? BG help please!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Amy Dobson, Jun 12, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Amy Dobson

Amy Dobson Member

Hi everyone,

Murphy crashed a couple of days ago (down to 3.5) and he's bounced since. However I took his amps at 6.55am and it was 10.2. Given him going hypo, I tested again ten minutes after and it was 6.8.
    I then calibrated my glucometer and it's fine.
    So I gave him some food and his BG just now at 7.30am is 12.0.

The vet is closed and I'm not sure what to do. Should I still give him his 0.5u?
    Any advice would be very welcome as I'm pretty new to this and quite confused as to what's happening.
    Thank you.

2. Amy Dobson

Amy Dobson Member

Prior to his hypo episode he was on 1u, but was dropped to 0.5u.

3. Elizabeth and Bertie

Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

Morning Amy,

So, the number was still dropping at AMPS, but then you gave food and it subsequently rose? Is that correct?

4. Elizabeth and Bertie

Couple of thoughts;
    1. The second reading, 6.8, might have been a wonky reading.
    2. The third reading might be elevated due to food (hasn't risen on it's own).

Do you have to go out this morning? Are you able to wait a little while and get another test before giving the shot?

5. Amy Dobson

Amy Dobson Member

I'm here for a bit longer, then off on the school/preschool run. Then back again. At 8am it'll be an hour and a half after he was supposed to have his insulin. Perhaps I should give it to him if he's 12 or above?

6. Elizabeth and Bertie

The 'difficulty' is that he has eaten and so the test may be influenced by that food (and that may be temporary).

Your options would seem to be;
    Wait, and ensure that he is rising consistently before giving the shot.
    Give a reduced dose.
    Skip the shot.

Because of the shorter duration of Caninsulin it's not so critical to shoot exactly every 12 hours.