Bubba 12.19 AM 107, +3=72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Member Since 2015
Last Post


Good Afternoon L & L ~

It's been a while since I had a thread for Bubba. He was doing nicely and then all of a sudden he started throwing me blue AMPS. It occurred to me that he could be bouncing as anything over a 30 point drop in the first 3 hours of a cycle seems to bring on a AMPS in the blues.

Margie is going to take a look to see if I can't figure it out. She suggested a +9 snack in the PM cycle rather than earlier but, the + 8 or earlier snacks were doing fine and the bam! Feeling confused......:confused:
 
Maybe Bubba thought you were bored... Sorry for the frustration.
Well, he probably got wind that I was calculating dose reductions and when he'd be off the juice so his Bubba Daddy and I could actually try and get away. You know what they say: "Don't count your chickens before they hatch" LOL.

I did just make an adjustment on my calipers. I had been giving him his .60 dose using the calipers set at .50 and going a bit higher......... el stupido. :(
 
Here’s what I’m seeing and I went as far back as Sept. These are the only times you gave a +9 snack:

9/4 +9 snack....low blue next AMPS
9/5 +9 snack.... green next AMPS
10/12 +9 snack...green next AMPS
11/14 +9 snack...green next AMPS

There is definitely no consistency.

Sometimes you give it at +8 and he’s green at AMPS, sometimes blue.
Sometimes you don’t give a snack at all and he’s green at AMPS, sometimes blue.

He got a reduction from 0.75u to 0.6u to 0.5u to 0.4u all based on being in normal numbers for a week. But then you reduced to 0.3u, and I’m not sure why, but it was a failed reduction. You correctly started back up.

Note to all readers: This advice is for Bobbie and Bubba only because she is extremely experienced and she knows him well Please do not follow or copy this advice for your cat.

Bobbie, if he were mine, I’d probably tweak the dose up to 0.7u and see if you can get the green AMPS back. You’ve got a tiny bit of room and he’s pretty flat. If it’s too much, you’ll know pretty quickly. Sometimes, they just need a kickstart for a cycle or so (Jill taught me this).

However, I totally understand if you prefer to not risk it. He is in normal numbers because his blues are below 120. In reality, there’s no need for you to do anything because it’s likely as you hold the dose, he might eventually start settling in a little more and pumping out green. I base my thoughts on his SS starting back in Sept when he was on 0.75u and seeing a lot of blue. You took him up to 1u. He was still seeing blue AMPS but a few nadirs in the 60s/70s range. You took him up to 1fu and he started doing much better.

I know he’s been at this dose (0.6u) before and done solid green but things change especially after going down in dose perhaps a wee bit too much.

After looking back several months, that’s just what I’m seeing. I respect whatever decision you make and I’m on board with you whichever way you go. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Here’s what I’m seeing and I went as far back as Sept. These are the only times you gave a +9 snack:

9/4 +9 snack....low blue next AMPS
9/5 +9 snack.... green next AMPS
10/12 +9 snack...green next AMPS
11/14 +9 snack...green next AMPS

There is definitely no consistency.

Sometimes you give it at +8 and he’s green at AMPS, sometimes blue.
Sometimes you don’t give a snack at all and he’s green at AMPS, sometimes blue.

He got a reduction from 0.75u to 0.6u to 0.5u to 0.4u all based on being in normal numbers for a week. But then you reduced to 0.3u and I’m not sure why but it was a failed reduction. You correctly started back up.

Note to all readers: This advice is for Bobbie and Bubba only because she is extremely experienced and she knows him well Please do not follow or copy this advice for your cat.

Bobbie, if he were mine, I’d probably tweak the dose up to 0.7u and see if you can get the green AMPS back. You’ve got a tiny bit of room and he’s pretty flat. If it’s too much, you’ll know pretty quickly. Sometimes, they just need a kickstart for a cycle or so (Jill taught me this).

However, I totally understand if you prefer to not risk it. He is in normal numbers because his blues are below 120. In reality, there’s no need for you to do anything because it’s likely as you hold the dose, he might eventually start settling in a little more and pumping out green. I base my thoughts on his SS starting back in Sept when he was on 0.75u and seeing a lot of blue. You took him up to 1u. He was still seeing blue AMPS but a few nadirs in the 60s/70s range. You took him up to 1fu and he started doing much better.

I know he’s been at this dose (0.6u) before and done solid green but things change especially after going down in dose perhaps a wee bit too much.

After looking back several months, that’s just what I’m seeing. I respect whatever decision you make and I’m on board with you whichever way you go. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks so much for studying his SS and offering your opinion. I really appreciate it.

These are the only times you gave a +9 snack:
I think I was going on last years experience with the +9 snack and not seeing that it gave me green AMBGs.

I made an adjustment to my calipers to more accurately dose .60 and I will give him that dose tonight and then depending on what happens, I will try the .70 dose.

Thanks again Marje for helping me with this. You might be right that the .30 dose I took him down to was unwarranted ( not sure why I did that ) and it turns out that it was more likely a .25 dose in retrospect so he could very well need the little kick start again.
 
Thanks so much for studying his SS and offering your opinion. I really appreciate it.


I think I was going on last years experience with the +9 snack and not seeing that it gave me green AMBGs.

I made an adjustment to my calipers to more accurately dose .60 and I will give him that dose tonight and then depending on what happens, I will try the .70 dose.

