Buddy 9/18 - AMPS 431

Kelly and Buddy

Member Since 2018
Last post

I'm still confused by Buddy's wacky numbers. Decent reading yesterday morning (for him, lately) , with an AMPS of 250. However, he was back up to 400 by PMPS. Insulin brought him down for a quick dip in the blue for the first time in days. I was hoping that maybe the new dose increase was kicking in...and then, his ninja-ness kicked in and he smelled the brownie.

I had just taken out the trash and put a brand new bag in the trash can. My trash can is tall and on one of those sliding mechanisms tucked within a kitchen cabinet. I threw an old brownie - IN THE BOTTOM of a trash can that Buddy has to stand on his hind legs to even hook his paws on the top. He then has to do one heck of a pull up to get himself in the can. I've never seen him actually go in the can but I know he did this time because I came back a few minutes later to find the cabinet open and the brownie GONE! He seriously opened that cabinet, pulled his scrawny old body UP and then climbed down into that empty can and ate an ENTIRE brownie. :banghead::banghead::banghead: When I came back, he was out of the can, licking his lips, looking at me as if to say "What brownie??"

I had a lovey reading of 431 this morning and multiple piles of diarrhea (including one that he dropped in MY bathroom floor while I was drying my hair). :arghh::arghh: This cat!

The funniest part about last night (if there is anything funny about it) was, after I shut the cabinet back, I turned around for 15 seconds and heard him doing something. I looked around and, I kid you not, he was on this toes, with his paws hooked on the top of that damn cabinet, stepping backwards with tiny steps to open it back up. I couldn't believe it. I'm going to have to videotape him because it's too funny!

@Sue and Luci...I think Luci might have met her match!
 
Last edited:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/buddy-9-12-amps-359.203063/
Here's buddies last condo.

Wow on the cat burglar shenanigans! We do want to see that vid

When did he go for the brownie? Was it in the pm cycle? George always got real hungry when his BG dropped fast like Buddies was doing last night, could that have been buddy telling you 'mama I needs sum fuds!' ?

The amps this morning may be in part the briwnib effect, but given his BG was dropping fast, it would also not be surprising if this was also in part a bounce, he may have also gone lower than that blue you caught.

On slgs you really should be doing a curve once a week before taking the dose up. Given some of the swings I'm seeing on the ss I'm just a little concerned that you may be missing some lower numbers that would see you hold a dose rather than take it up.

Can't wait to see the video, cats .....
LOL
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/buddy-9-12-amps-359.203063/
Here's buddies last condo.

Wow on the cat burglar shenanigans! We do want to see that vid

When did he go for the brownie? Was it in the pm cycle? George always got real hungry when his BG dropped fast like Buddies was doing last night, could that have been buddy telling you 'mama I needs sum fuds!' ?

The amps this morning may be in part the briwnib effect, but given his BG was dropping fast, it would also not be surprising if this was also in part a bounce, he may have also gone lower than that blue you caught.

On slgs you really should be doing a curve once a week before taking the dose up. Given some of the swings I'm seeing on the ss I'm just a little concerned that you may be missing some lower numbers that would see you hold a dose rather than take it up.

Can't wait to see the video, cats .....
LOL

You bring up some great points!!! He ate the brownie about 15 minutes after the +4 (beautiful blue) reading. He might have been dropping BUT he is SO food driven I suspect it was that. I didn't grab another test after that because I knew he would spike from the brownie. But now you have me wondering. I must admit, when I saw the 400 reading at the PMPS, I wondered about exactly what you mentioned. If he started the day at 270, did he possibly drop low during the day and bounce back? It's interesting that you thought the same thing.

Here's my issue with getting the curve before raising the dose. In order to get a full curve, the first day I could do one would be on a Saturday. If I decided to do a dose increase, I would only get a couple of cycles in before I have to go back to work. Maybe that isn't a big deal but I'm SO afraid he will go hypo while I'm gone that I'm terrified to increase without knowing what he's going to do. I leave about 7:30 and rarely get home before 4:30. I can't leave for lunch so he's home alone for that time. Weekends are my only hope of monitoring a dose increase. With that said, maybe he is dropping low during the day. I assumed, based on the numbers on the evenings of 9/14 and 9/15, he wasn't dropping in but maybe the .75 hadn't built up yet. Maybe??

I'm not sure how to proceed at this point and completely open to suggestions. Do you think I should forego any increases this weekend (assuming he still has the high numbers I'm seeing currently) and do a full curve on Saturday (while making sure there are no brownies around, LOL)? Or should I be worried about the fact that he might be dropping low during the day? I do leave two meals for him while I am gone; one at +3 and one at +5.

I will make sure I tag you when I get the video. I may have to bait him (with a LOW carb treat) and hope that he performs again. After that, I guess I will have to baby lock my garbage can and pantry!
 
I'm still confused by Buddy's wacky numbers. Decent reading yesterday morning (for him, lately) , with an AMPS of 250. However, he was back up to 400 by PMPS. Insulin brought him down for a quick dip in the blue for the first time in days. I was hoping that maybe the new dose increase was kicking in...and then, his ninja-ness kicked in and he smelled the brownie.

I had just taken out the trash and put a brand new bag in the trash can. My trash can is tall and on one of those sliding mechanisms tucked within a kitchen cabinet. I threw an old brownie - IN THE BOTTOM of a trash can that Buddy has to stand on his hind legs to even hook his paws on the top. He then has to do one heck of a pull up to get himself in the can. I've never seen him actually go in the can but I know he did this time because I came back a few minutes later to find the cabinet open and the brownie GONE! He seriously opened that cabinet, pulled his scrawny old body UP and then climbed down into that empty can and ate an ENTIRE brownie. :banghead::banghead::banghead: When I came back, he was out of the can, licking his lips, looking at me as if to say "What brownie??"

I had a lovey reading of 431 this morning and multiple piles of diarrhea (including one that he dropped in MY bathroom floor while I was drying my hair). :arghh::arghh: This cat!

The funniest part about last night (if there is anything funny about it) was, after I shut the cabinet back, I turned around for 15 seconds and heard him doing something. I looked around and, I kid you not, he was on this toes, with his paws hooked on the top of that damn cabinet, stepping backwards with tiny steps to open it back up. I couldn't believe it. I'm going to have to videotape him because it's too funny!

@Sue and Luci...I think Luci might have met her match!

OMG! A criminal team we have here! I laughed out loud reading your tale...hate to say it ... but sitting on this side it's so darn funny...on my side...not so much...maddening when she does stuff like that...I feel so stupid that she actually outsmarted me - again!!! I'm afraid to put anything like that in the trash now...either it goes down the disposal or out to the big garbage cans in the garage...but I'm sure I'll slip up again - and she'll be sitting there watching...just like Buddy...he 'knows' what you're doing and when...he can smell it ya know...Now let's go scout our kitchens and pantries -make sure there's no more temptation out there for these criminals! I feel your pain ... :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top