. I will let you know his count at +11 so I can get advice on shooting or not.
You done good momma, you have earned yourself a treat![]()

Aaaw thank you. Praise from all of you makes it all better. So nice of you all to help me out like you have. I am so grateful to have found this site. I gave the site info to my vet so she can pass it on to other FD momma and papa newbies.Good job Deirdre! I've been popping in and out - you were already in good hands by the time I arrived so didn't post while the situation was happening. Now that you're back in safe territory, sending a 'Good job' and BIG hug!
Well he is now HI on the Relion Prime. I knew that he would jump up but I never thought this high this quickly. But then again I didn't think he would drop that fast either. Anyways, I will give him a 1.75 IU dose for his PM and monitor him again.Good job today! Time for a Momma treat.....a little chocolate or some wine (it's 5pm somewhere!)!
I suggest you reduce the dose down to 1.75u tonight. Jerry earned a couple of reductions (readings below 90) on Mar 30th and 31st that you didn't take. With the lowered doses the last couple of nights it's hard to say where Jerry's depot is and he may be a bit more sensitive to insulin after that low this morning so be sure to get that +2 again tonight. I agree with Bobbie that you need to find a consistent dose that you can give both AM and PM to determine exactly how the dose is working for Jerry.![]()