Thanks again Marje for helping me with this. You might be right that the .30 dose I took him down to was unwarranted ( not sure why I did that ) and it turns out that it was more likely a .25 dose in retrospect so he could very well need the little kick start again.
I didn’t go back that far. Usually, we just look at the last few weeks but I thought I’d go back a little further. I wish I had the answer as to why things change from one year to the next but they can and do. There are so many variables and it can even be time of year. For example, maybe last year, it was in the summer when he had higher AMPS due to a +9 meal. Or perhaps his pancreas was not working (I’m just tossing out ideas and not going back that far too look).

You’re very welcome. I’m happy to at least give you some thoughts.
 
I didn’t go back that far. Usually, we just look at the last few weeks but I thought I’d go back a little further. I wish I had the answer as to why things change from one year to the next but they can and do. There are so many variables and it can even be time of year. For example, maybe last year, it was in the summer when he had higher AMPS due to a +9 meal. Or perhaps his pancreas was not working (I’m just tossing out ideas and not going back that far too look).

You’re very welcome. I’m happy to at least give you some thoughts.
:bighug:
 
Bobbie, if he were mine, I’d probably tweak the dose up to 0.7u and see if you can get the green AMPS back. You’ve got a tiny bit of room and he’s pretty flat. If it’s too much, you’ll know pretty quickly. Sometimes, they just need a kickstart for a cycle or so (Jill taught me this).

However, I totally understand if you prefer to not risk it. He is in normal numbers because his blues are below 120. In reality, there’s no need for you to do anything because it’s likely as you hold the dose, he might eventually start settling in a little more and pumping out green. I base my thoughts on his SS starting back in Sept when he was on 0.75u and seeing a lot of blue. You took him up to 1u. He was still seeing blue AMPS but a few nadirs in the 60s/70s range. You took him up to 1fu and he started doing much better.

I know he’s been at this dose (0.6u) before and done solid green but things change especially after going down in dose perhaps a wee bit too much.

After looking back several months, that’s just what I’m seeing. I respect whatever decision you make and I’m on board with you whichever way you go. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Bobbie and Bubba!

GMTA @Marje and Gracie !!! :D

FWIW, I agree with every word Marje has written! I'd increase the dose a bit if you can deal with a little excitement during the holidays. There is a little wiggle room... just enough that a slight increase might pull those AM preshot numbers down, but like Marje said we support whatever decision you make. Sometimes life gets complicated, so weigh your options!
You might be right that the .30 dose I took him down to was unwarranted ( not sure why I did that ) and it turns out that it was more likely a .25 dose in retrospect so he could very well need the little kick start again.
A little nudge is probably all he needs. Tell him I said to get with the program! LOL!
 
Hi Bobbie and Bubba!

GMTA @Marje and Gracie !!! :D

FWIW, I agree with every word Marje has written! I'd increase the dose a bit if you can deal with a little excitement during the holidays. There is a little wiggle room... just enough that a slight increase might pull those AM preshot numbers down, but like Marje said we support whatever decision you make. Sometimes life gets complicated, so weigh your options!

A little nudge is probably all he needs. Tell him I said to get with the program! LOL!
I'll do it! Excitement is always fun over the Holiday, LOL

Thanks for weighing in Jill!

What does GMTA mean?
 
I'll do it! Excitement is always fun over the Holiday, LOL

Thanks for weighing in Jill!

What does GMTA mean?
Great Minds Think Alike.

But I’m not surprised since I learned most/all I know from Jill and Libby.....mostly Jill :):)
And Gracie
089BA309-2357-4A01-8501-812BB2373FC0.png
089BA309-2357-4A01-8501-812BB2373FC0.png
089BA309-2357-4A01-8501-812BB2373FC0.png
089BA309-2357-4A01-8501-812BB2373FC0.png
 
Last edited:
I was not here for Binks and Celi but, I do remember saying just the same thing : WWJD to Jill and got a great answer!

ETA: AND I thought I was being so original!! LOL
Celi made a card with “WWJD” on it and posted it, I think, on Binks OTJ condo. I don’t know if it came forward from the old board to new but it was really funny.
 
Celi made a card with “WWJD” on it and posted it, I think, on Binks OTJ condo. I don’t know if it came forward from the old board to new but it was really funny.
Yep. We had a lot of laughs over "What would Jill do?" LOL!
And just for grins... a little bit of the art work from Binks:

binks art work.jpe

Sorry for the hijack, Bobbie. Can't help but reminisce.
So many ever-so-fond memories from the last 11.5 years...

 
Yep. We had a lot of laughs over "What would Jill do?" LOL!
And just for grins... a little bit of the art work from Binks:

View attachment 32849

Sorry for the hijack, Bobbie. Can't help but reminisce.
So many ever-so-fond memories from the last 11.5 years...
Love it!!! I never mind a highjack as I always learn something! It is always nice to reminisce. Even in the short time I've been here, I have some nice memories too. It's nice to see where we've been. :bighug:
 
Yep. We had a lot of laughs over "What would Jill do?" LOL!
And just for grins... a little bit of the art work from Binks:

View attachment 32849

Sorry for the hijack, Bobbie. Can't help but reminisce.
So many ever-so-fond memories from the last 11.5 years...
Oh I’m so glad you still have that. I was going to search the old board later tonight.....I used to have a back door way to get on it.

Yes...great memories and laughs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top